We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Escape”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Benmore Byre

Beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful mountain views
Living area Modern kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beautiful mountain views
Living area
Modern kitchen
Open dining room
Luxury family room
Luxury double bedroom
Relax on your own deck with wiine and cheese
Luxury modern bathroom
Stunning views from the deck
Dunoon village nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
487natash...
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Escape ”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Wonderful stay at Benmore Byre. The cottage itself is exceptional! All the charm of a building with history combined with modern convenience - particularly appreciative of the heated floor in the bathroom and the excellent showers! The views are indescribable and I don’t think I’ve ever breathed fresher air or slept more soundly! Hosts were also great, true scottish hospitality! If you need an escape to recharge your batteries and sooth your soul, look no further! We enjoyed beautiful sunny weather, saw lambs bounding in the surrounding fields, wandered around the botanic gardens near by and loved every minute. Easy to find and only an hour and a half from Glasgow (ferry and driving route almost equidistant). Dunoon is only 10 mins by car too, great if you fancy a night out snuck in amidst your retreat to nature. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Weekend stay with the family byre cottage was beautiful decorated very cosy has everything you could possibly need the beds were so comfortable we all slept like babies so peaceful owners Neil and kayren very warm and welcoming can’t wait to stay here again highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack M
1 review
“Great weekend”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a great weekend in the cottage! Located around 10 minutes from the centre of Dunoon it was a quiet area, but handy enough if we needed to jump out for anything. Cottage was exactly how we expected and was perfect for what we were looking for. Will recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
"Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owners. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigMart90...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent agin”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Having stopped in both properties the Byre is bigger but is finished to the same excellent standard with a great attention to detail.
Six of us had both the Byre and Stables for a five day "Waking" break it was ideal.
We saw a red deer hind and a calf from the Kitchen window and numerous red squirrels.
Well done Kayren, keep up standard up. We have already booked in for next November

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2017
""Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owners. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays."""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulmacca...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect accommodation with great views from the Kitchen/diner”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

This place is stunning and we would highly recommend to anyone who really wants to escape the rat race. Surrounded by forest, hills, streams and lochs, you really do feel Scotland. When we first travelled here we planned lots of days out, but actually we now realise we have all we need on our door steps. Dunoon is just a short car journey away and there're lots of walks nearby to choose from, including the gorgeous Pucks Glen. Benmore Botanic Gardens are literally a 2 minute walk away and in fact you can even see the famous avenue of Redwoods from the Kitchen area. The property is great with all you need and your hosts are lovely and although this is a working farm, you rarely hear a peep out of anyone or anything apart from the occasional swallow chirping by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Midges
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJMckay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easter escape”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A big Thank you to the owners of Benmore Byre - Kayren & Neil for making our short break to their beautiful barn conversion so enjoyable!

We travelled to Scotland for a family escape over the Easter holiday's. Upon arrival at the barn after a very long journey we were greeted by Kayren who welcomed us & upgraded our stay to the larger barn, this was a very kind gesture & a lovely surprise!

Kayren briefly explained where things were located & how to operate the heating etc, all of which is detailed in a welcome pack upon arrival.

The facilities @ the Benmore Byre are fantastic, lots of space & home comforts! Neil has done an amazing job with the conversion of the barn whilst still keeping its original authentic feel. All areas are extremely clean & maintained to a very high standard, there's lots of fresh towels & clean linen!

The property is located amongst Kayren & Neil's working farm, so you instantly feel part of their spectacular countryside, surrounded by dramatic scenery. The location is easily accessible to many beautiful places whether exploring on foot or travelling further afield! There is a lovely decking area at the front of the barn where you can sit in the peace & tranquility observing all the seasons in one day pass by! The night sky is so clear, great for star gazing!

Kayren kindly delivered fresh farm eggs, which were delicious & enjoyed by all, again a lovely touch! The farm is very relaxed, suitable for all ages & we highly recommend it to everyone!

Congratulations Kayren & Neil upon your achievements to date & wishing you continued success! We're already looking forward to our next visit ......... Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange4810
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely hidden retreat - 5*”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Excellent little holiday home with all the comforts you would expect, tastefully decorated in excellent high quality fittings in the most amazing location with great views, wildlife, farm animals right on your doorstep - lovely part of the world lots to do hope to be back one day - highly recommend 5*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: No scissors lol and the dressing table had a chair that you couldn't see in the mirror due to being too small
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing