We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wee weekend away”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

lovely hotel , room was spotless, and lovely decor, soap , shampoo, shower gel and hairdryer, staff at reception very helpful, breakfast staff too, breakfast was lovely ,plenty off variety,nothing was a bother,only slight problem and is was not the hotels fault, pub across the road is very lively, and some young ones leaving in the early hours of the morning are very noisy, just keep your window closed or get ear plugs, but this is not the hotels fault, will visit again,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 985 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am just home from staying 2 nites at this hotel , and I must say it was a great hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful .
On arrival the check in was easy and excellent . The room we had was excellent spacious and clean n comfortable .Myself and my friends who were with me will defo be back soon . The manager was also very friendly and helpful , the dining and bar staff were very nice too very friendly .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Friday 16th August as part of our stay in Scotland. The hotel were very accommodating and flexible with us knowing we were traveling with a young child.

We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were impressed with what we found, parking is a bit awkward as there doesn't appear to be a designated car park for the hotel itself. We stayed on the second floor which overlooked the sea, the room was an ample size. The bed was possibly one of the biggest I've slept in, our little boy who is seven months had a cot put up for him with fresh bedding. I'm very fussy with travel cots in hotels however this looked brand new and was great for what we needed.

We had decided to eat at the hotel, there are two restaurants one being the standard hotel restaurant and the other 'Rio' which is an Italian and Tapas menu. We were advised to book up in advance with it being a Friday night as it is popular and fills fairly quickly.

The restaurant was very accommodating, we did have our little boy asleep on his pram however the staff said it wasn't a problem at all. The meals are fantastic and you really do get value for money, I order mussels as a started and they were a decent size, my husband had a mixed seafood salad which again was very large yet full of seafood. We both ordered monkfish wrapped in Parma ham for our main, this was accompanied by a Mediterranean veg stack and a mussel and prawn sauce, very filling in deed.

Both my husband and I had a very comfortable nights sleep here, was very quiet and perfect for families.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBunny1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Four friends all stayed here to celebrate a 50th birthday. The rooms are clean and very well presented, however, what made our stay was the excellent service the staff provided. From the cleaner to the manager nothing was too much bother and they went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Dunoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself are staying here breakfast service was slow and I had to ask for service the dining room wasn't full and there were 2staff on though when we arrived there were none, our room should have been hoovered and there is dust hanging from the alcove the bathroom door will not shut properly and a chair instead of a pouffie would be a welcome inprovment we appreciate the local paper as it allowed us to see what's on and another guest had to tell the waiting staff twice no bacon as it was obvious he was Jewish

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back .
kind regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked a single room for self and colleague for one night. Previously stayed here in April and single room was exactly that however very compact but fine. I arrived to be given key to room with wonderful sea views and a four poster bed. What a pleasant surprise. Room very spacious and bed comfortable. The view over the Firth of Clyde was amazing. Breakfast was the usual choices and as there was also a dining room full with a coach party it did take a bit longer to be served. Not sure only one waitress was enough to cope withnthe numbers. Will definitely stay here again as staff are friendly and welcoming. Bar service was quick and efficient the previous evening.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank pm590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest ,


Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We were only booked in for one night our room was ok but looked out onto the street, when we went back down to the bar we were asked by a member of staff how our room was, we said it was ok but the view wasn't very nice so he immediately upgraded our room to a four poster with views, excellent.
For dinner there are a few options so we opted for the Italian which also served tapas, but were really disappointed when there actually wasn't any tapas available but a menu of around 4choices per course and the food was very disappointing :(

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience. We endeavour to give to all our valued guests’ excellent standards. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.
As you have mention about our Rio Restaurant dining experience was not great.
We have a set dinner bed & breakfast menu created by our chef team.
I spoke to the front of house crew about your tapas as it’s not been included in our set menu.
But in due course of time we will add on to our new set menu.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing