We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine Here”
Review of Saffron - CLOSED

Saffron
Price range: $14 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Saffron Restaurant DunoonNewly Launched Saffron Dunoon sits centrally on Argyll Street and is a chic modern restaurant that offers a range of dining options in an environment that is quoted as being 'that little bit special'.The restaurant has the feel of an upmarket city bistro offering a premium selection of dine-in and takeaway dishes on an Indian and Far Eastern theme. The first half of the menu features a mouth-watering selection of Far Eastern Favourites from Sweet and Sour to Oyster Sauce and Thai Curry, every dish has been carefully selected.Whilst on the other half of the menu the chefs have created a tantalizing selection of Indian Cuisine but with the lighter 'Saffron Twist' that this restaurant is renowned for. The restaurant operates a very popular Two-course lunch special at £7.95 And as well as the a la carte menu for lunch and dinner. Puddings are all home-made and the selection is displayed on the dessert board. Saffron also offer a wide range of their exquisite Indian & Far Eastern dishes as part of their Takeaway Menu Service, with a Set Meal for 2 available at £20.90 (Delivery service extra).
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dine Here”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We often visit Dunoon and are usually disappointed with the poor standard of meals but not here. The food was lovely, the service excellent and the price very reasonable. We both had spring roll starters and fish for the main and this was nicely presented and tasted good. The gentleman who served us (think he was owner) could not have been nicer. This is one restaurant that deserves plenty of customers and it is so convenient right on the main street. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    37
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a meal tonight and what a meal! The seafood chowder (on the special board) was delicious, will definitely be having that again and also had the green thai chicken curry (a favourite of mine). Generous portions, high quality food and excellent service, thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alistair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful menu and the food is just excellent, The seabass with cashew but and coriander is delicious and the Thai green curry is superb. The range of food is excellent for adults and children and the quality of food and presentation is super.
Sweet menu ...simply Wow!
The staff are terrific and service is first class. Don't miss this one if you like quality food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Another fantastic meal in Cinnamom Rooms again on Saturday night. This restaurant never disappoints. Definitely the best eating place in Dunoon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food & Staff!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We visited Cinnamon Rooms for the first time last week whilst on hooliday in Dunoon and we were blown away by the level of service and food presented to us from beginning to end of the meal.

Unfortunatley it was a typical Scottish Summers evening with torrential rain clearing the streets and if we had not already called the Cinnamon Rooms earlier in the day (when th sunshine was out) to make a reservation then we too probably would not have gone out for dinner that evening. When we arrived the restaurant was empty but this did not deter from the atmosphere or the level of service provided by staff.

We had a fantastic 3 course meal with cocktails and wine with every course explained to us and beautifully presented. The menu has a wide variety of food to suit most palates in my opinion.

All in all a very enjoyable evening and I would definitley go back. Infact my sister in law and fiance who were in holiday that week with us went to the restaurant 3 times in the same week. Which I think just goes to show th quality on every level.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing