We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, lovely location.”
Review of The Osborne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Osborne
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, lovely location.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went for lunch here for the first time with family and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Great views from the window tables, would definitely recommend and go back again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Src242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Src242. Really glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    20
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
38
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Osborne Restaurant Dunoon

We arrived early and the restaurant already had a party of twelve in the dining room overlooking the sea. Unfortunately, we were put on a table for two that looked onto the serving area overflowing with dirty cloths. The table wobbled, but this was easily rectified with the placing of a bar mat under the offending leg.

Once our order had been taken, they appeared with a platter of bread rounds with a balsamic veloute and olives to nibble on. The two girls serving were exceedingly charming and helpful although in need of some well grounded customer care training. But this hopefully will come in the days to come, as it was only her first night.

I opted for the scallop starter, which when it arrived was rather strange to say the least, the scallops themselves were cooked to perfection, but they were perched on top of rounds of bread cut from a French Banquette that were sitting in a white cream sauce with garden peas floating about in it.
The chef seemed to have the finesse of a ballet dancer wearing clogs.

This was further confirmed on the arrival of our main courses, J had the surf and turf. A giant steak cooked to perfection, topped with a host of garlic prawns on an enormous plate overflowing with salad, chips and onion rings.
If you are into mountains of food, this would tick all the boxes.
My main was the duck breast served with seasonal vegetables and a mushroom sauce. Once again the meat was cooked pink as requested, but the sauce was totally under whelming, glutinous and rather manufactured, instead of the end result of a skilled reduction.

We didn’t stay for a pudding as we were both just too full, plus we had had enough of our rather cornered view.
The restaurant was nearly full when we departed, so people seem to like what is on offer. Although you could see that quite a few of the diners were getting slightly peeved with the prolonged pregnant pauses between courses.

Would we go back? In the near future NO, but perhaps when they have the serving team trained up and have grown into a restaurant that doesn’t have ambitions above their abilities and a price tag to match we will try again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you bestpep for your review. All our food is cooked fresh to order and I'm sorry but this does take time. We pride ourselves on our service and although it was the waitresses first night, she has been in the industry for many years. She said that she really enjoyed serving you as you had "France" in common. I'm sorry that you felt Cornered on your table, however you do get very good views of the Clyde from any of our tables. Finally, I would just like to confirm that we are NOT a fine dining restaurant but a local pub that cooks & serves very good, fresh food. We have never stated otherwise. I do hope that you come back and see us and should you have any concerns please do not hesitate to speak to me at the time. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is a must for food and drink with a good selection of real ales excellent food and service it's friendly clean and a good atmosphere would recommend this to anyone regardless of age can't wait for summer to arrive so we can sit outside and enjoy the view with a decent pint

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Many thanks Robert W. Glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Hopefully we'll get a good summer for you to sit outside with that pint!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the first time we have had dinner here since The Osborne reopened. The food is so fresh and beautifully presented. Elliott, the chef is outstanding.
Pete is a wonderful host and we were really well looked after.
Would recommend going here over and above anywhere else.
Cant wait to return for another lovely meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks Weelonie, really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Had beer battered fish and chips. Beautifully fresh and really light and crispy batter. Really enjoyed the food and Belhaven Grand Slam Beer. No room for pudding unfortunately! it was lovely to see 20 others visited too. Worth visiting and ignore old reviews as now under new ownership.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed the Fish & Chips. Hope to see you again, Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is an old establishment situated in a great location to benefit from the view to the water which is just across a quiet road. We did not stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms etc but it is evident from the external appearance and from the restaurant and bar area that the new encumber shave spent money on the property to spruce it up and make it more welcoming.
Unfortunately the initial impression was not so good as we were unsure which door to go in and the waitress halted us in our tracks to quickly apologise for being busy. She managed to show us to our table before rushing off.
We thought we were lucky in securing a seat at the window with the view but this quickly steamed over possibly due to the very noisy table behind us with unruly children and adults!
Service was a bit slow although the waitress had perked up a bit by the time she got to is. Food was good but poorly presented. It was good value for money with most main courses below £10 but would have been better with a few more chips. The waiter (who may have been the owner) should maybe consider not eating or chewing him whilst serving. We would go back to try again as we have been having mixed feedback. Maybe it was just teething problems

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Lorna19. Many thanks for your review. As you say, I would really appreciate you trying us again. I was the person chewing and apologise for this as this most certainly is not in my nature as a professional. Unfortunately, with regard to the condensation on the windows, we have had a huge amount of plaster work done internally and as the building dries out this seems to be where the water seems to be settling. I am surprised that you found our food poorly presented and would be interested in knowing what you had? Please feel free to talk to me on your next visit if you have any other issues. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The newly refurbished Osborne is well worth a visit. The food is excellent and the staff very pleasant. The waitress Janie could not have been more helpful. The views are stunning, this place is highly recommended and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRammo, Owner at The Osborne, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks MarkL for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in our lovely pub/restaurant. Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
3.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
3.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
950 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne

Property: The Osborne
Address: 44 Shore Road | Innellan, Dunoon PA23 7TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated on the River Clyde our Bar/Restaurant has fantastic panoramic views of the River and all it's traffic. Our conservatory is the main dining area with a lounge and bar behind. We also have licensed outside seating to the front and side for the "Exceptional" Scottish Summers. Come and join us for friendship & fun and sample some of our excellent, fresh, home cooked food, great beer & spirit selection. B&B rooms are now available. We have 3 double rooms and a single. For bookings and room rates please call on the telephone number on our home page. Web site to follow very shortly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Osborne Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing