We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Arrived at the hotel for a light lunch with my husband and was very disappointed with the food and ambience. Firstly we ordered 2 toasted sandwiches and chips - shouldn't be too taxing for the chef!! We couldn't eat the chips as they were saturated with the cooking oil, they must have been put into the oil before it was hot and the bread on the sandwiches tasted and looked like cheap brand bread. Whilst eating our sandwiches we had to endure the phone ringing behind the bar and the staff discussing hotel prices over the phone - it was like having lunch in an office and when we were not listening to the phone we had staff doing the dishes behind bar and clattering cutlery into trays or we had to listen to the deafening coffee grinder which the staff had on for a prolonged period at a time. This did not make for a relaxing lunch and given the hotels imposing name you would expect better, I will not be returning for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    137
    44
    22
    9
See reviews for
65
134
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We came on a shooting party recently, having stayed at this hotel for the last 7 years. Service and staff are fantastic. Really excellent food cooked by Tom the chef. Well managed by Janet and the team. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms. Good value. Have already booked for next year. Would thoroughly recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Seven of us came here on a shooting trip and really liked the hotel. The service was great and the rooms were really comfortable, spotlessly cleaned every day. Price was reasonable for what was on offer and the food was lovely. All seven of us had a lovely time, we've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloanestreetshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were expecting to stay at Another Hotel Just Down the Road (which I haven't reviewed, because they so messed up our booking - as in lost it completely - that we couldn't stay there), so we were very grateful to be taken in, calmed down, warmed up (and all with great courtesy and good humour), and to emerge in the morning well fed, well bathed, and well slept. They make efforts for people here, and we liked them for it. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have just spent our second evening at this hotel. First in April 2012 and the second in October 2012. First night spent in annex. The second night in the hotel. The second stay was well worth the extra few pounds. As with the first trip the food was excellent, would have preferred my peppercorn sauce made with double cream but chefs are notoriously critical. Were well looked after by all the staff especially Janet. Looking forward to coming back for our next family gathering sometime in 2013

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Dunkeld last night - we both enjoyed our stay. The staff were very welcoming and made you feel at home - the room was clean and comfortable and very cosy when we returned in the evening. The breakfast was extremely good made with good quality produce and cooked to a very high standard - compliments to the chef. We will be back thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Just had an overnight stay here. The room was small, but very comfortable, excellent shower. Had dinner in restaurant, food was great and staff very friendly. Breakfast was cooked to order and the bacon was the best ever tasted!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.0 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
285 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Dunkeld Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Dunkeld Hotel

Property: The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Address: Atholl Street, Dunkeld PH8 0AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Dunkeld Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Royal Dunkeld Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Dunkeld
Dunkeld Royal Hotel
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing