We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for western Scotland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayfair

The Mayfair
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mayfair
Ranked #10 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Camp Connell, CA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for western Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Mayfair has recently been recently upgraded and was comfortable, friendly, and a perfect location for travels in the west of Scotland, including the highlands and the Isle of Bute. This in the heart of the Cowal area, and not far from Glascow. Dennis and Jenny were great hosts, full of helpful suggestions about where to go and what to do. Breakfast was cooked to order, and they were very accommodating in every way. Their suggestions for places to see and visit were spot on, and we found great castles, churches,. museums, and scenery following their suggestions. They were very helpful directing us to places tied to our ancestors, and made the three-day visit a pleasant one. The Mayfair is a small hotel. B&B and has a lounge for reading, visiting or TV watching, and the room was ample, en suite, reasonably priced, and with a great view of the firth (or was it a loch?). We booked through an internet site that charged for the reservation service, so it would be a bit cheaper if you simply called them directly. If you plan to be there in peak season, plan ahead. Otherwise, you could probably make it a last minute stop. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Would not recommend to anyone.Rude and unhelpfull,do not go there

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestgirlDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed for one night on our travels to the Outer Hebrides, very comfortable stay, rooms clean and a very nice breakfast. Very accommodating making flasks for our further journey. Nice lounge to sit and have drink and If you are lucky you will even get to see the wild deer roaming the garden.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlightSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga NSW Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Upon arrival the proprietors Dennis&Jennifer Grayson's greetings were most warm & friendly making one feel that choice of accommodation was the right one for our holiday.
Jennifer took us in hand to showcase the comfortable guest lounge,books,games, nibbles,sweets & complementary sherry on hand.
The "McGregor" room we were to occupy was spotlessly clean with a wonderful view across the Clyde waterway,ample dressing & storage space,crisp white sheets on a bed covered by a colorful quilt. Tea & coffee makings facilities were provided for our
convenience. A sparkling clean adjoining en-suite,shower recess,vanity unit,unlimited hot water & toilet complimented the "McGregor room.
Mayfair's location is such that most local sightseelng & shopping are within easy walking distance. If needed public transport is available approx 150 metres distance.
The dining area with self serve cereal bar is a neat well appointed cozy place to enjoy the start to another day. Breakfast & what a breakfast prepared by Dennis & served by a smiling Jennifer will satisfy the hunger of all,Cupious amounts of coffee ever available.
An evening meal can be provided upon request and can be highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waggaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southerner in Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

I have stayed at the Mayfair on a number of occasions - summer and winter. The hospitality is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts are "the best" and the location is excellent for touring the Cowal peninsula. The hosts are always polite and helpful and always ensure we enjoy our stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending the mayfair to my family and friends!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stay regularly at this hotel for business and cannot find any faults with it. I have been in a number of bedrooms and all are very clean and fresh. The owners are very friendly and always offer an excellent service.

I travel alone and like this place because the owners know when your in and it helps me feel safe.

Breakfasts are amazing and although I'm a coffee and toast person the owners are always offering alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinytearsOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

We are part of a UK Theatre tour and stay in B & Bs all over the place --and there are usually 8 of us. We were met with a lovely warm welcome, followed by great rooms, fantastic views and a breakfast to die for!! We all descended to breakfast at the same time and were served very quickly as well and service with a smile.
The rooms were clean, very nicely furnished, warm and cosy.
Altogether a fantastic stay and strongly recommend this B & B to everyone --- out of the 100 or so we stay in yearly --one of the best!!
We will book without hesitation and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzykaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Douglas Park Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair

Property: The Mayfair
Address: Mayfair Hotel 7 Clyde Street | Kirn, Dunoon PA23 8DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair is a large Victorian villa lovingly converted into a comfortable guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mayfair Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing