We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lovely hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 nights stay with our dog, had a relaxing pampered time. The room we stayed in had a sea view and was gorgeous, even had a blanket bowl and towel for the dog! Out dog was made to feel more than welcome and Cristine went out of her way to make us not feel awkward or a bother because we had him. Dunoon is picturesque although a little quiet, and having a dog makes it more difucult to find places that accommodate. All in all we would definatly recommend this hotel (with or without your dog) thanks Cristine Colin and staff, we will return ( but without harvey) !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
251
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Booragoon, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

After an exceedingly wet day when it rained continuously, we arrived in Dunoon and booked into Abbot's Brae. A winding road to the hotel entrance, but wonderful reception and a great room overlooking the water. Plenty of advice as to where to eat in town - we wanted an early snack - but the Hotel actually served evening meals as well. The breakfast was great; I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon while my husband had kippers. Recommended to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just returned from my second stay at this excellent hotel. The location is second to none with the beautiful views across the Clyde. Christine and Colin are wonderful hosts who will give you a warm and friendly welcome. The breakfast is great with the best poached eggs (cooked by Colin) on the planet. Evening meals are delicious and beautifully presented with frequent menu changes. I stayed in the Colintraive room. Huge bed and very nicely appointed. Will definitely be going back for the Cowal Games 2013.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. It's just your personal choice. The Lamont room is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay - a birthday treat for Chris. We had a great time and Christine. Colin and staff made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Colintraive room which had a king size bed and ensuite shower room,lovely fluffy towels and Melton Brown toiletries. Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits on the hospitality tray. We dined in the hotel on our first evening - food superb, Sat at the table at the bay window overlooking the water towards Cloch lighthouse. Weather was also kind. We will be back and hope to stay in the Lamont Room - which has four poster bed and has been recently refurbished. The hotel photos does not do this room proud. One of those little gems you come across now and again. All in all a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklyeyes90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spacious room and large en suite with great views of the Firth of Clyde. In a nice secluded spot. Staff accommodating and friendly Good location for travelling and exploring Argyll and just a short walk to Dunoon centre

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamtonshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for four nights after going to a wedding in Lockerbie, It was an excellent choice and we were made to feel very welcome.The bedroom we had overlooked the sea and was very spacious, food was very good and the service very personable. Christine made our wedding anniversay very special which was appreciated, would definately stay again.

Christine and Peter E

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbroath
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We visited Aboot's Brae, for the first time, on returning from a motorcycle trip in Northern Ireland. Christine & Colin are extremely welcoming and friendly. The service was, at all times, quick efficient and personable.

The house is lovely, we had a room at the top, front with a fabulous view (see photo). Room was very large (handy with all the bike gear) and clean. Lovely big bed with a sofa and chair in the bay window to relax in soak up the view. The mature gardens are also nice and one of the squirrels made an appearance at breakfast!

We opted for dinner, bed & breakfast during our stay and were very happy with the choice, quality and quantity at dinner. 3 courses of this quality are an extemely rare find at £28.50 a head. There's a decent selection of wines with quite a few available by the glass which is great when you want a different wine with each course without ending up on your back after 3 bottles of wine.
Breakfast also didn't disappoint with a good old Scottish fry up and the usual selection of cereals juice etc.

I heartily recommend staying at Abbots Brae, the stay was extremely pleasant and probably one of the best value for money hotels I've ever stayed at. Next time we're in the Dunoon area Abbots Brae will be our first choice!

Room Tip: Stunning views best from the front rooms on top floor (worth clmbing the stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arbroath_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see, Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing