We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Phillips from Rugby Warwickshire.”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a lovely time we had. All staff very friendly and Robert in the bar was so helpful. Food was excellent. Wednesday is Scottish night with haggis on menu. Pipers and the dancing was amazing. Our room was so clean and comfortable with sea views and the lovely weather helped. Will come again. Thank you to all for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 702 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights earlier this week. My parents had a more recently decorated bedroom on the 1st floor, but my brother and I had a cramped and in-need-of-some-TLC twin on the first floor overlooking the car park. It was ok, but that's probably all I can say about it really. The main light bulb blew one day, there were no hooks in the entire room or bathroom (we hung towels to dry over wardrobe doors), and there was no sound insulation around the bedroom door, which meant that when the coach parties were getting up and going for breakfast from 6am, we could hear every person that went past, talking, wheeling cases etc. This didn't make for a very relaxing wake up! Breakfast was fine although all waiter service, which I think is a bit odd for cereal and juice etc. The position of the hotel was good for walking along the promenade, which is probably why it was popular with coach parties! I thought it was a little bit expensive for what it was, though would have been much better value if we'd had a room with a view.

Room Tip: I would avoid the ground floor if you're able bodied and go as high up and far away as possible...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recently posted review. We at The Esplanade appreciate all comments from guests so that we can constantly improve and continue with the highest standards and level of service that we currently provide for all of our guests. Unfortunately all our rooms do not look out over the Clyde Estuary however guests can request these rooms when making thier reservation, subject to availability. If you had any concerns during your stay and they had been raised with any of the team here, we would have done our utmost to rectify any concerns that you had. If you would like to discuss this or any other matter you can contact me at garyssmith@sgehotels.com or contact reception on 01369 704070.
We all hope that you will once again come and stay with us at The Esplanade Hotel when you are next in the area for business or just a relaxing break.

Kindest regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a long weekend at the Esplanade hotel ( 5th visit ) and found it to be very relaxing. After a small ' hic-cup ' regarding our room, which was sorted by Gary, everything was fine . The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard and full marks to David the chef. All the staff were most attentive and could not do enough for you.
The position of the hotel is perfect, gardens leading onto the promenade, just so inviting to take a stroll before dinner. ( pity about the weather!! )
We will be back, hopefully when the sun is out.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jambo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just spent a delightful two weeks in May at the Esplanade Hotel in Dunoon, Argyll. An excellent location for a peaceful, relaxing holiday with no traffic passing the hotel. The sea-views are wonderful with beautiful gardens opening on to the West Bay Promenade. The waiters, room attendants and managerial staff were very friendly and most helpful. The evening entertainment was particularly enjoyable. We are planning for our next visit!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with sea views and easy access to the car-park and the Promenade are well suited...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexMcL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. All of the Team at The Esplanade were very happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay so much and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you return in August.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I visit the Esplanade at least twice a year. The food is excellent and the rooms are continually upgraded. I had a lovely modern room last time. Except for two nights there twas entertainment and if so desired you were able to dance and of course enjoy a drink or two. The situation of the Hotel is ideal. You can stroll along the Esplanade during the day or after your evening meal. It is situated within easy walking distance to the town shops. The staff are friendly and helpful, Sonia and Garry at reception helped me greatly. In the Dining Room the staff served us all with a smile. Enjoy a break at the Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARIE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband & I spent a great weekend at Dunoon. The Esplanade Hotel is in a good location within walking distance of town centre. Our room really nice, modern, bright and clean. We looked over the car park but we weren't too bothered but if you want too have a view over the clyde I suggest you request this when you book. Breakfast was okay, coach party was it was very busy.

I would recommend this hotel and will visit again. DF

Room Tip: If you want to have a view across the clyde you would have to request it, we overlooked the car park...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Esplanade Hotel Dunoon
Location is excellent overlooking the esplanade and water without having any vehicular traffic passing.This makes for a peaceful setting as well as the possibility of fairly long flat walks in either direction which I particularly appreciated as uphill can be a problem! Our room (42) was downstairs looking out over what is somewhat surprisingly the Clyde. On waterside walks there were usually eider ducks and greylag geese amongst other birds to be seen.
The hotel puts on regular evening entertainment for guests including sing along and dancing.
Our room was well equipped but very cramped but nothing compared with our dining room table (allocated for all meals full stay) We are by no means the largest of people that might require seating but it was impossible to take our seats without the cooperation of adjacent tables and physically moving the table to let each of us sit down in turn! We were irritated to be told at dinner when we saw an unoccupied window table (without this difficulty ) that we could not sit there because that was occupied by some guests who were B&B only and it was already set for breakfast. (Complete with milk in jug as it turned out!) After much debate we eventually managed to sit there when we said we could reset ourselves (not allowed!) but only on condition we did not expect to sit there at breakfast! The whole atmosphere sadly gave the impression of an old fashioned boarding house or at least boarding school where guests were expected to keep the rules to suite the staff. The evening meal was at a set time not earlier (not allowed into dinning room) and not later as everyone is served at once. This was probably quite difficult for the waiters but they coped quite well, however food tended to be rather institutionalised and possibly cooked 'in bulk' in advance.There was no breakfast buffet at all and waiters coped with complicated orders of all sections of the meal including juice etc quite well.
On arrival we went to the reception to book in from the car park and although our room was on the ground floor we had a staircase to negotiate although we discovered an entrance leading directly from the car park without needing to use the stairs but we were not encouraged to enter this way.
The hotel however seems to attract guests who have been going there for years. The present proprietor has only been there for two months and it is not clear how much of the routine has been inherited and whether he has yet had chance to put his own 'stamp' on things.

Room Tip: Room 42 was downstairs and facing the garden and water. A bit cramped but perhaps you could ask for...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review and the points highlighted in it. We always strive to maintain a high level of customer service and customer satisfaction to all of our guest and all comments are taken on board and acted upon at all times. If any of the matters raise had been brought to my attention during your stay I could have resolved them for you straight away. Having chatted with your husband when helping him charge your car during your stay, none of the issues were ever raised. I hope that you will come and visit us at The Esplanade Hotel again when you are in the area.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
986 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $81 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing