We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Glenmorag Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenmorag Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotel very disappointing, bed clean and comfortable thats the best I can say about it. Room needing a good clean, carpet thick with dust round edges and toilet rim was very dirty. The meals were terrible, very bland. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsbeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 491 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a really cheap coach trip so we were not expecting 5 star luxury but after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised.Nice large room overlooking the Clyde, plenty of hot water and comfy beds.The only downside in my view that dinner is 6.30 and you all go at the same time giving the dining experience a feel of "school dinners".Having said that the food was hot and there was a choice of 3 things at each course.The staff were very pleasant and our coach driver Russ was very helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra supliment for a Clyde view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isobelcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

went with my 2 daughters and son in law;on a .david urqhart tour;16/11/12 glenmorag hotel it was absolutley brilliant,meals and rooms were very good;and staff very pleasant;our coach driver was called ian;;he was fantastic his knowledge of the area was excellent,and he was very helpful;;we mingled with other guests in the function hall,and they were very good company;i would recomend this tour to anyone;;

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeduke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

a coach trip with david urquart to glenmorag hotel with a trip to oban on saturday and inverary on sunday.pleasent helpfull driver called kevin who helped older and diabled people in and out of coach and was very good at pointing out polaces of interest.our rooms was well decorated and very warm in fact we turned our heating down but at least you can adjust heat yourself so suits everyone.bathrooom slighly in need of re sealing round bath but lots of hot water and everything clean and nice bedding and towels.tea and cofffee available in room and plenty of it plus replaced every morning.as for tyhe food it was brilliant.some people complain on here about it but i couldnt fault it.cerials an fruit juice plus grapefruit and then cooked breakfast was self service too so as much as you wanted to put on your plate and teaa and toast topped up as required too.main meal was three courses then tea.coffee in lounge and the variety was good there too.entertainment was good enough though we preffered to sit inbar area and hear it from a slight distance and sit and chat to people we met on trip.as for drinks at £1.50 a drink theres nothing to complain about there either.had a problem with my tv in room and staff were straight up to replace it with apologies .all staff in hotel were mostly foreign but friendly and very polite.i would recomend this trip highly and like a david urquart trip i went on before it was extremely good value for money and i wouldnt hesitate to book with david urquart again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.also some rooms available for disabled as well .if you have been before you can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went on a David Urquhart couch tour to Dunoon and stayed at the Glenmorag Hotel. A nice hotel situated at the top of a hill,a wee bit dated. Would really benefit from a makeover but it is kept clean and tidy. The food was really good and there was a good choice .The chilli is ' HOT' so make sure you have plenty water, tasty though.The puddings are basic but tasty as well
The entertainment, not to my taste, but most of the other couples enjoyed it and the dance floor was always busy. The foxtrot, waltz and tango were popular.There was a comedian on the last evening ' he was really funny.
I have never come across such friendly staff, I have been on a few coach tours, but the Glenmorag staff were the best i have met. Friendly, Efficient, Helpful and SMILEY. Keep it up Glenmorag
The views overlooking the Clyde are wonderful and it is only a short walk along the promenade to the town centre .
Being on the West coast remember to take a brolly!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room when booking. It's an extra £5 each. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Old fashioned rooms, no hot water to wash after using the toilet, no pressure in the shower, breakfast was horrible except the sausages.
Staff didn't care when we complained just gave us a key to another room so we could shower. Why not move us to a better room?????

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Was sent here for 4 nites through work related and first impression from outside was total drab, didnt get much better from the inside. was very old fashioned needed a paint job new decor and new management, all in all a "dive". wasnt informed that breakfast tables were allocated to room numbers so on the 3rd morning i realized i had been sitting in someone elses seat..the hotel manager should be well retired she looked about 80!!! If it wasnt for the coach parties this run-down hotel would of shut years ago...thankfully i wasnt the one paying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmorag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmorag Hotel

Address: 3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmorag Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenmorag Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmorag Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing