We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed 4 nights with GB Tours.,Great Holiday.Hotel in great position.Food,rooms and service.Entertainment needs upgrading as the entainers were passed their sale by date but still a laugh.As we were a coach party it would have been better to take dinner orders at breakfast time so save waiting time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRUCIE804424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    252
    90
    39
    48
See reviews for
123
435
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend a great time last weekend in his lovely hotel. Excellent location, lovely food, spotlessly clean plus great service from all staff. Thanks to Gary in reception and all staff for a great time. We will most definitely be back and would strongly recommend the Argyll Hotel to anyone visiting the lovely town of Dunoon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrstmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a fantastic weekend break at the Argyll Hotel. Room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful (especially Gary) and provided excellent service. Food was great and especially enjoyed the tapas in the Rio restaurant and great entertainment finished of a fab Saturday here. Will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWalkers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have enjoyed a fab weekend at the Argyll Hotel, Dunoon. Room 112 was beautiful thank you very much, food was great too haggis pakora, tikka masala yum yum. Staff very friendly. Entertainment Divas through the Decades, an amazing singer. Would definately recommend for a weekend away from it all. Also enjoyed a Quad Biking trip at nearby Quadmainia to add to our weekend. Top marks to all and many thanks again ;o))

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Lorna ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a excellent stay we both had the Michael Buble weekend was fantastic all the staff where helpful and polite could not ask for a better service. Louise and Gary on reception cool. restaurant staff polite and chatty bar staff the same We enjoy it so much we booked for the Freddie Mercury weekend and the Cowal Games thank you Argyll Hotel Dunoon see you all in May

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Iain & Ruth ,

It thrills me to read such great words of your implicitly great stay! Your special mention of the reception desk is very well taken. Since it is the face of the hotel, we expect it to be of the highest calibre. We take pride in our customer service quality and thank you for sharing that it is equally received in a similar fashion.

We look forward to your next visit in anticipation.

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

stayed here on valentines night the room was clean and nice ,bed was comfy too which is a bonus , we also ate here in the bar they had curry on the menu which in most bars are generally just basic standard, however both the currys and starters was the best ive had in ages ,we was previously going to have steaks but soon changed our mind when we found out the chefs are indian , would definitely have a curry here again , cant say much for the breakfast the next day though bacon was pale and very fatty undercooked rind and cheap sausage this hasn't put me off going again though I will just sick to egg on toast :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Weekend glasgow great deal break 8 people ages 5 to 70. Brilliant break food the best I've tasted from the Italian on the Friday evening to the meal on the Saturday night. All piping hot and great choices. Very reasonable bar prices. Amazing staff who can't do enough for you my dads 70th and my sisters 40th hotel even provided a cake on the Friday night and reserved a table for all of us for Saturday night and breakfast on the Sunday. Full cooked breakfast hot and really good. This hotel is a wee gem. Rooms are comfortable and spotless. Whole experience was brilliant. Can't wait to go back. My brother in law left his phone and the hotel posted it back. Amazing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maureen1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Maureen,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Argyll Hotel as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
683 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing