We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal & friendly place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangladesh Tandoori

Bangladesh Tandoori
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Staying with family un Dunoon & decided to try the Indian restaurant. Didn't have to wait for a table even though it was a Friday night & quite busy as a large party had booked. There was only 4 of us. Seated & offered drinks quickly. Also offered poppadoms & spicy dips but we declined, can never eat main meal if having appetisers. We didnt order any kind of starters either. Ordered lamb tikka masala, chicken tikka masala, chicken madras & chicken rogan josh all with rice & 2 nan breads. Food arrived quickly, was lovely & hot. I had the rogan josh & it was delicious, the chicken just fell apart. The nan bread was excellent, really light & fluffy. We also had 2 bottles of wine & 2 pints and bill came to around £20 per person. A wee hot wipe for each was provided & a mint with the bill. Been a long time since i visited an Indian Restaurant but would definately go back to this one. Was lovely food & nice place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    47
    16
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent. Exceeded my expectations. Can't wait to order again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I come to Dunoon every so often to stay in the family caravan at Hunter's Quay. I had been advised that the Bangladesh Tandoori deliver right to your caravan door which sounded like a brilliant service. I popped into the restaurant on a Saturday at the end of September during the day for a menu and was really impressed by the friendly and professional welcome I received. (I also really liked the look of the restaurant's interior- very smart, up to date and comfortable looking) That evening I phoned in my order and was absolutely delighted with the quality of the food I received. It was by far and away the best Indian meal I've eaten for years. I ordered vegetable pakora, lamb Kathmandu, boiled rice and garlic naan, and they provided a poppadom and sauces with my order, and right to the caravan door by a lovely delivery man. Can't wait for my next visit to Dunoon and I will definitely be either in the restaurant or ordering from the caravan. Looking forward to trying out different dishes on the menu. Well done, Bangladesh Tandoori!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSummers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely service, very mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I haven't eaten here since it was The Point (and excellent)! But had heard good things. Tried a take-away a few nights ago. Very disappointed. Though I have to say the man who took my order and also then gave my food was absolutely lovely, really polite and so helpful. But the food was not good. Maybe I've been spoilt by the delights of the big and great Glasgow 'curry houses'? But all of the dishes we ordered from the Bangladesh looked so similar. And tasted similar too. The overwhelming spice was chilli. The chicken pakoras were my particular disaster - they were small strips of deep fried, flavourless chicken that could have come from a KFC on a bad night - just plain batter, no gram flour in sight.

Really a bit disappointed - if the food can be brought up to the standard of the staff and the great interior then I'll be happy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Utterly Superb Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was my absolute pleasure to have a home delivery meal from the Bangladesh Tandoori tonight. For the first time in my life I phoned the restaurant afterwards to personally thank the chef for this meal. I ordered a King Prawn Puri and a chicken Biryani and 2 chapatis. As a complete indian food lover, this meal stands head and shoulders above any that I have had in this country. I can honestly recommend that you try this restaurant and enjoy the same high standard of cooking and obvious skill and attention that is put into their cooking. My thanks, Rab @ Hunters Quay

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IcYes I would def go back there for a meal . Staff are very polite and friendly atmospher thanks again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Went on sat night had a fantastic meal staff are 100% on the ball the Restraunt was well presented and clean and tidy. I will recommend to my friends as the menu was well presented and explained . See you soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bi6kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangladesh Tandoori also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to Bangladesh Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing