We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but not cheap”
Review of The Darjeeling

The Darjeeling
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bangladeshi, Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open 6 days now ! 5pm to 10pm evening. Closed Tuesday
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good but not cheap”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

a strange place - food was OK but we all thought that main courses were somewhat overpriced and portions small, which for dunkeld unusual,especially when compared to Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. can recommend the chilli chicken but main course and rice will not fill you up, so choose carefully.

service attentive and non intrusive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We're sorry that you were disappointed with the price of your food. We are reviewing our menu and we are hoping to address this. Thank you for your review and kind comments.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    70
    29
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It's OK”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's the only Indian restaurant in Dunkeld and I couldn't help but think that because of that, they didn't need to make much effort. Food was ok. Service was quick. (maybe even TOO quick) and it wasn't the cheapest, all things considered. Nothing specific to complain about as nothing was specifically wrong. I just wouldn't rush back, that's all.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TamC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello, we're sorry you weren't pleased with your service here at the Darjeeling. We are always trying to improve and you comments about the fast service have been heard. Thank you for your review and for visiting.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reasonable food, but unhappy with the service”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed the food, which wasn't exceptional but acceptable. The premises were attractive. We were not happy that we were charged for the bottle of the mineral water that had been placed on the table before we arrived. Perhaps naively, we assumed that we wouldn't have to pay for it, as we hadn't asked for it, but were proved wrong when the bill came. It seems unecessary to leave an bad impression with customers for the sake of £2.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lucydog96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you did not enjoy being charged for the table water- it is meant as a table decoration and we do not try to hide that you have to pay for it if you open it. We actually prefer our guests to ask us about the water, because we can then bring them a cold bottle, or tap water if needed. We're sorry this upset you, we'll think about maybe changing the arrangement in future.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birnam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The food here is always good but a little on the expensive side for what you get, compared to other Indian restaurants in Perthshire.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank anne120602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us so kindly. We're sorry that you weren't completely happy with the price of your meal, we are soon going to be reviewing our menu and prices and we will try to address this.

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in Dunkeld”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved their Chicken Tikka Masala. We had a great dinner here, just me and my hubby! It was a nice change from the pub scene.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PandMinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darjeeling-dunkeld, Manager at The Darjeeling, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we hope we can see you again soon!

Enam Chowdhury,
Manager and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Darjeeling also viewed

Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing