We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5 Stars All Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage B&B
Save
You added The Anchorage B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“5 Stars All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked a double room in advance of our one night stay. The website was hopeful and given I've been in the hospitality business for 23 years, sometimes you tend to come across certain places that don't really deliver what they say on the tin.

However, this place does not disappoint. Richard the host, from start to finish, was the kindest, helpful and perfect host who will go out of his way to ensure your stay at his estalbishment is not marred in any way.

From a warm welcome into his home as well as perfect cleanliness throughout, ample private parking, beautiful decor and good top end quality bed linen, this really was a home from home.

We stayed in the Heron Room, with a super king size bed overlooking the Holy Loch, there was nothing more we could have asked for.

Using their own hen's eggs was a nice touch to the already delicious breakfast.

We would highly recommend The Anchorage, whether it be for one night, or one week.....Richard and his property will not disappoint.

Room Tip: For couples, definitely the Heron room, with gorgeous views and more than ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerchantMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only spent one night in the beautiful Heron room. Fabulous views over the Holy Loch. Very large and comfortable bed, pristine ensuite with Molton Brown soaps. Well tended gardens and good parking. Breakfast was scrummy, sitting in the large bay windowed room looking out to sea. Richard the host is a treasure. We will definitely stay longer on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsGrohl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Everything was first class during my recent 2 night business trip to Dunoon.
I wll always use The Anchorage iwhen in Dunoon in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is such a special B&B. We stayed in Heron room, which has lovely decor, spectacular water views and the biggest and most comfortable bed imaginable. Every little touch has been thought of, with quality bedding and towels, nice toiletries, teas and biscuits, fresh milk, and comfy chairs. If you are walking in the area, there's a huge boot-room for muddy boots and wet coats. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Richard - a very experienced hotelier with a sure touch and such a generous approach to his guests. Breakfast was excellent too, with fresh fruit, and delicious eggs. We were heading south and were sorry that we could only stay for one night - the beautiful Benmore Gardens are a couple of miles up the road and we've already decided that this is THE place to stay when we visit there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A real gem of a place to stay. Richard is very friendly and welcoming, and he goes out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean, fresh and cosy. The breakfast is excellent - I particularly recommend the poached eggs!! We'll definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Heron room at the start of our two week Highland tour. The location is excellent, the view over Holy Loch wonderful, the house and rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and styled to a very high standard. Richard and his family are lovely hosts and Richard could not do enough for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

There was nothing at all that I would change about the anchorage b&b. It was home from home. We stayed in the oystercatcher room for 1 night. Beds were clean & comfy with good quality bed linen, walls pained in farrow & ball paint (I asked as I liked the colour!) the shower was the most powerful I think I have ever used! Breakfast was fabulous & Richard the owner couldn't have been more helpful. We were made so welcome as was our 8 month old daughter. Perfect, 5 stars. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.9 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
2.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Property: The Anchorage B&B
Address: The Anchorage Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming detached Victorian house on the shores of the Holy Loch Argyll. 4 Refurbished en-suite rooms all with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ideal base for touring the Scottish National Park. Boat and engine available (weather permitting) for the sole use of our guests. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing