We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly - so rare a find.”

Spill The Beans Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Dunkeld
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wooden tables with cast iron bases' painted chairs and a warm welcome.We pride ourselves in making great tea and coffee with all our staff being trained in how to make the perfect froth to grace the best triple scored coffee. Tea has been chosen to compliment the local water conditions.A fantastic selection of cakes, from light crisp and chewy meringues to light Victoria Sponges to Macaroons and Apple Pies with pastry to die for.... all made in our small but busy kitchen.We invite walkers in and if your best friend is a dog bring them too ...we have an outdoor area which is smoke free so at last we can sit outside and be able to assured that the table next to you will not be smoking. Closed on Tuesdays. Though we will be open throughout the year.
Sheriff Hutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dog friendly - so rare a find.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Whilst visiting a friend in Blairgowrie she suggested a visit to Dunkeld. We found this little gem of a cafe primarily because of going across to look at the most amazing hanging baskets outside. Then on the sandwich board the most unusual written welcome for doggies and owners! So refreshing - doggies welcome - we didn't even have to ask. The menu is so varied I'd changed my mind 3 times - if you could see the cakes you''d have a problem too making a choice. The tea pots are so cleverly designed - we bought 3!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabethw746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettins2, Owner at Spill The Beans Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Yes we are very happy to welcome into 2 of our 3 rooms/areas and happy to keep one area dog free for those not able to enjoy our 4 legged friends.

Thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    105
    45
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Super cafe”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little cafe just down from the cathedral in the charming village of Dunkeld. We only had takeout sandwiches (smoked salmon was local and delicious) but the cake selection was great and the service quick and friendly. Definitely one to return to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only stopped for a coffee and cake break but we will be back. Wonderful choice of cakes, all looked excellent but not all cakes tried yet!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettins2, Owner at Spill The Beans Cafe, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write in with your thoughts ... we really appreciate it and we are delighted that you enjoyed the range of cakes and will perhaps come back for more !! we are now open long weekends over the winter months so plenty of time to pop over..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing wee place! Can't believe it's taken us so long to find this it. Friendly staff. Lovely menu and specials available. Apple cake is 'to die for'!! Rasperry Swiss Roll - 'swooooon'! Didn't try any of the salads/savouries as we were just passing and got drawn in, next time I'll arrive hungry.

They also allow dogs in and provide water.

Only one suggestion glasses of water were too little.

5* for everything else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ljp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettins2, Owner at Spill The Beans Cafe, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for all these lovely comments and we will bear your suggestions in mind.... we dog have an indoor dog area in a side room but yes if people with pooches wish to sit outside then they do have to walk through the main area.

We do refill water glasses but found if we gave larger glasses we were constantly tipping water away and as we pay for water as a business ( therefore more expensive than house water eeeeek ) we do try to make sure that we are not wasteful ...but that said point taken maybe we will go back to table bottle of water in this heat !

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the cakes and the cake selection we do have 90% of the cakes covered and when I was down in Bath I was very interested in their approach in their cafes ... ...but then we came up and covered our cakes .... thanks for giving us things to debate and think about the right way forward ...and thanks to everyone for taking the time to write in and help spread the word of what we are trying to do... regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
220 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Sooo many homemade cakes :)”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very busy little cafe tucked away from the Main Street. We were seated and our order taken promptly by friendly and smiling staff. There is a huge, 20+ cakes to choose from.
We just stopped for a quick drink and cake, the fresh cream strawberry Swiss roll my husband and I had was very tasty and our son has a tuna mayo baguette which came with a little salad. We also had elderflower presse, cappuccino and cranberry smoothie. A little more expensive than we though it would have been as it was only simple surroundings but nun the less very nice
The cafe is dog friendly although the dogs have to traipse through the cafe to the garden at the rear which has a few small tables set up but it was an incredibly warm day so we sat inside.
My only criticism would be was that some of the cakes were uncovered on the sides as you walked through to the cafe and the door was also open to the street outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mad-on-Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spill The Beans Cafe also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Spill The Beans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing