We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argyll hotel WE SHALL RETURN !”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Argyll hotel WE SHALL RETURN !”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an extensive tour driving around Scotland - this year have been travelling every month since May including overseas and every occasion staying in hotels. Previous stop to the Argyll was in Aboyne, Aberdeenshire and what a beautiful journey that is, autumn colours and snow on mountain tops, lucky with weather most of the trip. We were a bit worried about parking at the Argyll Hotel but that proved no problem in mid November and we were very happy with our lovely room and views through the large Georgian style window, during day over the water and at night with the bright lights all around. Also remarkably quiet at night despite its central situation.
Staff/management could not have served us better or been more welcoming and helpful , our room and shower room were immaculately clean and very well equipped, more storage we think than anywhere else we have travelled in past months in hotels (one of which did not even have a wardrobe and some no chests of drawers) but prices everywhere we stayed were similar to the Argyll which we thought probably superior to many and very good value indeed especially as we had booked dinner bed and breakfast there. Excellent tv and we liked the way it was situated on the wall above the shower room, easy to watch while relaxing in bed. As my husband pointed out, everything worked - which is more than can be said at some hotels we have stayed in.
If one wanted to to think of any drawbacks a flight of steps up to the hotel and no parking in hotel grounds might possibly not be the most convenient for any guest with physical disability
though my husband and I are not young and had no problem!
The hotel is immaculately maintained but they might have had a problem with some of their ceramic floor tiles that have cracked (some in shower room & main hall) but if that is all one could find amiss then perhaps not too worth mentioning. When visiting famiiy and friends in Scotland we shall definitely want to stay at the Argyll hotel again.

Room Tip: if possible look before you book - check web site for amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telfordBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    240
    82
    35
    44
See reviews for
115
415
40
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I will start with the positive, the service was good, the waiting staff attentive and personable.
We were a party of 25 paying £18 a head for the set menu. The food was appalling. One can only assume that there was a budgetary restraint put on the kitchen resulting in the most unusual meal. Powdered soup, reformed chicken breasts, tinned fruit cocktail laced with a dollop of economy strawberry jam to name but a few. The 'cheesecake' wasn't! the profiteroles were covered in what looked like Iceland mousse. I could go on, and on, and on.
The coffee was good at the end, the wine was reasonable and fairly priced. The overall bill came to more than £25 per head for the most mediocre meal I have had perhaps ever. I would strongly advise people to find an alternative restaurant....the staff were nice though. Still I will not be going again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are sorry to hear that your Dining experience in Rio Restaurant at our hotel was not up to your expectations; we endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are noted and worked upon.
I do hope you give us the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future and rectify the errors which we made.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from a walking trip in Dunoon. We hadn't pre-booked a hotel but we're very impressed when we enquired for rooms at the Argyll Hotel. The hotel is clean and the food is great value for money with the greatest asset being the friendliness and real 'can do' attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

HAD A FANTASTIC WEEKEND AT ARGYLL HOTEL second time back first time staying at this hotel.....made to feel very welcome on arrival.....all the staff that we talked to were most helpful in giving us ideas of where to go and what to see in Dunoon...our first night we had dinner in Italian n tapas restraunt what a lovely meal n lovely place to eat very warm and frendly staff.....we went on car ferry to Glasgow got day return tickets......we found lots to do while we stayed in dunoon....will be booking to go back next year...

Room Tip: the room we stayed on was on the shopping street and pub side it was a wee bit noise but only when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottsaway1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton Carew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My colleague and I stayed here during a 3 day business visit to Dunoon. The hotel is clean, well presented and , whilst we were there at least, nice and quiet.

It's easy to find and loads of free parking nearby is a bonus.

I had the Lamont Room , comfy bed , nice clean room and bathroom . The bedroom window bonus is an excellent view out over the bay. We experienced sunshine and some more dramatic weather , the room remained snug.

Breakfast was good and we ate one night in the on site Italian restaurant. I wasn't too hungry and went for the pizza, very nice.

Staff are friendly, chatty and accommodating . The hotel definitely consolidated my very positive view of Dunoon and the people I met.

It is an example of how Best Western should be making sure hotels carrying their name should be run.

I will probably returning to the area in the next few months and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was taken to the Argyll recently for a birthday lunch and can only praise the place. Carvery lunch was delicious, plenty to eat and at only £9.95 for 2 courses couldn't have been better. The food tasted great, meat so tender and pudding well a way to a girls heart is hot chocolate fudge cake and cream.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, funny and charming.
If your looking for somewhere to enjoy a great lunch with great views then get yourself to the argyll.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ArgyllNortherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your Dinning Experience with BEST WESTERN ARGYLL . It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Group of twelve for murder mystery weekend ,everything fab couldn't fault a thing,staff brill ,rooms good food great and entertainment smashing .Great treasure hunt on Saturdsy morning and reasonable priced drinks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmurdoch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.


In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing