We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this super Hotel with fantastic hospitality from Colin and Christine. We upgraded our Groupon voucher and what a wise decision that was. Our second floor room looked out to the Clyde and the views were stunning. The room was large with good bathroom facilities, comfortable sofas to relax and enjoy the scenery. we ate in both nights and the food was delicious. The only problem was deciding what to have from a very well planned menu. Breakfast were again well planned and the smoked haddock with poached egg was a treat! Watching the red squirrels having their breakfast too was an added bonus.
This Hotel should be on everyone's list of places to stay but if too many people book then we wont be able to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback! Pleased you enjoyed the views the wildlife and the food! We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
252
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the Abbots Brae Hotel during our recent tour of Scotland. This is a lovely old manor house on a hill overlooking the sea just outside of the town of Dunoon. The grounds are beautiful with giant 150+ year old Sequoia trees in the garden. The Ardentinny room had wonderful water views, comfortable bed, elegant linens and a large bathroom with bathtub. Christine and Colin were warm and helpful hosts. We ate dinner there both nights. The meals were prepared with fresh local ingredients and for the price were well above anything else we had experienced in Scotland. The highlight was the Loch Fyne salmon. Breakfasts were also outstanding, with a wide choice including kippers, smoked haddock, and a variant of a Scottish brose (porridge) spiked with whisky. This guest house was the most expensive of all the bed and breakfasts that we visited in Scotland, but in my opinion was worth every extra penny.

Room Tip: The Ardentinny room has excellent views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are delighted that you stayed here on your recent trip from New York. We are very glad that you liked the Ardentinny room and its wonderful views over the Clyde. It is very rewarding to know you think your stay was worth every penny you spent. Thank you very much for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a lovely night at Abbots Brae. Our room was large, beautifully furnished and overlooked the water. We ate dinner there and enjoyed the food very much. However the best part of our visit was the hospitality shown us by Colin and Christine who did all they could to make our brief stay memorable. I would highly recommend this small hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
What more could we wish for than guests enjoying our rooms, food and hospitality? if that is what we achieve then we have done our job well and we are delighted. In turn we get to meet very nice people like yourselves. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived to a very warm welcome from Colin and Christine which lasted throughout all of our stay.
Excellent room with good facilities.
The views from the house are great (even if it is raining!). The driveway may prove challenging if you are planning to walk into town, just be ready for it on the way back!
An excellent base to tour from, with the confidence that the homecoming will always be welcome!

Room Tip: Any! All are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our hospitality so thank you for your endorsement. We hope you enjoyed your trip on the Majestic Line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Abbots Brae is quite simply the best hotel in Dunoon! Myself, my Husband, Sister, Brother in Law and Mum all stayed here the weekend of the 10th May. From the start to the very end of our stay, nothing was too much trouble for Christine and Colin.

Our room was beautiful with a stunning sea view, the bathroom huge and with no shortage of toiletries and towels. We took great pleasure watching the red squirrels from our room and I was lucky enough to see the deer too!

We ate in the hotel both nights and the food is just superb. Locally sourced, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Christine makes the desserts herself and believe me, they are to die for! I have no idea why previous comments talk about the price. If you want to eat cheaply then go to the locally chippy. If however you want beautiful food reasonably priced then eat at the hotel.

The lounge is welcoming with comfy chairs and far from dated as someone mentioned. The house is Victorian and the lounge is in keeping with this. We sat in there both nights with the other guests putting the world to rights and having a laugh!

Having said all that, it is Christine and Colin that make the Abbots Brae special. They go above and beyond for their guests and are quite simply, a lovely, lovely couple. They even brought their dog to see me as I was missing mine! Go and stay there. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Podret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
It was really nice to have your lovely family to stay and we really enjoyed our company. Thankyou for the kind comments you made. We are very lucky to have red squirrels and roe deer in our gardens and we are thrilled that you all got to see them too. We hope you all come again next year for the annual reunion - it would be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Abbot's Brae and would visit again, or just dine at the restaurant, if in that area again. The hearty breakfast filled us up for the day and the three course evening meal (menu changed daily) was much more sophisticated than we had been expecting. Christine and Colin extended their welcome to our dog, and Phoebe greatly enjoyed exploring the garden and 'Morag's Fairy Glen', a very scenic public footpath which backs on to the extensive grounds. We were able to watch red squirrels and an assortment of birds both from the dining room and from our window.

Room Tip: garden rooms are smaller, snug and great value; sea view rooms still worth the upgrade in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad Phoebe enjoyed her visit too. Our garden and surrounding area provide lovely walks for dogs. We would be delighted to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Since we last visited this hotel, it has changed hands and some alterations have been done. It is now rated 4-Star Small Hotel by VisitScotland and reflects the general high standard expected of hotels at this level. The current owners, Colin and Christine are delightful hosts. We were met by Colin who just "materialised" as soon as we got out of the car! Our room (first floor sea-view) was splendid with a comfy sofa in the bay window from which to sit and watch the shipping on the Clyde - well worth paying the little extra to get this.
Dinner is of a high calibre here. This is no ordinary 'run-of-the-mill' restaurant. There is ample evidence of real flair and imagination in the kitchen. We believe Colin is Head Chef also and is to be commended for the quality of everything he puts out. We had wonderful meals both nights of our stay, with different choices on the menu each night. Some reviewers have commented on price (in a negative sense) of meals here. We disagree. For what is provided, it's a fair (not cheap) price. It is not fast food, but proper restaurant cuisine. Try getting anything this good for less in a major city or town!
It is good to see that Abbot's Brae is going from strength to strength under its current owners. They really are amongst the best we've ever encountered - couldn't have done any more to ensure we had a relaxing, enjoyable time.
Would we go back? In a flash! Now........where's that diary????

Room Tip: Go for the Sea-View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
It was very nice to have you to stay. Thank you for the comments you made. It's interesting to have guests to stay who came a few years ago before we took over and to hear your views. We're very glad that you enjoyed dining in the hotel. Yes our sea view rooms do give a wonderful view of the River Clyde and all of the interesting things that pass by on the river. We are pleased you would like to come back soon and we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing