We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bombay Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

The Bombay Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thsi has to be one of the best asian meals I have had.
The food the service was very good, I have eaten here a few times over thirty years and it just gets better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteRRHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    28
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Indian restaurant-would return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went here for the buffet this evening.there wasn't much choice for the buffet but what was served was lovely.the restaurant was very busy but didn't effect the service,which from the manager was excellent. The other customers however ruined it for us.a very large group was in and were very noisy.which is fair enough, but it was the group next to us that was the problem.shouting, swearing, and drumming there hands on the table for 20 minutes solid.was very annoying!i do think the manager should have said something.apart from this,we enjoyed it.not the best Indian weve had,but certainly not the worst!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xxrachaelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Haywood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced Mediocrity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Perhaps our expectations had been set too high? A combination of a local recommendation and the fact that we are blessed to know the best Chef Bangladesh has ever produced, who often spoils us with the highest quality dishes. Full of expectation we arrived at Bombay Restaurant. We were met by people who were pleasant and doing their very best to be helpful but who seemed to have received no training and knew little of the food they were serving. Our request for naga pickle was met by blank faces and we went without.

One very irritating factor was being asked if we had finished when we were all clearly still eating, the plates being removed when we were still taking food from them. Obviously our main courses were ready whether we wanted them or not. I must admit that our favourite restaurant has been accused of being slow at times, but at least when you get their food it's worth the wait.

For the starter, brave step for the restaurant and one to be sampled, but the fusion of Scottish and Indian cuisines will be avoided in future. In fairness quite nicely presented, but the Haggis Bhaji as a starter was neither Scottish or Indian, the two sets of flavours just not complementing each other.

Moving on to the mains, in fairness our friend enjoyed the Himalayan Chicken, a signature dish that he was impressed by. Unfortunately the other two dishes didn't make the same standard. the Prawn Saag included quite flavourless prawns and, aside from the rather off-putting green colour, showed little evidence of containing any spinach. The dish my wife chose was completely spoiled by the overpowering presence of uncooked chilli powder. It wasn't the heat of this that was the problem, Madras is her dish of choice, but the powdery texture and its flavour that hadn't been cooked in, detracted from all of the other flavours. This was a shame, because if you could get beyond chilli powder, the dish did contain fresh garlic and fresh chilli but these more subtle flavours were completely overwhelmed.

The sundries were all very mediocre and, frankly, seemed to have come from a packet. The Co-op Healthy Choice Naan from the night before was a class above the restaurants offering (do not think I am rating the Co-op Naan highly in saying that).

The drinks were extortionately priced - the price of a draft pint for a small bottle of Cobra andthe menu doesn't make clear it's just a 330ml serving you'll receive.

It was to our great surpise then that the bill totalled just short of £60 for three people. We could have eaten and drunk to a much better standard for 75% of that or less at our usual restaurant. If any of you people who think this is a great place to eat are ever in Staffordshire, take a trip to Shimla Palace to sample real quality www.shimlapalace.com. Alternatively and closer to home, Mother India in Glasgow.

For futre trips to the area we will live wthout Indian food, or if the craving is too great, we can always cook ourselves. My wife's Aloo Keema the night before was way better than this - if she can learn to cook a Naan Bread that would be it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 813771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“do not believe the reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

i read teh reviews on this place and must say if this is the best Dunoon has to offer then i do feel sorry for the residents. I have marked it as average but am being kind.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

What can I say been dining here for 30 plus years years, still the best Indian in SCOTLAND and I have eaten everywhere. Staff make you feel at home nothing is a problem for them, only critacism is the decor but then they can't decorate till they know if the building is being demolished by A&B Council. Still my fav but prices getting expensive and portions getting smaller, fry onion rings longer till more crispy, pakora and chips also.. and naan bread has shrunk...but excellent food xxx

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bombay Indian Restaurant also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing