We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding coffee and scones”
Review of Palmerston's Cafe

Palmerston's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Outstanding coffee and scones”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The coffee and baking here are really outstanding. The spiced plum scones were unusual and amazingly good. The home-made jam (we were given orange and rhubarb) was so outstanding that I bought four jars of their home-made jam (one of each of the varieties on offer) before we left. Don't leave it late in the day since they run out of scones and you could be disappointed. Of course the plus side is that you'll only get freshly baked scones - they are a real treat as are the rock buns and muffins. Clearly the cafe is making the effort to have everything at its very best and it really makes a difference. Everything in the cafe is top quality and the staff are so helpful - I can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    70
    22
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A must when in Dunkeld”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Home-made food absolutely delicious. Staff friendly and highly efficient: tables cleared as soon as cusotmers leave. Can not recommend too highly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WPsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Proper home baking and great soup - worth at stop”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We discovered Palmerston's a few years ago and have been back several times. The baking is fantastic - properly home made and they also do lovely soups, salads, ploughmans lunches. I don't know how they manage it with such a tiny kitchen but everything is very fresh and tasty. For example even the side salad with a baguette came with dressing and some pumpkin seeds sprinkled over it, not just the usual chopped lettuce, tomato etc.
It's a tough choice as Dunkeld has some lovely cafes but we keep going back to Palmerston's and have never regretted it. If you are heading up/down the A9 it's the ideal place to break your journey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great home made food”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been visiting Dunkeld for many years and a stop at Palmertsons is always top of the To Do List. Always a friendly welcome and food is excellent quality and value. Open sandwiches are a favourite - this is the only place I eat where ALL of the side salad gets eaten ! Salad is always crisp and fresh and comes with their own lovely dressing. You can also add a cup of delicious home made soup for an additional £2 for a good filling lunch.
Coffee is freshly made and the selection of home baked cakes is always tempting. If you visit later in the afternoon however your choice may be limited as they only bake what they can sell on the day - no second day cakes here.
Well worth a visit for lunch or just a coffee stop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cameronmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had been here once before and because it was so good popped in again today on our way home after a few days in Perthshire.
The food is great and the staff are very warm and friendly with a little banter along the way. Although it's small they have a very good variety of soup, sandwiches, baguettes, baked potatoes etc, all very reasonably priced. I had a baked potato which was served with a lovely side salad - sunflower seeds a great dressing and just that wee bit of imagination. The home baking is to die for too.
The food here was far better than it had been in the Dnalaister Hotel where we had been staying.
We will be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmerston's Cafe also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Palmerston's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing