We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have just returned from The Argyll Hotel in Dunoon at the weekend. I was there for my hen weekend doing the murder mystery and it was amazing from start to finish. We were a party of 31 females (a difficult task in itself) but it was great from the moment we arrived until we left. All the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and were always so helpful, nothing was too much. The food was lovely as was the service at mealtimes. I really cannot rate this hotel highly enough, it really was a weekend to remember. Special mention to Aarron, Tom and Boris as well as manager Dev who were so helpful and attentive during our stay - thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 985 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

31 of us, all girls have just returned from this hotel on 30th June 2013. From we arrived on the Friday until we left on the Sunday all of our request were met. Our room was great, good size, good view even if the window was a bit small, but we were not there for the view lol. Most importantly it was clean!! and fresh towels were left and room tidied everyday much to our delight!! The staff were so friendly and relaxed (especially Aaron) always smiling and having a bit of friendly banter which was refreshing and warmly welcomed. The food was great too! I am classed as a very fussy eater and i cleared my plate after every meal. The menu had a great selection and there was something for everyone. Which we were pleasantly surprised at as we expected a set menu. The evening entertainment was great and we all danced away until the wee small hours. The actors and staff put their hearts and souls into making sure we had a great time!! Overall i would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to others!! Sorry i cannot remember all the staffs names to thank you individually but thanks to the lovely receptionist who kindly brought us room service on the morning of Saturday which was a wee curer : ) Great time had by all xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaRScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

my wife and I and two friends have just returned from this hotel after a four night stay, I could not praise all of the staff highly enough, not only were they polite courteous and efficient but would never pass without a word, showing their genuine care for your stay in their hotel, this started from the manager and spread throughout every member of staff. I would need a bigger page to describe the food, from breakfast to lunch and evening meals, the quality choice and portions would be ten out of ten and would put many five star hotels I have stayed in to shame. The bedrooms were cleaned every day to a high standard and the furnishings adequate. I would highly recommend this hotel and give a special mention to the girl on the reception who could not do enough for you she obviously enjoys her job

Room Tip: ask for a sea view on second floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Loking forward to welcome you back .
Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. I really couldn't fault the hotel, we stayed in the Campbell suite which featured a large four poster bed. Check-in was quick and easy, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only down fall is the hotel does not have a swimming pool (something which I usually look for). We had lunch in the hotel which was fine and the breakfast although claiming to be full Scottish was a little sparse! We also went for dinner in a local Italian which we later found out was also owned by the hotel I would really recommend as the food was lovely and so was the price. Not much to do in the town but fine for just a night or two. Suggest the gorge walk in pucks glen very scenic, its approximately 5 miles along the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachiecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
General Manager
Dev surya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Sunday lunch can anyone find me a better value around dunoon? . Went Sunday 2nd of June. With 4 of our friends n every1 said they will be back. Carvery first class no sprouts but they had broccoli n carrots, turkey n beef mmmm like granny used to make n the gravy , chef shud win an award just for that , n the yorkshires pudd lovely n ur not stuck to 1 a plate , n I had seconds a bargain £6.95 for 1 or 3 courses for £12.95 n kids get 2 courses for £5.95 n that includes a drink. 1 complaint wish there was trifle on sum time with no strawberry s. any way staff are a credit to the hotel n the chef he is the man . Will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with our offerings. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the 2nd June 2013 for 3 nights and can only say we had the most amazing stay ever. There is no words to describe the welcome, outstanding customer service and genuine kindness we received from the manager Dev, Karina on reception and there whole team from the moment we checked in until minute we checked out! We ate in the "Rio" restaurant 2 nights out of the 3 and ate from the lounge menu the other night, the food was totally amazing we didn't have to leave the hotel and breakfast was brilliant to. The room was gorgeous with breath taking views and everything spotless! We can't thank the team @ the best western Argyll hotel enough for there 5 star hospitality and how special they made us feel and we can't wait to go back . This hotel is a MUST for anyone visiting Dunoon you certainly will not be disappointed :0)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrackersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

my son had his reception here very good meal and attention to detail bride and groom treated very well only hotel who actually took the time to talk to them properly when they were looking for somewhere, meal actually in the rio great party at night The manager was a great guy full of fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjory a B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing