We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Hotel/Murdery Mystery Weekend”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My partner and I booked the Argyll Hotel for their Haunted Hotel/Murder Mystery weekend on 22nd July.

From the moment we walked into the hotel the fun began. The hotel staff were very attentive which made for a warm welcome. We were in room 133 on the ground floor, the room was very spacious with a single and double bed. There was also a large leather sofa and plenty of storage. A 42" LCD Freeview TV was mounted on the wall. The room was spotless and the beds very comfortable. A large bathroom with shower and bath made the whole room look like a mini suite. The only downside to the room was the windows overlooked a lane and between 1am to 2am you could hear a lot of noise from young people leaving a nearby club. A few of them came running past our window making a lot of noise.

The food was amazing, absolutely no complaints there, the waiting staff were very courteous and despite serving for around 60 people it was evident that the chef and kitchen staff took a pride in presenting the guests with delicious hot food.

The entertainment was so good that we have booked the "Tipsy Towers" tribute to Fawlty Towers on 23rd Sept. The Walking Theatre Company were excellent and encouraged the guests to join in on their Murder Mystery. The Glasgow Paranormal Investigators provided a spooky but memorable tour of the cellars, just like a scene from "Most Haunted", they also spent a few hours answering all our questions and showing us images and footage of previous investigations.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and it was great value for money at only £99 per person. I would recommend the Themed Nights to anyone who fancies a weekend away at an affordable price.

Well done to the staff at the Argyll Hotel, The Walking Theatre Company and Glasgow Paranormal Investigators!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Poor reception on arrival. Charged extra for room we were not given. asked to state exactly what time we would be going to the dining room. Food offered was a varied choice but some meals cold and breakfast had been sitting for some time. I.e. Beans congealed, fried egg rubbery, bacon Luke warm

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Just returned after a great weekend at the Argyl - The hotel was great value and the food amazing, we dined in both the main restaurant and the Italian.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigbobFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riodunoon, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, From all the team and myself we hope to see you again soon.
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Got a great deal on line first time ever we been to Dunoon. Meant to be there for 2 days and stayed for 4 as didnt want to come home!!! Jyst didnt want to leave. DUNOON is quaint and friendly and the hotel staff were brilliant including MARY, who served us breakfast every day THE MANAGER was great helping us get rooms for the next two days we decided to stay. There was a murder mystery night and LAURA THE SALES MANAGER let is join in the ghost hunts!!! We have now booked for another 2 days in August!. Cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Clan toom is 4 poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishTravellers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riodunoon, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

It was great to meet you both, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review, Look forward to seeing you both again soon
steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a brilliant weekend from start to finish. Our weekend was Haunted Hotel/murder mystery.
Me and my sister stayed in the Tower Room and from what we had been told before coming to the hotel was the most haunted room in the hotel and if it is no wonder the spirits stay in there it was stunning.My mum and aunts stayed in one of the family rooms and although this wasnt a patch on the Tower room was spotless and very spaceous.
The G.P.I (Glasgow paranormal investigators) took us into the basement of the hotel in the dark (all very most haunted) although nothing paranormal happened to our group it was very interesting.
The walking thearte company that do the murder mystery part of the weekend are brilliant so funny and kept us laughing for 2 nights.A very talented bunch of people.
Food in the hotel was lovely and on both nights the menu had something to suit everyone.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble even the hotel manager mucked in to serve tables at dinner and serve drinks at the bar he even helped play a joke on my sister when he "borrowed" the t.v from our room and helped me convince her that someone had stollen it from our room still laughing bout that now.
The only thing that went wrong the full weekend was the lift broke on the Friday and never worked again all weekend.
We will 100% return to The Argyll Hotel again in the near future.
Thanks for a great weekend. Claire and Catherine Forrest

Room Tip: book the tower room you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riodunoon, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review, The Tv prank was funny and i am glad your sister took it the right way. I hope you have all booked for another event ? hope to see you all again in the near future
steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We went for a Murder Mystery weekend at this hotel and had a fabulous time. The actors were brilliant and had a fab one to one with the guests. A paranormal team from Glasgow added more intrigue to the weekend and the food was terrific as were all the staff. We cannot wait to book another weekend and I have no hesitation in recommending this particular hotel to anyone, Well done Argyll Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abilu-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riodunoon, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Its great to hear when we get things right as well as when we get things wrong, Thank you for the great review, i will pass on your comments to both the walking theatre company and the glasgow paranormal team. Hope to see you again soon. Best regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

enjoyed fabulous themed weekend deal - haunted hotel theme - £99 per person for dinner, bed and breakfast on Friday and Saturday night - great value and a lovely kingsize bed as well as a single in our room - amply wardrobe and dressing room area with immaculately clean bathroom and shower. staff very friendly and we met up with a lovely bunch of 6 who were seated at our table - they welcomed us into their group and we played along with the professional actors creating the murder mystery theme. after this there were inputs from professional paranormal investigators from glasgow - interesting and fun - included trips to the cellars and a listen to their "ghostly" recordings - all light hearted but educational too about their work. food was lovely and breakfasts freshly prepared with very helpful, smiling staff. only two flaws, one was the noise as young people congregated at the side of the hotel after pubs closed to get food takeaways etc in the early hours of the morning, and the lift was out of order - one of our new group of friends is a wheelchair user and was there in the group of 6 as a birthday treat (hers) - she had to leave with her husband to stay at the nearby sister hotel so that was a shame - they are rightly looking to be compensated as it became a trip not as described, ie wheelchair friendly so we wholeheartedly support them with that and believe a large chain like great western should surely compensate the whole group of them and give another gesture of goodwill - such a cheerful, positive group who deserve the best - we were very glad to meet them and be taken into their circle - all enjoyed trying to solve the clues. will go back with friends for another themed weekend as they are great value - want to try the fawlty towers experience but it sells out fast! Professionally run hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good food and good entertainment, best wishes

Room Tip: ask for room which doesn't overlook busy side street - ask if sole lift working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOBBYSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riodunoon, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for the review, I am glad you enjoyed our haunted hotel themed weekend, the lift was indeed fixed on monday like i promised, day too late for you but was repaired as soon as we could get the part required. Hope to see you again you should try one of our Fawty tower events.
Best regards
steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing