We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel is in good location clean and the food was great. The hotel has had some updating to the entrance but is a bit worn out in other places. Having said this; we looked around at the other hotels and the Argyll appeared to be the best by far. Staff really friendly and attentive. We were also in room 133 and although the view was non existant we were more than happy with it mainly because it was very spacious and we did not hear any noise from above. The entertainment was very good both nights. On the first night the venue was deserted but, we just made the best of it and enjoyed ourselves. The DJ on the Friday night played some great music and it was a real shame that people were not keen to particpate. Perhaps the problem is that after dinner the dinning room is emptied to enable staff to set up for the entertainment and people leave or go to their rooms. It would be best to try and keep customers in the room if at all possible. Also on the Saturday night once the dinning room is set up for the tribute act there is then a rush to get a seat so be early or you will end up in the lounge area and not see the act. We had a great time at this hotel and would stay there again. If you are a couple and what to eat as a couple then let the hotel know when booking. We were paired up with another couple which worked out well for us but, it could so easily have not been the case and then what do you do?? If you have a car consider taking it with you. Dunoon itself is fine for a quick walk around but once this is done there is little else to do and see. We had the car so were able to drive around and saw some amazing scenery whilst tasting great home baking in the many tea rooms in the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: If you want a view do not accept room 133 which is in the basement area although you need to balance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
General Manager
Dev surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    248
    87
    36
    48
See reviews for
121
429
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went with G.B Tours to this hotel and on arrival I was given my keys to room 133, all the old folks were waiting for the lift and as we are only 70 we walked up the stairs to the top of the hotel were the rooms stopped at 132,
Went back down with all our bags and found out that room 133 was in fact room 33 in the basement, not happy.
The room looks out on to an allyway at the side of the hotel and outside our window were the dustbins, not happy, two lights not working so room very dark, was not happy.
The lights got fixed.
Well that was the bad things about the hotel, now lets talk about the good things.
Room was in fact very big and clean, one double bed, one sigle bed, two side tables, one warbrobe, one dressing table, one stool, one table, and one three seater settee.
The bathroom was big enough for ten people to stand in, the bath was full size so that I could have a really good soak even at my 6 foot size and the power shower was second to none.
Memo to boss no hand rail on the wall of the bath, anyone falls and you will have a problem.
Food was more than ample for even the biggest of eaters and I left something every meal.
Entertainment for three nights out of the four we were there.
Scotish music and dancers as you would expect, bagpipes and all, I even tried haggis for the first time and enjoyed it, top class.
Hotel is in the centre of the town so easy to get around even for those less manoverable.
Bottles of wine a very sensible £10. or so.
Staff were of the highest order, but one word of caution to the boss, yes we can hear everything that is going on in the kitchen, if you wish to argue between youeselves or with your staff take them away somewhere private.
Had a great time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good time whilst not costing the earth.
Thanks Guy's for making us so welcome. ROY

Room Tip: Try not to have a room under the dining room if you wish to go to sleep early as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a very detailed review of our property and services. I am very glad that you view Argyll SGE family as a brand which is very consistent and always delivers.

I am also grateful to you for your candid feedback. A big thank you for your kind words regarding I made it a priority to share your feedback and let them know of the good service they had provided you. It is refreshing to know that even though you had one bad experience it did not reflect on the staff as a whole which is very encouraging.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Dunoon .

Regards
General Manager
Dev surya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2013

While workin away from home a was booked in to this hotel buy my company sse,i found the staff very very friendly,the quality of the food was too a very high standard with alot of variety,and the rooms were absolute spotless.all in all it was a superb time here and whenever am sent down to dunoon for any reason again am sure a will be cuming back here too stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guzz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went with a friend here on our 1st murder mystery weekend with a haunting theme (12th - 14th April) and paid £99 pp for 2 nights with evening meals & breakfast included and we left having had a great weekend!

FRIDAY: We arrived to Dunoon via the ferry and The Argyll was a short walk away which could be seen right away when we arrived. We were checked in quickly and given the murder mystery scroll.
Evening meal started at 7:30pm along with start of the plot for the murder mystery which ran in-between courses then finished with a little ghost hunt with the Glasgow paranormal investigation team.

PLEASE NOTE: If you are serious about the paranormal part you might not get what your looking for here. I know a few people were disappointed as it was a joke to others. Questions were turned into jokes.

SATURDAY: A treasure trail, following clues around Dunoon during the day. Optional spiritual reading if booked costing £30. (We didn't do this as felt it was too expensive, had previous readings for £20) Evening meal and murder mystery events again starting at 7pm. Prizes were given out along with a certificate for who got the murderer correct, trail and best dressed then a disco afterwards until 1am.

PLEASE NOTE: Its optional to wear fancy dress on the Saturday night - my friend and I were the only ones who knew this though so we were the only ones dressed up (as haunted dolls)

SUNDAY: Check out at 12.


ROOM: Clean and comfortable.
FOOD: Amazing - Tasted as good as it looked, great sized portions too.
BAR: Prices were ok and served quickly even when busy. My friend and I spent most of our time here and really enjoyed it.
STAFF: The staff were great and we got to know them all on a 1st name basis - Tom, Andrea, Victoria and Yanis? We felt so comfortable that at the end of each night we tried to get the staff to join us for a drink - even shouting at the boss behind reception who was also great when he reminded us while sober in the morning....

NEGATIVES:
Bar closes at 1am.
Evening meal starts between 7pm - 7:30pm but due to murder mystery plot going on in-between courses didn't finish last course till around 10pm.

Didn't bother us but might annoy some: We were on the high street side which has a takeaway shop called 3 in 1 across from it which appeared to be the place to be after the pubs emptied - quite busy until the early hours with noise.

OVERALL: Good chance of going back someday....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicmespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel was fabulous! Service was great. Best part of the weekend was the food it was beautiful i will defiently be back at this hotel!
We booked up for the haunted hotel weekend and it was a really good laugh!
Good area for nice walks & a good few pubs around:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My Family & I were there (April 2013) for a murder mystery weekend...

We paid £99 for two nights, dinner and breakfast included. We had entertainment Friday Night, Saturday Night & even a treasure trail we could do at our leisure on Saturday Afternoon.

To be honest I'd go back just for the food, it was phenomenal. The portions were fantastic and the food was to a very high standard, the presentation and service were brilliant too.

The staff were all friendly and the manager was very kind to us, really pleased. No one was to busy to help us and they even remembered my mums strange tea order, it's nothing huge but it makes you feel like they care.

The rooms were very comfortable, easy to use showers (which is always a bonus), housekeepers were in and out in no time, very pleasant.

There was not a downside to our stay and we're planning on going back. I've already recommended the hotel and events to friends. Hope to see you all again in December for the Gangster Murder Mystery :D

Room Tip: I had a corner room with a sea view, was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we was on a day trip to Dunood and saw this hotel in front of harbor and we wanted a meal so it looked good and in we went we got a table by a window the view was great down loch and we saw a submarine first time ,now for the food good menu we had salmon and i tell it was the best ever big portion and lovely wine they gave us yes i would stay here decor was of a old hotel but nice

Room Tip: we did not stay here but food was good also very good staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
464 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing