We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night away”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect night away”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

1 night stay. Lovely lovely relaxing stay. Stunning room, with gorgeous view. All the staff were Helpful and friendly. Delicious food. Perfect for a relaxing night away. Place was spotless. Could not fault it in anyway.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get an upgrade. Sea view was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDuffGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
255
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

After a long days work, arrived to a relaxing reception and was shown the hotel amenities and room by Colin .. very nice, clean and well kept (amenities and rooms)
Colin and Christine were very hospitable and attentive during my short stay ..
Meal was delicious and washed down with a wee gin ... lovely ...
Thanks again Colin and Christine for you hospitality .. :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMTravellerAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just back from spending two nights at the abbots brae hotel. Had a fantastic time. Colin and Christine made us so welcome. Food was amazing with a great selection to choose from. Can't wait to return for our wedding on 2nd August this year. Would highly recommend to all. Thanks again xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff nothing was too much trouble, as I started early for work I needed to get my breakfast slightly earlier which was no problem. Food was great, breakfast was varied and speedy, which was great for me as I wanted to get going for the day. Dinner was also great with a good selection of food for everyone. Room was brilliant. Bed was comfy, bedding was all clean, room was warm, windows well all in good knick and able the withstand the battering wind, and it was nice and quiet. Although it was dark when I left in the morning and dark when I came in I could tell that it would be a nice view from the hotel. Much better than most hotels I've had to stay in for work. I would recommend this hotel to business people or for holiday makers. Location was close to town and you could easily walk there. Although weathers not great in January in dunoon so I drove a lot. Hotel staff were happy to show you directions and they were very knowledgable about the surroundings. I am sure they would have good information on all that is going on in the area or would be happy to share good walks ect in the surrounding areas. it was handy to have the boat time tables up on the wall. Very nice selection of toiletries in bathroom. Bathroom was well equipped, shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. I am sure anybody wishing for a happy, comfy stay in Dunoon with great food would love to stay here. I know my line manager, who also stayed in this hotel, had a great stay too. She was very enthusiastic about the hotel, the staff and the food. Would be happy if I got put up here again. Do not really know what else to say and the review has to be 200 characters

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynNL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have now stayed here a few times as part of our small group tours of Scotland and love the place. As you drive up to the house, you have the feeling of something special and then you get the view! Spectacular! Colin greeting us and got us settled into the lounge and then we met Christine. It was obvious that they both very much like what they do. The house is warm and inviting and nothing seemed too much trouble. We dined with them that night and that is where Colin truly shines! Each time we have been here someone has commented that it was the best meal of the tour! I cannot recommend them more highly. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just spent our second Hogmany at Abbots Brae Hotel and have also booked for this year coming.What a wonderful stay we would highly recommend it to anyone you will not be disappointed.Colin and Christine are perfect hosts they make everyone welcome.The Hotel is spotless the food is the absolute best. What a team Colin and Christine are they both work so hard to make your stay perfect.We met some lovely people there each with a story to tell.
Thanks very much to you both looking forward to our return

Room Tip: A room facing the garden to watch the squirrels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here over the new year period,,, This hotel is fantastic and should rated 5 star,, Colin and Christine and all the staff are 1st class hosts,, The hotel and all the rooms are kept immaculate,,I do not have words to decribe the food,,Colin should be a mitcholen chef,, Christine is fantastic for local knowledge and her peoples skills are out- standing,, The one thing that stands out for me and my wife was the way Christine introduced all the guests to each other,a very personell touch from her,,, You felt like one of the family,,
We would reccomend this hotel to any one,,,

Room Tip: Book the Benmore for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanoFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
949 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing