We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very good experience”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here while on a coach trip with my mum, the decor may not of been to my taste but the room was clean the staff could not of been more helpful. This was the case more so, as my mum fell and sprained her ankle. The staff provided us a meal as we missed dinner, due to being at the local hospital - they also provided ice packs as required. I would definitely return in the future.

The only thing I would say is the back entrance looks scruffy, compared to the nice hotel frontage.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 726 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from an Easter Break at the Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon - had a lovely room - obviously just been re-furbished - didn't have sea views but did have lovely view of hills - staff and management couldn't be better - could not do enough for us - would really recommend this to anyone wanting a short break (or longer) - of course the weather at Easter was fab which helped to make it but still Hotel made the break special as well.
Isobel and Peter Gibb, West Lothian

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room - I think it would be worth it - although beautiful views from balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobelgibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just spent a lovely two days in The Esplanade, albeit a last minute decision. The staff and management could not have been more hospitable or accommodating.
We booked the Clansman room, number 23 and it was delightful with gorgeous views and very peaceful. This is recently refurbished as was the en suite bathroom. We only booked bed and breakfast because we enjoy choosing where to eat in the evening.
Although this hotel caters mainly to the touring coach trip trade, it is striking a good balance with independent travellers/guests too.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AJDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Currently staying at the Esplanade Hotel Dunoon with one night left. Wish it was longer because this place is truly outstanding. The hotel is not five star but the management and staff are certainly working towards this. The hotel is lovely and clean with some areas having been obviously upgraded to a high standard. The atmosphere is really good and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful, they can't do enough for you - well done. The food at dinner last night was very good with a varied choice and plentifully helpings, no complaints from anybody in our party of eight. Similarly breakfast this morning was delicious. Our party are accommodated in four rooms of different standards. The Angus room is beautiful and a pleasure to stay in, the other rooms although not as nice are all of a good standard and very comfortable, again no complaints . Over all we have found the Esplanade Hotel to be a wonderful place to spend a relaxing weekend with good friends in excellent surroundings. Many thanks to all the staff at the esplanade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is fantastic in every way, the food was superb, the service was too, also great value for money. The location was great, we have 2 boys age 8 and 6 who both thought this was our best holiday ever. The staff did everything possible to accommodate our needs even cooking different things just for the boys. The atmosphere is lovely and very welcoming, as a family who likes fun and adventure Dunoon and the Esplanade have it all, keep doing what you are doing its great. See you again soon, the Gibsons x

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meeweegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived on Saturday afternoon, having booked a much needed, last minute, weekend break from the city. As with previous comments, the arrival at the rear of the hotel wasn't promising, but once inside, the hotel was cosy, clean, and comfortable.

Whilst not quite'gay friendly', we were checked in politely, if a little un-enthusiastically. We were given a room at the back of the hotel, which still enjoyed good views of the forested hills behind Dunoon, The room was well decorated, clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom had a good shower. The breakfast staff were friendly and the full English was good (although I can almost hear Alex Polizzi saying "Dahling, why not spend a little more money on a better quality sausage")

The reason I have given this hotel 4 stars rather than 5 is that we were hoping to enjoy a dram or 3 at the hotel bar when we returned from the town that night. The barman wasn't at ease behind the bar, and he decided he was closing at 10.00 "because it was quiet". Most unsatisfactory!!

I thought Dunoon was a nice town, even in the drizzle. The high-street has a nice selection of independent retailers, pubs, restaurants, and of course a few charity shops. It reminded me a little of Whitstable-in-the-rain, but I'm not sure Highland Mary would agree.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I can't recommend the Esplanade Hotel enough Manoj and all the staff are so friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent and the view of the Firth of Clyde are stunning. The bedroom had a nice comfy bed and very clean, no complaints at all. We will definitely be going back, thanks everyone at the Esplanade for making our stay so enjoyable Liam & Joan Gilmore

Room Tip: Sea views are nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj.cancar@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,007 reviews
0 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $80 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing