We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the "Best Western"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best of the "Best Western"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently spent a weekend break at "The Argyll Hotel" Feb 2013 Great service provided
friendly helpful staff the team at the hotel were very pleasant and welcoming though not overbearing,our rooms clean warm and modern with great views.
Food was excellent (Yum!!)
Thank you to all the hotel team a great time was had by all our party : ) Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelake66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    234
    79
    34
    42
See reviews for
112
406
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Myself and my fiance had a romantic 2 night break here, after having had a devastating few months, It was exactly the break we needed. The staff were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to ensure the stay was the best it could be. The room was comfortable, the tv only had 4 channels but due to how fantastic everything else was it did not bother us at all. We were welcomed with afternoon tea which was fantastic, we were so stuffed we didnt need to go out and get dinner that night. Anytime we needed anything staff were more than happy to go out of their way. Comfiest bed ive ever slept in too. on our 2nd night we dined in the Rio restaurant and it was without a doubt the tastiest meal we have ever had the pleasure of eating. If you get the chance for the carrot and coriander soup GET IT!!! The meal was perfect and staff all fantastic. Breakfast was lovely every morning too. We enjoyed it so much that although its a good 2 and a half hours away from us we are greatly considering having our wedding here. When we enquired about weddings the manager Dev, was extremely helpful and enthusiastic making it even more appealing. Cant wait for a chance to come back. Will be recommending this hotel to anyone and everyone. Not one thing to fault. Would LOVE LOVE LOVE to go back and would make THE perfect wedding venue. Cannot praise it enough. Thank you very much for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for the sea view 4 poster bed rooms but we had a nosey and it didnt make much d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great location as you come from the ferry. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The tv reception was poor with only 3 channels showing. Overall the hotel is very dated. The service ranged from being very good to overbearing to non-existent. The breakfast, which comes free with the room was terrible. I sat for 10 mins before anyone noticed I was there (I was the only person there). The woman serving was unfriendly. The breakfast arrived within 2 mins of ordering. The ingredients were poor and I gave up trying to eat the food.

I'm sure the staff do a great job but considering all the hotels Ive stayed in, I wasn't impressed and unfortunately won't be staying again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fafaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so sorry to read of your experience; however I have to thank you for highlighting the areas in which we have disappointed you. experienced issues . We take on board all of the points you have raised and would like to reassure you that we will use the feedback to strengthen the service we can provide to our guest. I do hope that you will return again and allow us the opportunity to show you that this is not the standard experience our guests have, as I am sure you can see we have a very high number of positive reviews.

kind Regards
surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we arrived we were given a room with a shower. We asked to change room to one with a bath, and no problem straight away, and very politely, we were given another room. The bed was really comfortable, and the room was nice and a good size. We ate next door and had a lovely tapas meal. On that note can I say a big thank you to the waiter Norman in particular, as his service was fantastic. I love the relaxed atmosphere and the friendly ambience of the hotel. My husband and I will definitely be returning Excellent value for money and lovely staff from the management to the receptionist to the waitresses and waiters. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a week in jan 2013 as was working in dunoon! Staff were all exellent and very pleasant! Room was clean modern and comfortable! Also got lovely packed lunches as started work too early for bfast! Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Surya Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited this hotel in 2012 and received excellent service, so when a deal came up for a weekend, we did not hesitate. The rooms were very comfortable. The service from all staff was excellent, they could not do enough for you. As we missed our afternoon tea on Friday as part of the deal, it was no problem to have this on saturday. We ate in the Rio on Friday. The meal was lovely and service was excellent. The general manager was very attentive to us and all his guests making sure everyone was okay. We joined the murder mystery night on Saturday and we were a bit aprehensive as we had never been to one before, but we were glad we did. It was fun and well organised. We had a lovely 4 course meal again excellent friendly service.

Would not hesitate in recomending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM0258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bute
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just got home (an hour ago) from an absolutely fabulous time at the Argyll Hotel in Dunoon. A murder mystery weekend with 2 friends to celebrate my birthday.
What can I say, except that the hotel was lovely and warm ( and I hate the cold), the room was lovely and certainly big enough for the three of us, The staff were absolutely fantastic and so attentive and friendly. We had a lovely waitress who served us in the dining room at every meal and she was so friendly and such fun. However special mention must go for the food. It was absolutely gorgous. we go to lots of hotels for weekend breaks and have to say this is the best food ever. I cant say there was anything we did not like. I must mention the chicken curry on Saturday night. it was to die for and I would have liked a carry out to take home for tonights dinner.
As for the murder mystery it was such fun. the actors were great and had everyone joining in. Would hae liked them to have been there on the Friday night( as advertised) as we were slightly confused as to what was happening. They had everyone entering into the spirit of the whole thing (Jamies secret) and had me, my friends and others convinced at one point it was me who had committed the murder. But no it was........................ that would be telling. Go for yourself and enjoy a weekend here. My friends and I will be back.
P.S. Thank you for the birthday cocktails.

Room Tip: Room 110 is above the disco on a saturday night and the room "rocks" till 12.30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgtbute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing