We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Happy Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Dogs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very Happy Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We (5 of us) spent Christmas at the Abbot;s Brae and we had a wonderful time so much so we intend to go back this year. The food was lovely and plentiful. The other guests who stayed over Christmas were very friendly which made it all seem like a house party among old friends. The location is breathtaking. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Thank you Colin and Christine for the warm welcome and we will see you (hopefully) at Christmas.

Julie and Jim Tonna

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — I have nothing negative to say about the hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonnaIsleofDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
251
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

First impressions were good; lovely room with nice furnishings, toiletries etc. Canapes before dinner very nice. Very small lounge which is not big enough for the number of rooms. Dinner good on first couple of nights. Heating turned off during the day - hotel freezing! Hogmany package was full of promise, but VERY disappointing. First buffet meal was of cafe quality and not enough to eat. A visit to the kitchen to ask for more was met with - there isn't any! Breakfast average. Hogmanay dinner not good and most guests were unhappy. Hogmanay evening produced NOTHING! No entertainment, no games of any quality and mainly suitable for children, no decent music - the only Scottish music CD was flawed and jumping. Hosts disappeared and left us to it! One set of guests left a day early, most disappointed and angry. We would NOT stay here again. We could have gone on a cruise for the same cost per head and had all the entertainment we wanted. So disappointing. We have since learned that the chef left in June - after the rosette was awarded.

  • Liked — Some rooms very large and very nicely laid out
  • Disliked — smaller rooms very cramped and would like the choice of a bath/shower. Lounge too small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank IsleofWightDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

We visited Abbots Brae hoping for a relaxing and enjoyable short break after quite a trying few months. It did not disappoint! From the incredibly warm welcome to the beautifully appointed room with a fabulous view of the Firth of Forth to the fantastic food at both dinner and breakfast the whole experience was superb. We ate in the hotel for dinner and breakfast and didn't manage to fit in lunch on any day (too full!). Colin and Christine were attentive, friendly and gracious hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. We have already booked for our wedding anniversary in December and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The warmth of the owners
  • Disliked — Enjoyed the whole experience
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Enjoyed a 2 day stay in this friendly hotel in early August this year. The views alone make a visit here worthwhile....

It was clear from the initial warm welcome, and the little touches like chocolates left on the pillows that the owners take great care with the details and really do seek to ensure that guests feel pampered.

The room was clean and modern, as was the spacious ensuite bathroom.

I ate dinner on 2 consecutive nights, each night being presented with a different and well-balanced menu.

Guests enjoy pre-dinner drinks whilst being presented with a small selection of beautifully prepared hors d'oevres whilst perusing the menu and ordering.

From the 2 night's I was there, for me, the stand out dish was the perfectly-cooked locally sourced venison.

Breakfast included the usual mix of cereals/fruit/cooked scottish, but the most memorable dish was the peat-smoked haddock (again locally sourced).

And I haven't even mentioned the views across the Clyde estuary......nestled half-way up a hill, the views from all front-facing rooms, including the dining room are simply magical.

Whilst staying I also enjoyed a round of golf at a charming little 9-hole course a short drive down the coast - again enjoying stunning views across the Clyde estuary.

Also worth a visit is Puck's Glen (a fairly easy hike up a glen featuring a series of stunning waterfalls) - pick up one the local guidebooks in the hotel for more information - but well worth the visit.

Overall, a couple of days' peace and pampering which will remain long in the memory.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Speninem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2007

just back from a one night saty at the abbots brae. Beautiful little hotel set in steeply sloping garden giving beautiful views over the firth of Clyde. Christine and Colin were very friendly hosts and eager to meet every small requirement. Very warm welcome lovely food and large comfortable room. Down side the extractor fan in the bathroom sounded like it was about to explode so did not make for a very relaxing time spent in the bathroom despite the molton and brown
toiletries. No vegetarian choice on the menu but excellent meat and fish choices. Not recommended for a romantic get away as it is too much like someones house rather than a hotel and therefore does not lend itself to romantic dinners or after dinner cannoodling. On the whole a brilliant little stop over and spotless clean. I doubt you will find a better view in Dunoon. Would definitely go back (once they sort out the fan) front facing rooms a must.

  • Liked — The view and size of the room
  • Disliked — Noise from extractor fan in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see, Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing