We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$76
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Osborne(Dunoon)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveler rating
562
265
95
41
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
265
95
41
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mystery weekendtower roomtheatre companysaturday nightgreat weekendfour poster bedfawlty towersset menuboth nightsweekend breaklovely mealsea viewan overnight stayvisited this hotelgreat value for moneydining roomsister hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I read a few comments regarding this hotel some were complaining about the food and noise some about the bedrooms. I decided to take a look ourselves. When we arrived the room was not ready but it was because the other guests did not leave their room till after 11am so decided to wait in the bar which was cosy and had a good view. When we did get in our room it was clean and big enough considering we were only sleeping there it was big enough. The sink in the ensuite was a bit tiny but the shower was ample. We only ate once in the hotel but I made a mistake in ordering the Haggis neeps and tatties which I ate but did not really enjoy that much not their fault suppose its something you either like or not. All in all it was a pleasant stay regarding the noise there is a bar oppisite the hotel which on a friday has a disco which can be noisy but not for long.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pub if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.
Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon , and stay with us.


Regards,

Surya Dev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we arrived on the Monday with 27 other people on a coach, we were all greeted by the manager of the hotel wishing us a good stay. When we got into the room, the kettle was not working properly and the tv was showing a still picture on the screen, the sound was ok. I went down to reception to inform them of the problems. Within five minutes the managerwas knocking on my door. I showed him the problems, he said, he would sort them out. We went out to look around Dunoon, when we came back the maintainance man was in the room re-programing the tv and had brought another kettle. We were very impressed with this. On the Tuesday my Partner had arranged for a suprise Birthday cake to be presented to me at the evening meal. It was a great surprise. Even better was when my partner went to pay for the cake, the Manager said there was no charge, it was from the Hotel. This really made our holiday even better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andytdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.

we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon, and stay with us.

Regards,

Surya Dev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We choose to spend our holidays in Dunoon which is beautiful city. Our friends came to this city before and suggested us to come here. We came to argyll hotel for dinner. It was tasteless and did not enjoyed at all. We will never come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

I hope you will not let this one unpleasant altercation play on your mind next time you visit Dunoon as I can assure you that this is not the norm here at Argyll Hotel. Team Argyll will make every effort to change what wasn’t right during your experience this time.
We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.


Regards
Surya Dev
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Three of us stayed here for a murder mystery weekend - what a laugh! We had gorgeous rooms, the food was excellent and the staff were brilliant with nothing too much trouble! Would recommend it to anyone! My only disappointment was that we didn't manage to say 'cheerio' to two lovely cowgirls we met, Madge and Yvonne and hope they enjoyed our company as much as we enjoyed theirs xx
Well done to the team at the Argyll Hotel for managing to tick all the boxes - keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary090260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for murder mystery weekend. Had a fantastic time, staff excellent, and very attentive room spotless,liked the extras provided in room was a very nice touch, food brilliant and plenty of it,great choice on menu. Entertainment was terrific well done to all who took part. Also liked the treasure hunt was very well thought out. Would definitely recommend this and looking forward to going back very soon with friends and family

Marjory S

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory1181254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Gest

Thank you very much for your five star review about your stay. It’s gratifying to hear that Team ARGYLL has been successful in its endeavour to make guests feel comfortable and at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews