We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starting to age...”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Starting to age...”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our third visit.
Decor and furnishings start to to 'show their age ' (I should talk!). Beginning to look quite 'shabby'.
That said, cleanliness is not a problem. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food good...evidence of some 'portion control' but the portions are still adequate with extra if requested.
Enjoyed our stay and will probably return at some time.

Room Tip: If on the first floor try NOT to get a room over the entrance which is where the smokers congrgate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    165
    128
    53
    53
See reviews for
51
234
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent the weekend of 22nd- 25th February at the hotel. We found the reception area, ballroom and toilets very cold. Food was adequate but did not like having to make a choice of evening meal first thing in the morning!!
Prices in the bar are fine (£1.50 ) no complaints from hubby.
Manageress and all her staff very helpful.....will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I spent from th 22nd February to th 25th of February on an Urquharts
self drive and loved every minute of our stay. Granted the hotel is in need of upgrading
but room was warm clean sheets on bed nice white towels which were replaced daily.
The food was adequate enough choice for a person to select a meal, the roast beef and th
pork chops delicious add to this the £1 50. bar prices, what more can a body expect for the
price paid.
Staff all very friendly and helpful, entertainment good especially Eriskay Lilt band.
Manageress very helpful at all times nothing too much trouble for her ,lovely person.
In my opinion if people want five star treatment then pay five star prices.
Will return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Sea view room is worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chalkyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just had a weekend break in this hotel and we won't be back. We were in room 33 which was a large room with a single & double bed. The floorboards are in need of urgent repair. When we walked upon them it was as if we were walking thru snow....crunching sound....this became unbearable after a short while. We were given the last room available so there was no point in asking to be moved.

As for the food......fish & chips the 1st nite....frozen fast food...of the poorest quality...followed by peach sponge & custard. We didn't find a peach ...Only a bowl of stodge.....2nd nite ....diced steak & gravy....3peices of diced steak and the odd mushroom ....

We left the table hungry every nite. As for breakfast.....this won't set you up for the day...I small slice bacon 1 small sausage fried egg and tinned tomatoes.....again....we left hungry.

It cost us £152.50 for the 2 days....I think it's time to give the paying guests a wee bit more quality.
No such thing as warm toast in this hotel....

The staff were all very nice .......but we won't be back !!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank geraldine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Travelled with David Urquart for a three day weekend break, including cabaret. The hotel is in a beautiful postion, and at one time, i am sure this must have been the place to stay. We paid extra for a room with a sea view. This did not mean the room was superior, in fact all the rooms were alike, so dont expect a better or more modern room, but you will have the joy of waking up in the morning and watch the sun rise.
The hotel is very clean,as are the bedroom, and bathroom, but they seriously require updating. the bathroom especially. There are no hooks behind the door, and no fan, to remove bathroom smells.The grouting around the bath was dreadful, but it was clean. We had an issue with the hot water being unstable, one minute boiling hot, the next freezing cold. We were given a form to fill out, and this we put down as it could have serious consequenses.
The meal on the first night was awful, i had dried up chicken, and my husband had rubberey fish. But at breakfast time, we were given a dinner menu and asked to choose what we would like, the meal that night and the following two nights, was nice. Breakfast, were very good, cereals, grapefruit, porridge, and a full English, with a choice of fried or scrambled egg.
Cabaret every night, and selected drinks at £1.50p, word of advice, ask for Bacardi, and you will be charged £3.00.There is a list displayed at the bar informing you what you can have for £1.50, so double check.
We had a lovely time, and although this hotel is now past its faded glory, we would definitely go back, John our driver, and Maggie, were lovely.
The only negative point, is that the floor boards creak, and as we were on the first floor, we could here the people above, so pack some ear plugs
We can honestly reccommend this cabaret weekend to anyone.For what you pay, it is excellent value for money. Go enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonneribblevalley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time at hotel, read some reviews that were not good so I was really worried about going, need not as there review were a bit exagerated,allright it is an old hotel but lounge and clyde ballroom were very nice. My goodness for what you pay for break and pay at bar for drinks are they looking for a 5 star There was 49 of us on the coach and everyone praised the place, and the meals. Also the entertianment was great.I dont no what they got to moan about for what you pay it is worth every penny. Staff all so helpful, will be back.

Room Tip: as long as bed is clean go for it we don't go to sit in a bedroom to watch tv can do that at hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a 3 day break and loved it.
Yes hotel is dated but rooms warm and clean. The 30 bob bar is great value.
Coach trips to Oban and Inverary were included in the price,coach drivers were very knowledgeable and funny. Definetly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hazy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Property: Glenmorag Hotel
Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing