We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Recently I was staying in this hotel as part of a hen party and it was fantastic, they took care of every need we had and made sure we enjoyed ourselves, as you can imagine we were a large rowdy group and yet they still managed to keep everyone of us amused!
Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineReekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back .
Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 998 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great hotel. Staff were friendly and made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much hassle for them.
great location for the town/pubs.
Rooms were clean and tidy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84cazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The staff were all really friendly and helpful and made everyone feel welcome. The good was fantastic with various options. Very clean and comfortable. No complaints whatsoever will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Booked in...fine. Room very nice. Bar.....ordered Stella but it was playing up and fizzing so he substituted Tennants (URGH) .... (Shelby -also behind the bar - was very helpful tho) ... No hot chocolate available ... Things went REALLY bad much later on when I slept on a couch in the foyer due to a room key that didn't open and no night staff HOWEVER the manager was sooooo apologetic and really couldn't have done enough. He ensured me that this was a one off THEREFORE please consider the other reviews cos the location is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybird2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Guest,
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Unfortunately i can see you felt this stay with us was not good
i apologise. We will take your comments on board and try to learn for any criticism given.

Looking forward to welcome you back .
Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed 2 nights food was good and management were excellent. Booked a murder mystery weekend Good value for the money. Already booked to go back again in a few month this time for the cowal games in August. This time I look forward to eating in the other restraint rio

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robsterobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return.

Warm regards.

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have been to Dunoon many time and have always wanted to stay in The Argyll but never again. After the very good welcome it went down hill. We waited in the lounge till the room was ready we managed to get a drink but waited at least 15 minutes for the cake (that was after 3 times of asking) when I ask for coffee and cake I expect it to arrive together. The room was OK but not very well maintained, the door hit one of the beds when opened. On the Saturday night the noise from the pub opposite kept me awake till 3am. I know this is not the fault of the hotel but we could have been warned. On the Sunday although it was raining, after breakfast we went for a walk till 1.30. on our return we decided to have another go at coffee in the lounge(no cake this time) the lounge was so cold we drank the coffee quickly(when we noticed the open door and commented we were informed, from a none Scot that Scottish people are hardy) We then back to our room for a rest as we had had very little sleep, only to be ousted a 3pm for the room to be cleaned. My friend and I decided to have a good look round. It would have been a comical sight to see two 60+ ladies sprawled on the floor looking through the railings on the top floor at the sea and rain. I could write pages on the neglected paint work,dirty windows, huge cobweb, etc. but the worsted thing was that we were made to feel as though we were an inconvenience. The only good thing about the holiday was the Rio. Here you were treated as if they were really please to see you and the food was great. This hotel is not what I except from a Best Western as I have stayed in many in the USA

Room Tip: Don't have a room without a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Valerie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Guest,


I am so sorry to read of your experience; however I have to thank you for highlighting the areas in which we have disappointed you.
strengthen the service we can provide to our guest. I do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not the standard experience our guests have, as I am sure you can see we have a very high number of positive reviews.

Kind regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great hotel, very clean and well appointed rooms. Checked in to this hotel having had a very bad experience in another local hotel. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Food is excellent especially in their new Italian restaurant. Would definitely recommend a stay and will return again to this lovely area due to this stay. Well Done!

Room Tip: Stayed in 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woody1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $83 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing