We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly country house hotel with good dining.”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fancy waking up to red squirrels and deer outside the window? With a beautiful view out over the Firth of Clyde (you might even get to see a huge nuclear submarine going out to sea past your window). Colin and Christine Macpherson run an excellent small country house hotel which is only a few minutes drive outside Dunoon. Turn up a steep and narrow drive off the coast road just south of the town, and ascend through their gardens. The rooms are well-appointed, the welcome is warm, and the breakfasts are heart-stoppingly excellent. They also offer a good dinner, and a small bar with a nice lounge.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your recommendation to our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfasts and dinners. As you say it is a lovely spot with much to see in the grounds and out on the water. You managed to tick quite a few off on the list! Well done!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 453 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice hotel, lovely room and really friendly service. Fantastic sea view from many of the rooms. We also had a delicious three course meal and a lovely breakfast. The owners and staff were extremely helpful and eager to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmancoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words especially about our friendly service. All of our team pride ourselves on our service. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our children sent us here for a birthday treat. We stayed for 2 nights and felt at home as soon as we arrived.The front facing room (the honeymoon suite) could not b e faulted in any way. We had a wonderful view of the local wildlife, including red squirrels ,lots of birds including a pair of jays The hosts, Colin and Christine were very welcoming and provided a fantastic dinner on our wedding anniversary. We plan to return next year We treasure the little bear.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your special celebration in our honeymoon suite. What a nice way to celebrate your wedding anniversary. How nice that our little Abbots Brae Bear now has a happy home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Abbot's Brae Hotel for the weekend for my birthday on 20th September. This is a lovely, small family run hotel which offers a real personal touch. The owners Colin and Christine are very attentive to their guests needs and their hosting style promotes a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. They went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble. There is free wi-fi available throughout the hotel - always a bonus. The rooms are spotless and well decorated. For the second night of our stay we had the 'bridal suite' (Lamont). This is a huge, luxurious room with a four poster bed, large bathroom and a fabulous sea view. If you're looking for a romantic break, this would be hard to beat. The hotel garden and grounds are stunning with lots of wildlife including birds, red squirrels etc. Colin does all the cooking and I have to say that he does an excellent job. The food is good quality and well presented, it's definitely well worth staying in the hotel for dinner. Breakfast was equally tasty, with a good selection and all freshly made. All in all, we couldn't fault this hotel, which is very well run by Colin, Christine and a small group of staff, who are friendly and efficient. Their four stars are well deserved.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your personal commendation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay including our enchanting wildlife. Thank you for mentioning our personal touches and friendly service. We are fortunate in having a great team who delight in enhancing a guest's stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This 5 day break was booked as a result of an excellent stay in 2012. The warmth of our welcome and the quality of the accommodation was equal to our previous experience. Christine and Colin are excellent hosts and all our needs were met. The menus have something for all tastes and the quality of the food is superb. Thanks for another wonderful stay and I'm sure we'll be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

It was a delight to welcome you again to the hotel. It is so nice when guests return again as friends. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a wonderful one night with dinner, bed and breakfast. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were shown to a room with a wonderful view out to sea(Benmore). The food was fantastic with a great choice for both dinner and breakfast. With the hotel being away from the main road, it is quiet especially at night. we woke to find two small deer wandering around the garden! Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The 'Benmore' is on the second floor which is well appointed with a fantastic view out to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LothianPinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Dinner, Bed and Breakfast stay. It is lovely that you enjoyed being in the Benmore room with its amazing views and to be rewarded with seeing the deer strolling through the garden. How lovely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we were only there for one night as we were travelling onwards we enjoyed our stay at Abbots Brae very much. The personal touch from Christine and Colin was a welcome relief from chain B&B's.
If you are lucky enough to get the table by the window at breakfast the view is amazing. The breakfast was very good and if you like fish the kippers are delicious. Thank you very much Tony and Rebecca.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyColeman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Whether you stay for one night or a week you are always welcome here. We try to give our guests a special experience. Thank you for your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: $126 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing