We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay house hotel Dunoon”
Review of Bay House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bay house hotel Dunoon”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A nice small family run Hotel which I found to be very clean, and supplied a nice traditional breakfast the couple who run it Rick and Linda are very welcoming and friendly, it would suit guests who like a nice friendly quiet relaxing atmosphere, also it is very near to the seafront.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a lovely view across West Bay Dunoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
8
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were excited about our trip to Dunoon, especially my husband who had lived there as a child. As a family of four, we were so happy to be able to stay in one room together as most other places required two separate rooms. Rick and Linda greeted us upon arrival, helping with our bags and explaining how the B & B was run. Our room was on the top floor and had a lovely view of the Clyde. We were pleased to find that Bay House was a quick walk to town, neighboring park and a sitting room with games to play when it rained. Breakfast as made to order and Rick even made sure that my daughter's soft boiled egg was perfect for her toast. It was discoved as we were leaving that our car had a flat. Rick assisted my husband with removing the tire, calling the local repair shop and then driving him there and back. We plan on staying there again when we return to Dunoon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwithfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I got caught in the worst storm I can remember, in December 2011, and I also got injured. We couldn't get home either by road or ferry, so were stranded in Dunoon with our dog. We went to this hotel in order to try and just bed down for the night and try and get home next day, and we were met with a frosty woman, who said she did not take in pets. She said that the hotel next door may help, which they did with open arms. Bay is not recommended if in need of help.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roberta1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent a very pleasant three days here, with Rick & Linda, who from arrival to departure were excellent hosts. On arrival, we had a very detailed review of The Bay House, and were left in no doubt as to how it functioned. Our room had a view over the Clyde, which was only affected by good old 'Scotch Mist' on one day. The shower room was "compact", but perfectly formed, and the room being on the top floor meant that we had a few noises to contend with, as perhaps we were rather close to the header tank, but that is a very minor complaint, when we booked at the last minute, and Linda had informed us that we had the last sea-view room! Breakfast was freshly cooked to order every morning (and no way microwaved! ...check a previous review!). Everyone had exactly what they ordered, even to the point where one lady was asked to open her boiled egg, to make sure it was as she expected. All in all a very good break with a very attentive couple of hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel has quite a dated feel about it, although was very clean and had nice views of the water. It stands in a row of very similar looking hotels, all with identical small gardens where guests can sit out overlooking the sea. There is nothing wrong with that but I prefer something a bit more individual and modern. The place felt a little like a retirement home to me.

The owners were friendly and helpful, but breakfast was very average. I think most of it was microwaved. If I was ever in Dunoon again, I think I'd look for a cosy b&b instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stunning, breathtaking views of the Loch seen from the dining room and lounge and lucky for us we had a double-room ensuite facing the bay! What more could you ask for after a traditional english breakfast with real fresh coffee but a walk down the front garden directly onto the promenade. The proprietors, Linda and Rick, have oodles of local knowledge and during our 3-day stay we went for local walks around the local reservoir/woodland, the town centre has lovely coffee and tea shops every where, and Benmore national park was an absolute delight to visit. We also managed a swim in the local swimming baths, practically empty... like having your own private pool. Would highly recommend this hotel, it was beautifully maintained, clean and fresh but most of all Linda and Rick made us so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2000000Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Rick and Linda are the best. Very friendly and helpful. Good food and clean rooms. I have made several trips to Dunoon in the last 5 years and always try to stay at the Bay House. You have great views of the Clyde, and your close to downtown, buses and the ferry. Always a great experience. Am looking forward to staying there in 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rust34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay House Hotel

Property: Bay House Hotel
Address: 56 Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Dunoon
Bay House Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing