We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dhailling Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dhailling Lodge Guest House
Save
You added Dhailling Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
155 Alexandra Parade, Dunoon PA23 8AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had looked at several nearby hotels and B&B's and their ratings and determined that some had obviously been recruiting friends or whatever to rate them above this one to skew the numbers. Well, numbers can lie, and anything less than a 10 or perhaps a hundred on the five scale would not properly rate this place. The people, the place, the food, the ambiance, the whole package, his has it all. We will return.

Room Tip: Absolutely the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
20
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The first night of our 7 night tour with Best Scottish Tours (excellent tour company) was at Dhailling Lodge. The rooms were bigger than expected for a B&B, and VERY clean. James, the owner couldn't have been any nicer, he brought us a bottle of wine to enjoy on the terrace before we were served an excellent dinner. The location was beautiful, overlooking the water and a short walk into town. The breakfast was the "typical" Scottish breakfast, cooked to perfection. James was available for whatever we needed, and its obvious that he puts his heart into this lovely place. My only regret is that we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our third visit to Dhailling Lodge and we received a very warm welcome from James. Nothing was too much trouble and our room was really nice - spotlessly clean and everything you could want provided. Wonderful views and delicious breakfast along with plenty of advice on what to see in the area. This is one of our favourite places to stay while holidaying in Scotland.

Room Tip: Please stay here if you are visitng Dunoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranraer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

this is our 3rd year staying at the dhailling lodge and we had a lovely time as usual! being disabledi normally i have problems,but not here,from a ramp to get in and alift to our room and JAMES always has a stool ready for my feet! we had our wedding anniversary there and JAMES made it alovely day! THANK YOU JAMES! FROM JOAN AND JOHN

Room Tip: front bedrooms have a lovely seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I've stayed in a few B & B 's in Dunoon in the same price range and this is definately the best so far. I haven't bothered to write reviews for the others as the negative comments were already posted. The Dhailling overall was just that bit nicer all round and the Patrons went that extra mile to make me feel that nothing was too much trouble. This will definately be my accomodation of choice from now on!
Thumbs up!

Room Tip: sea views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

A five day stay in a very clean and tidy room with all facilities. James was an excellent host and very attentive to all our needs. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Lodge for easy access, superb facilities and convivial hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Wheelchair friendly access to lodge and roomy lift (better than many hotels) to bedroom. James goes the extra mile as far as customer service goes and took our luggage to the bedroom as well as greeting us with a great welcome. The bedroom is large enough to manoeuvre the wheelchair and the adapted bathroom has grab handles in the correct positions, a shower which gives the option to transfer from wheelchair to shower seat with everything one needs at arm's length.
The proprietor has already thought of many things that make guest's who have wheelchairs easy to gain access to all the facilities including the dining room and this is probably the best accommodation we have found since I became paraplegic.
Particularly impressive is the cleanliness of the whole house and there are many examples of the acute attention to details that are often forgotten by many of the best hotels. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
0.4 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhailling Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhailling Lodge Guest House

Property: Dhailling Lodge Guest House
Address: 155 Alexandra Parade, Dunoon PA23 8AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dhailling Lodge Guest House Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing