We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunters Quay Hotel MM!!”
Review of Hunters Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunters Quay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hunters Quay Hotel MM!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having spent a fair amount of time trolling the internet looking for hotels in Dunoon my wife and I decided to book the Hunters Quay Hotel. The web page clearly advertises table de hotel ie, in English multi course meals.
It also states wonderful refined cuisine be, simple and fresh regional French dishes, which we both thought at the time would be just wonderful.

Stepping into the reception area on arrival you can smell a pleasant aroma of garlic which made us both smile and look forward to out stay at the Hunters quay.

We were handed the key to our room and advised how to get there, no visitors book or similar to sign, so we set off up the staircase and into our room. Great view of the harbor area my wife said and I must admit I agreed. The room itself was large but looked rather dated, with flaking paint on the windowsill, a rather poor quality television and we noticed the surround on the bath was cracked, the bath also looked quite difficult to access as the shower screen had been silicone to the bath restricting access to only about a quarter of its size.
The room was also cold and did not feel inviting.

I had a bit of a headache so decided to go to bed for a few hours to sleep it off while my wife went down stairs to check out the lounge area and also give me some piece and quiet. Well what happened next was really unprofessional and not what you would expect, the owner we assume had a right old rant about American and Russian tourists staying at Hunters quay hotel, how rude they are, no manners and so on, so be warned if you fall into one of these over sea tourists I recommend you go no where near this hotel, this was in fact such a rant it woke me from my sleep.

We decided to take a run into Dunoon and take advantage of booking our evening meal at reception before we left. We were told they do not do evening meals and we would have to go next door if we wanted to be fed that night, having quoted what it said on their website we were told by the young woman they have not done that for almost two years. We were not dumfounded and asked to speak with the manager who we were told was not available and we were asked to come back in one hours time.
One hour passed and we were both getting tired and hungry but none the less went back to discuss with the owner, after some discussion we were again advised to seek out dinner next door and they would add this to our bill at the end of out three day stay. This we both felt was not good enough and challenged the owner as to what was printed on their web page, we were told he had updated the web page to indicate no meals were available at night but despite this the company looking after the website had not updated it, I ask you does it take two yers to update a site, I think not, I closed my case.

To summarize , don’t be fooled into a great hotel experience at the Hunters Quay Hotel, if you look forward to a great fresh and simple French cuisine forget it you will have to go next door to be fed.
We are both very disappointed and would not recommend this as somewhere you would want to stay, Hotel no much more akin to a bed and breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Gordon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    46
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
128
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel used to brilliant. Now I'm afraid it is not. No atmosphere and overpriced. I suspect the owner may be about to sell up and this is noticeable in the fall in standard. Not worth the money. Flaking paintwork on windows, dusty headboard, cracked TV screen, broken kettle. All very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Madkopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welford on Avon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed a night at the hotel in June - it was supposed to be three nights but we were called away.

The hotel is in a lovely spot and we had fantastic sea views from our large bay windowed room. The reception and public areas are magnificent and the owner clearly has a feel for the history and beauty of the building. Although he initially appeared a little distant we soon realised that he is a very genuine and caring host. Breakfast was first class with plenty of choice.

Our only criticism would be the two small chairs in our bedroom . The magnificent bay window, with views over the Clyde, would greatly have benefitted from a comfortable sofa or two nice deep armchairs, from which we could have sat and enjoyed the views. The halls had lots of comfortable sofas & chairs - but no one was sitting in them. Why not move some to the bedrooms?

Overall though we were impressed at the work the owner has put in to make this a comfortable hotel with a lovely period feel. I understand it was built,as were so many large houses in and around Dunoon, for a Glasgow merchant - it deserves to succeed in its new life.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view cost a little more but are well worth it - the view over the Clyde is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived to check in early on the Saturday, having booked a luxury double room. We were initially told that we couldn't check in till 4pm but then there was a quick change of minds and we were allowed to check in earlier. Little did we know that meant our luxury double room was now an attic room with a great view but not a lot of luxury. We booked on late rooms and the description was a luxury room with sea view and sofa/seating area. Our room had two small chairs and was no different from a standard ensuite anywhere else. We didn't need to check in, there was basically no reception and no-one around except for the nice young man who was 'hotel sitting' for the owner. Although all the rooms were full it was very ghost like place and very cold. The bar was closed and we were told the restaurant was also closed over the summer. It was more like a bed and breakfast and does not deserve the rating giving by other reviewers. On a plus side it was very clean and the breakfast was excellent but the room was not worth the £125 we were expected to pay.

Room Tip: It appears to be pot luck which room you get rather than getting what you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang46-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Yes as most people say the settings and views are spectacular . However the hotel is a joke. We booked a room for three people and were told the room was "spacious" and was a twin easily accommodating an extra bed. We arrived to me met by the " new " member of staff who showed us to a room no bigger than a single ! This had a double bed and a child's folding bed leaving little useable floor space. The furnishings were basic , thin curtains on a wooden pole which kept out no light. The bathroom tiny and grubby. The bath had a patched hole , bath panel coming away, and there wasn't even a shelf to use for toiletries. The room was stuffy with a sign on the window saying "do not open". The hotel advertises " flat screen TV's ours was a tiny and dated standard set. The hotel did no food and the staff member acting as barman did not understand the difference between chablis and chardonay ....and did not know what a bloody Mary was ! Spoke to another resident who like me agreed we were glad we were not staying a second night. However awarded this hotel four stars needs to think again.

Room Tip: Don't accept room as described unless its given in writing. PS the "swimming pool" was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duncan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stsyed for three nights, it was a wonderful break, in a wonderful part of the world, peaceful and quiet, breakfast was great and a good start for travelling round each day, our room was very large clean and the staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I am a business traveler based in Asia and frequently travel and often live in top class hotels, thus can be somewhat and easily critical, due to the frequency of travel. I spent one week in this hotel in July. I cannot be critical at all. The hotel is beautifully furnished, the room was very comfortable, the breakfast was great and the owner is an absolutely lovely person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
962 reviews
2.4 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
18.8 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Hotel

Property: Hunters Quay Hotel
Address: 247 Marine Parade | Hunter's Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and marvel at our spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde, Holy Loch, Loch Long and hills beyond. Set in an acre of mature gardens, this beautiful Victorian villa offers luxurious, spacious, individually styled bedrooms. The warmest of welcomes, with the friendly attentive service of the French owner and his local staff ensure a delightful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunters Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Quay Dunoon
Hotel Hunters Quay
Hunters Quay Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing