We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tribute weekend stay at Royal Marine”
Review of Royal Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Marine
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed April 12, 2012

5 of us ladies had a wonderful weekend from 23rd March to 25th March the entertainment both evenings was great, we danced both nights. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the views are stunning.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleanor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 301 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a 2 night easter break at the Royal Marine Hotel and really enjoyed it. We were in the Arran room and had a great view of the river and surrounding scenery. The entertainment on Saturday evening with the Elton John tribute was very good. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast and four course meal in the evening was excellent and so were the staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a room with a view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annanites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights over a weekend in March 2012. The room was clean and with a lovely sea view. Without exception, the staff in the hotel and in the Ghillies bar were pleasant and helpful. The food and service were terrific. There are plenty of places of interest to visit near by, and the scenery is stunning. No hesitation in recommending this hotel; will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here during February half-term 2012 with our young children and had a fantastic stay. The room and view were stunning with an excellent sea view. Each morning a hearty breakfast with a wide choice set the day up nicely. There are a vast amount of excellent children friendly places to visit nearby and each day was packed with fun. The food in Ghillies Bar within the hotel is superb and the children were well catered for and entertained with colouring etc., the perfect end to each busy day. All the staff and management were so helpful and always had a smile on their face. A definite sense that no request was too much. The children loved the hotel and cant wait to visit again. In summary, you wont be disappointed staying at the Royal Marine - a great holiday and break for the kids and parents.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just for one night but wished we had booked longer. Our room was very comfortable, clean and lots of space. The breakfast was excellent with great views of the sea front.
For your evening meal you can dine in the hotel dining room or eat in Ghillies bar which is part of the hotel. We ate in Ghillies and the food was excellent.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The entertainment and atmosphere in the hotel lounge was brilliant.
Please be aware if you are a wheelchair user the hotel has steps at the entrance, and stairs but no lift to the bedrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 29-1-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed February for cabaret weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Although the weather wasn't good, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We had a sea view room which was very comfortable and had dinner on two nights, the food was first class with an excellent choice served quickly and pleasantly. Breakfast set you up for the day with a wide choice of cereals and a large well cooked breakfast. The evening entertainment was excellent on the Friday and Saturday evenings - a thoroughly enjoyable break, good value.

Room Tip: Sea View room was excellent and worth booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimandMary57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

stayed for two nights for my sister and husbands 50th wedding anniversary.were in the skye room with a sea view which was very comfortable and clean.food was good with lots of choices.staff were very attentive and we were offered assistance with our luggage from the receptionist who gave us a warm welcome.would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimgrout1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.1 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
18.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine

Address: Hunters Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $59 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Hotel Dunoon
Royal Marine Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing