We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take away”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Darjeeling

The Darjeeling
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open 6 days now ! 5pm to 10pm evening. Closed Tuesday
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a takeaway from here on our first night staying in Dunkeld. The service was prompt but the food was average and seemed quite pricey compared with what we'd pay for the same at home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank l00by73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the price of your meal, but we hope that you enjoyed it.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    28
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just didn't quite hit the spot sadly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having heard great things about this takeaway decided to give it another go after a few dissapointing meals. The portions were a good size of sauce but lacking in meat and the sauces seemed very watery - not the usual creamy texture you expect from a korma. Rice nice enough as was the naan, but again the naan was slightly on the small size for 2 adults sharing. Altogether quite an expensive treat and not brilliant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Sam2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello, thank you for your review. We try our hardest to make food that everyone will enjoy, but we appreciate people have different tastes and not everyone will be satisfied. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your food. We hope that if you ever come back in future, we can give you an enjoyable meal.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good but not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

a strange place - food was OK but we all thought that main courses were somewhat overpriced and portions small, which for dunkeld unusual,especially when compared to Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. can recommend the chilli chicken but main course and rice will not fill you up, so choose carefully.

service attentive and non intrusive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We're sorry that you were disappointed with the price of your food. We are reviewing our menu and we are hoping to address this. Thank you for your review and kind comments.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's the only Indian restaurant in Dunkeld and I couldn't help but think that because of that, they didn't need to make much effort. Food was ok. Service was quick. (maybe even TOO quick) and it wasn't the cheapest, all things considered. Nothing specific to complain about as nothing was specifically wrong. I just wouldn't rush back, that's all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TamC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello, we're sorry you weren't pleased with your service here at the Darjeeling. We are always trying to improve and you comments about the fast service have been heard. Thank you for your review and for visiting.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, but unhappy with the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed the food, which wasn't exceptional but acceptable. The premises were attractive. We were not happy that we were charged for the bottle of the mineral water that had been placed on the table before we arrived. Perhaps naively, we assumed that we wouldn't have to pay for it, as we hadn't asked for it, but were proved wrong when the bill came. It seems unecessary to leave an bad impression with customers for the sake of £2.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not enjoy being charged for the table water- it is meant as a table decoration and we do not try to hide that you have to pay for it if you open it. We actually prefer our guests to ask us about the water, because we can then bring them a cold bottle, or tap water if needed. We're sorry this upset you, we'll think about maybe changing the arrangement in future.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Darjeeling also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing