We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel stay”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity, to say a big thank you to all the Staff at this Hotel for making our stay here as comfortable as possible . It was a pleasure to stay here the Hotel is really nice clean and friendly, the rooms are really nice clean n fresh can't fault them at all .
The staff are really nice helpful Gary and James were especially helpful, and Gary next time i will bring extra toilet rolls Lol . That was my 3rd time staying at this hotel wnd i would recommend this hotel to everyone , will be back soon . Thank you to all in this hotel for making my stay pleasurable .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    243
    85
    35
    47
See reviews for
117
423
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are just back from our second stay at the Argyll Hotel. The rooms are extremely clean, crisp bed linen and warm rooms,( well it is January in Scotland). The Staff are so welcoming and helped make our weekend. Particular mention for the Reception and Bar Staff, Gary should have his own stand up comedy show. We had a wonderful weekend, breakfast was great we only ate in the bar once, however the food is extremely good. Entertainment on the Saturday night was great with a girl singer on her own who had the place jumping. Location is excellent 5 minutes from the beach and 2 minutes from the shops. We are already planning our next trip .xoxo

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and swimming pool, we have stayed in all rooms bar the ones with a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 794Liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It thrills me to read such great words of your implicitly great stay! Your special mention of the reception desk is very well taken. Since it is the face of the hotel, we expect it to be of the highest calibre. We take pride in our customer service quality and thank you for sharing that it is equally received in a similar fashion.

We look forward to your next visit in anticipation.

Regards
General Manager
Dev Surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. This hotel is nothing special but you get what you pay for. I paid £30 bed and breakfast so for that money I was very happy. Staff were polite and helpful. Bar prices were reasonable. Haggis Pakoras were different. Breakfast was average. Would I stay here again? Maybe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank J0nesy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.
Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon, and stay with us.

Regards,

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

just back from a great weekend in Dunoon. we stayed at the Argyll hotel and were really impressed. the staff were very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. the food was very good , the rooms were a nice size but not massive, but clean and had everything in them that you needed. The entertainment was good and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dunoon this year

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Argyll Hotel as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the Argyll for five days at Christmas, Dev and his staff are a credit to the Hotel.
Lovely room, fluffy towels and good food and a four poster bed.
Drinks were very reasonable and the location was very good.
Entertainment could have been better but then again every thing else was lovely.
Woud recommend a sea View room as that side of the Hotel was quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fieldhouse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

friend of friend recommended this hotel to me, it is one of the best location & very much familiarize to stay there, I really enjoy there service & of course with food, view is clearear & excllent, room is big enough, water is fine, staff are friendly & well knowledgeable,
I would like to stay again one day in feature, i will recommend this hotel to al of my friends,

Room Tip: excellent view room with balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just got back home on Sunday night after a lovely weekend at the Argyll Hotel. I was there with my retired Parents and my sister and we could not have asked for better. Each and every one of the staff were so pleasant and very helpful. Dev and his staff welcomed us with a smile and took our bags to our rooms whilst we had lunch. The rooms were excellent with lovely views. To their delight, my parents even had a lovely four poster bed. The Tapas restaurant was lovely and the food great; as was the meal in the restaurant which was part of a deal. There was also entertainment on the Saturday night and we had a lovely evening. All in all we had a very relaxing break. Thanks to Dev and all of his staff for making it extra special. I could not fault this hotel. I don't think I have ever experienced such genuine kindness and attention to customer service in any hotel and I have travelled all over the world. This may be a 3 star hotel in relation to facilities but it gets top marks for everything else. If I could suggest anything it would just be that I like nice shiny tea and coffee pots. Very Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view. Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Dev Surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing