We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great!”
Review of Chatters Restaurant - CLOSED

Chatters Restaurant
Price range: $24 - $55
Cuisines: French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
dunoon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Great!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Three friends and I have just enjoyed a wonderful evening of superb food in a cosy and welcoming atmosphere. It was impossible to find fault with any of the details of tonight's visit. Our food was piping hot, perfectly cooked, flavoursome and plentiful. Two of us enjoyed steaks cooked and served to our different instructions, the others had loin of lamb, which looked fab.
I was astounded to read an earlier review here describing desserts as resembling 'accidents on a plate'. On the contrary, the desserts at Chatters are always beautifully crafted, made from scratch and tonight's were up to the usual very high standards. The chocolate torte was worthy of any top notch Parisienne Patisserie and I am sure that the apple pies would have been hard to beat in any bake=off!
Every morsel from the home baked breads at the start of our meal to the after dinner tablet and handmade chocolates which rounded off the experience, were spot on. Thank you to the lovely lady, Andre (?) who attended to us and compliments to the chef and the rest of the team.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacks57Dunoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chatters Dunoon unusual and yet a totally wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to Chatters for a family birthday, we were met by lovely smiling happy staff who did their very best to make our visit a good experience, the food was served well on tables set in a classic style. What an elegant dining room, and a very pleasant pre meal sitting room. The food was tasty ample and beautifully presented, the menu had a really good range too, which is a good thing when these days most menus i this area have a boring range of the same dishes, Chatters has something unusual for everybody.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Another impromptu visit to Chatters and as always met by Rosie with a welcoming smile. The drinks in the lounge so relaxing before your meal gives you plenty of time to decide on you choice for your menu. And then back to the lounge for coffee. This is the best restaurant for helpful and cheery staff nothing is ever a problem, one of the reasons we keep going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mclaughlin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming and elegant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is a good start, to wait for the table on a sofa with a glass of sparkling wine.

The food was excellent, also good wine list. The rooms are charming and elegant, but no "stiff upper lip"

Only the service could be improved. All are very friendly, but we had several different waitresses. Not all seemed to know, what we had ordered.

If I were the patron, I would change that.

All in all a recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackPalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always guaranteed a good feed!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Another great meal enjoyed at Chatters, this is the one place you can go knowing the food will be great every time and that you will leave smiling.

The bistro menu makes it possible to have quality food at an affordable price.

Get down there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatters Restaurant also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing