We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful relaxing break”
other travelers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Maggie S
Staithes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing break”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just enjoyed a lovely relaxing break here with husband, grown up family and dog . The lodge is very comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated, set in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Lots of countryside walks , plenty to see and do . The owners have thought of everything to make you feel comfortable , lovely welcome pack and even provided treats for the pooch ! Pucks Glen is a truly magical place to visit , we were lucky to see the waterfalls in full force after the recent heavy rain . Hope to return here again soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you Maggie - so glad your family, including your pooch, enjoyed your stay. You are our 10th 5* star review so we're beaming with pride.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea A
1 review
“Beautiful lodge and a stunning location. A fantastic holiday :-)”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family have just spent a wonderful week at Ruskin Lodge. A beautiful, cosy and comfortable lodge with lots of extras provided. The welcome basket was such a nice surprise and the beds were just so comfy! The owners have put a lot of effort into providing a very homely lodge.

It is situated next to Puck's Glen and just down the road from Benmore Botanical Gardens, both a must see. Only a short drive into Dunoon where you'll find all the amenities you need.

We were amazed by all the wildlife. Red deer spotted through the lounge window and a young red squirrel came to visit, for nuts, most days. The variety of birds just outside were amazing. We even saw a couple of seals down at Holy Loch as we sat eating fish supper at Lazaretto Point.

The rain didn't stay away, but it made Puck's Glen even more spectacular - it was absolutely stunning! We've never seen anywhere like that before.

We'll certainly be recommending this place to all our friends and family. Thank you xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the lodge, all the extras provided and the location.
Liked least: The rain ;-)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2014
Delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at Ruskin Lodge. Glad the local wildlife came and said hello and you got to explore Pucks Glen in full flow! You are all welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful holiday in a stunning location staying in a beautiul lodge”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a week in Ruskin Lodge in July. Surrounded by forest, we saw from our windows red squirrels, deer ,dragonflies and bats to name just a few. Photos don't do this beautiful lodge justice. High ceilings give this lodge a very spacious feel. Fully equipped, with lovely extra touches. I will definitely be recommending Ruskin Lodge to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you so much! It really is lovely for us as owners to hear that you enjoyed staying at the lodge as much we have. The wildlife is pretty special and I'm glad you got to see it up close!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review - delighted you all enjoyed your holiday and I am so relieved we were able to find and return your daughter's 'friend'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h0ward78
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cabin”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked this gorgeous log for my family of 4 boys and golden retriever. The cabin is absolutely stunning, you couldn't ask for more. The beds are amazing. All you could ever ask for and more, the owner really does go the extra mile. All my boys ranging from 3-15 said mum done well, they loved it and we actually ended up staying longer. Cant wait to go back, highly recommend x x x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Just wanted to say thank you for your review! So glad your boys all enjoyed the holiday and you got their 'thumbs up' - you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah O
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge and location”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Ruskin Lodge for a long weekend - two couples, one baby and one dog. Finding places that accept dogs and are near walking trails etc are hard to find - but Ruskin Lodge was perfect. The Lodge itself is well maintained and comes with all the mod cons, and the welcome basket left by the owner was a really nice touch. The bedrooms are generous and comfortable and we couldn't have asked for more. There is a shop nearby and lots of outdoor activities, walks etc, but we didn't end up venturing far as it was too nice sitting on the wee deck enjoying the surroundings and sun! We will definitely book there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio/deck area
Liked least: Nothing - everything was great
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at the lodge. We try to make it as family and pet friendly as possible so hearing that you had a good time is just brilliant!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLANDSC...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home relaxing retreat.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Went here for a couple of days and loved it that much came back next weekend! Abigail has done a wonderful job and this accommodation has everything you need and more. The lodge is so so cosy and in a fantastic location for everything whether it be walking or a visit to the nearby town centre. The slightest detail has been thought of even electronic blankets for chilly nights. Can't wait to come back to enjoy again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review our lodge - it means so much to hear that guests have had a good holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing