We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayfair

The Mayfair
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mayfair
Ranked #8 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Turunc, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was very fortunate to stay at The Mayfair, in Dunoon, Scotland, whilst doing a diving course.
At first sight, it looked cosy, a real homey feeling, And the owners really make you feel at home as soon as you arrive, the room was spacious and very comfortable. Although I was the only guest at the time, nothing changed, the service and quality was to standard, also I had the full menu at my disposal, all the breakfast and dinner options were still available to me, although there were no other gueasts, at the time, I only stayed for a very short time, as my course was a short one. In all the time I was there, I never felt uncomfortable, and all my needs were met, with a smile. like I said, home away from home.
I would definitely stay there again should I return to Scotland.

Yours truly

Duan Joubert

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
10
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the Mayfair for just over 2 months.

The hospitality of the owners was great, and the food was very good. Home cooked meals, and plenty of them.

It is about a 15min walk from the town center, along the waterfront.

Will def stay again if I'm ever up this way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davediggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've just got back home after staying at The Mayfair for 8 weeks and was thoroughly pleased with everything about the place. The rooms were a great size and very comfortable. Overall cleanliness of both the room and en suite were outstanding. Would I recommend The Mayfair? Yes, without a shadow of doubt. Both Jenny and Dennis looked after me like one of their own, nothing was ever too difficult. Do I have any complaints, yes, unfortunately I had to come home!!

Thank you so so much guys, you were amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haz_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlford, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

we had a lovely time. it was very nice, room was excellent,jenny and Dennis were excellent hosts, couldn't have made us more welcome.the view from the Mcgregor suite was breath taking,will be back again that's for sure . Mr &Mrs Harper Kilmarnock.

Room Tip: don't have to give a tip best find out for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

i stayed at the mayfair for 9 weeks whilst doing my diving course. Nothing was too much trouble the rooms were clean food was great it was a cold winter didnt feel cold in the hotel over all a great experience felt like part of the family in the end would like to thank jenny and dennis. And I will be going back very soon to complete some more training.....

Room Tip: lovely views in the front overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwaino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have been going to the Mayfair for 3 years now and couldnt wish for anything better. the rooms are fantastic, clean and comfortable. Jenny and Dennis are brilliant hosts and always make you feel welcome and are always on hand if you need any help. its in great area in dunoon and a great place to stay for cowal games. I would recommend this place to anyone!!
We are going back next year again and can't wait to go. the whole experience was exciting, fun and enjoyable.
Need a place to stay????
Then stay at the Mayfair Guest House :-)

Room Tip: The Bruce room is lovely, gives you a nice view across the water, and you can see the cruise ships a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Aug 20-27,2011 Had a great stay . Would love to come back . Clean and warm ! Made us both feel at home and would love to come back . If your looking for a place to stay then stay here . They are great to be with and would happy to have them come to the states with us anytime. If your reading this then book your room here you will be very happy. One great place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shdwdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
1.1 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayfair

Property: The Mayfair
Address: 7 Clyde Street | Kirn, Dunoon PA23 8DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayfair is a large Victorian villa lovingly converted into a comfortable guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mayfair Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing