We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abbots Brae Hotel Dunoon”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Abbots Brae Hotel Dunoon”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great food,good company and our Dog had a doggie delicious welcome. Unlike most hotels, there was no charge for the dog and he was given blankets and a bowl.This is the only place to stay if you are visiting Dunoon.The room was very comfortable and there were extensive toiletries and diverse tea and coffee selections.Christine and Colin run their establishment the way they would like to be treated .Lounge bar was relaxing ,they gave helpful and informative suggestions for walking and touring. All of which was spot on. A comfortable oasis in Dunoon. Unfortunately, I must cook tonight.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms and Bread and Butter pudding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionagardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you Fiona for the very kind things you have said. It is rewarding to know you all had a good time, including Jack, the dog, of course!
We look forward to welcoming you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
255
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at abbots brae dunoon on an it's-on deal 20th march for two nights bed and breakfast and was greeted from Colin who then shown us our room which was very clean and welcoming. Room had tea facilities,and plenty of towels and accompliments. Bed was well comfy. Had the full Scottish breakfast each morning which was excellent,had chosen to dine out each evening just found the menu to be as a set three course meal which never suited, but im sure if asked colin or christine for something simpler it wouldnt have been a problem. Found the main lounge to be rather tired looking and more suited to the very mature person.(my opinion) Would I stay here again most definitely. Thanks Colin and Christine x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocket01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments. It was very nice to welcome you to our hotel and we hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Abbots Brae and Christine & Colin are wonderful hosts. The hotel itself is lovely and comfortable and the food is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IFSA-Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
How lovely that you found our hotel lovely and comfortable. That is very nice to know. Thank you for saying you would recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stay was in July 2012 and just getting around to documenting the stay. Group of 6 Americans, three rooms, age range of one 18 yr old teen, an early 30s couple, a 50 yr old, and an eldery 70s couple. Family trip and I used to live in Dunoon when parents were stationed at Holy Loch.

Let's not mince words here: this is the place to stay in Dunoon.

From the service to the meals, to the creek/falls walk next door. Perfect hosts. There was so much riding on this trip because it is probably the last time my grandparents will be able to travel with us and it was pretty much planned as the "big trip" of our remaing time together. Christine and Colin hit a home run and made the trip very enjoyable. I can only hope to return someday when we visit Europe again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice. We opted to take the smaller/back-facing room to let the grandparents hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revaesisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks for your great feedback. It was so nice to welcome your group to our hotel on a very important trip. It is heart warming to know we were a part of your whole experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Working for Scottish and southern energy I travel all over Scotland staying in hotels and b&b's, and I must say that Abbot's brae is one of the best I have stayed in. Colin and Christine made me and my team very welcome, and there home cooked food was great. All in all I would come back in my spare time with my wife. *****

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
What a great compliment to come to stay on business and then say you will return in your free time with your wife. That is very nice to know and we look forward to welcoming you both in the future. Thanks for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We felt totally pampered from the moment we arrived. The room was lovely, beautifully furnished and decorated ,warm and inviting with a beautiful view. Christine and Colin were the perfect hosts throughout our stay from serving delicious evening meals and breakfasts, to offering information on places to visit in the local area. The Abbot's Brae is ideally situated for exploring some of the stunning countryside that this part of Scotland is famous for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so pleased that you felt totally pampered. Thank you for all the kind things you said about the hotel. And you are so right this is an ideal place for exploring the stunning countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We wanted a quiet relaxing weekend away and thats just what we had. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived.Christine was a very attentive hostess and Colins meals were excellent. Our room was warm and inviting and while the weather was not ideal, we were happy to spend the morning reading and enjoying the wonderful view from our room. Dogs are allowed in the sitting room so its excellent for dog owners.

Room Tip: Top floor front room had a fantastic view across the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad you enjoyed a quiet relaxing weekend here.
Yes we are happy to welcome dogs into our residents lounge providing other guests are comfortable with that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing