We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travelers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul R
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Comfortable cabin,everything you would need for a weeks stay even electric blankets for the cool evenings.

Around the cabin excellent walks and drives with breathtaking scenary, would not hesitate to recommend this cabin for a break.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
What a lovely review and I'm delighted you got to explore the area. Autumn is spectacular and the local walks really showcase the trees and wildlife of Argyll. Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47mrso
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spend a delightful weekend at Ruskin Lodge. Red squirrels appeared within ten minutes of our arrival! The lodge is comfy, clean and cosy - the towels are better than the ones we have at home. Wonderful walking/running straight from the front door to Puck's Glen, Benmore and Kilmun arboretum. A short drive takes you to lovely Loch Eck. We picked brambles, marvelled at the fabulous trees and wished we could have stayed longer.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm delighted you got to see some of the special local wildlife! The lodge is in a great location and it sounds like you made the most of the area - come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matalaman
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Log cabin near Benmore botanic gardens.”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Superb log cabin in a quiet location within walking distance of Benmore botanic gardens (BIG trees) and Puck's Glen, an excellent walk not to be attempted in flip-flops! Capable of sleeping six in two doubles and a twin bedroom, I think that it would be a bit tight for six (especially if all adults). One shower/ bathroom might cause a hold up as everyone performed their ablutions in the morning. It was, however, excellent for a smaller group. An outdoor picnic table is available as is a plastic dining table on the veranda. However, dining indoors for six would be a cozy affair. Electricity is not included in the initial price so budget around £6 per day. Books, games and DVD's are available but, if you want a particular film, take it with you. I intend to return in order to visit Benmore in the spring when the rhododendrons are in flower. I am 62 and fairly fit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed.
Liked least: The bathroom ... but it was fine for a smaller group.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visits to Benmore gardens and Puck's Glen in particular. I look forwards to welcoming you back in spring time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hn_C713
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday in ages”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

absolutely fantastic, beautiful lodge ,stunning location, great for touring the Cowal peninsula. need a car to get around but the driving is that beautiful you forget your driving. we travelled as far as Oban and as short as Dunoon, the whole Scotland experience was amazing. we will be definitely returning, can't thank the owners enough Fantastic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review - delighted you had a good holiday and got to explore the area so thoroughly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMullen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday we've ever had.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is perfect, with views to match. If you're looking for a place to get away from things and relax, I can't imagine you'll find somewhere better than here. The entire booking process was made easy by the owner, who was lovely, helpful, and even left us a fantastic surprise welcome basket when we arrived!

If you're looking for walks, the trail to Puck's Glen starts practically right outside the lodge and is like you've stepped momentarily into a fantasy/fairytale-esque setting. Nearby Benmore Botanical Gardens is similarly astounding, and not to be missed. We went twice just to see everything, and it was more than worth the price of admission. The cafe is nice, too!

As well as being home to what is (accurately) described in the welcome pack as the prettiest recycling spot in Scotland, nearby Dunoon also hosts a number of shops and eateries as well as more wonderful views over the water - as well as a fantastically nice and helpful local garage in Stewart's Garage, should you need it as we did.

And, of course, should you fancy a day in, the lodge is a great place to spend a cozy, peaceful day.

All in all, it was the best and prettiest holiday we've ever had - we just wished we didn't need to come home!

Carly & David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and I'm so glad your holiday at Ruskin Lodge was a memorable one - we'd be delighted to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine D
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place - magical location”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in Ruskin Lodge for 2 weeks in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is in a great setting – there are a range of lovely walks right on your doorstep and also further afield. it feels so peaceful and away from it all and yet it’s only a short drive to get supplies etc in Dunoon which is about 10 minutes away (although there is a petrol station with a well stocked shop just down the road as well). Cowal is amazing and Ruskin Lodge is a great base to explore the area.
The lodge itself was clean, comfy and well equipped – a great find and would love to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location - lodge very comfy and well equipped
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Ruskin Lodge and liked the location! Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge and I do hope we'll see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocket_pu...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxurious lodge in a magical location.”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This beautiful lodge is perfectly located at only 5/10 minute drive from Dunoon and ferry but away from the main road and in a private quiet avenue along with a few other lodges.
We arrived to the best kept lodge we have ever booked. It really is perfect. The owner has put a lot of thought and care into thinking about her guests and this is reflected in all the reviews.
We found booking very easy and when I had to contact directly I found the owners very helpful and kind.
The number 1 visited attraction in this area (Pucks Glen) is barely a minute walk from the lodge and a longer walk can take you to Benmore Gardens (2 on TripAdvisor) both strongly recommended.
We saw squirrels and pipestrelle bats in the evening along with a huge variety of birds. Superb photography.
We didn't want to leave after a weeks holiday and I'm sure we'll be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and decor
Liked least: Bit boggy at the rear
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2015
Very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and liked the location so much - we are very lucky to have so many great attractions on our doorstep! Hope we'll get to host you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing