We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent stay at Duncreggan house”
Review of Duncreggan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duncreggan House
Ranked #4 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our third visit to Duncreggan House, and as always, proprietors Suzanna and Mick were really welcoming and gave us the run of the houseand gardens. Tea and scones on arrival in the conservatory (with its amazing views) gave them a chance to make some local recommendations to us - Benmore Botanical gardens are a must see and a shopping trip to Glasgow by ferry and train was great fun. The house has 5 bedrooms, three are ensuite and one also has a roof terrace and the other two have private bathrooms for the sole use of the occupants but they are not ensuite. We've stayed in several of them on our visits! Most have great views of the Loch. Breakfast was a full scottish (nice touch - we could order exactly what we wanted the night before, plus cereals, fresh fruit and limitless tea and coffee are all served in the grand dining room of the house. Guest are encourged to use the house and there is a comfortable lounge (again great views and amazing architectural features such as celing mouldings and fireplaces) and the sunny conservatory overlooking the garden and loch to choose from, tea and coffee is not only available in your room it is also in the dining room should you fancy a cup at any time, the B&B holds a license so a glass of wine before dinner or a scotch afterwards is no problem, Mick can whip up dinner on request. Top travel tips - Dunoon is reached either by passenger foot ferry from Gourock - next to the railway station - or combined car and passenger ferry from Hunters point - just outside Gourock - buy tickets from shops in Gourock rather than on the boat - saves money!

If your looking for a B&B that feels more like staying with friends in their comfortable family scottish country house then this is the place for you - Fans of anonomous corporate blandness should look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teg_and_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Duncreggan House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 76 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Duncreggan House for 5 days. The house has beautiful views of the loch. The breakfasts were great. We enjoyed taking the bus to the local Pub as well as the local ferry tour to Holy Loch. The house is close to Scottish attractions such as the Duke of Argyll's estate if you have a car. We also enjoyed nearby Dunoon which has some good restaurants. We especially enjoyed sleeping in our wonderfully comfortable beds. Our hosts, Mick and Suzanna were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our time at Duncreggan House and plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: The large bedroom is lovely if you like space and has an en suite. We chose the smaller bedroom whi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at Duncreggan House with my two teenage sons for a half term out door break. We were made to feel very much at home by our hosts, Mick and Susanna, in their charming Victorian House. Both our rooms had views of the loch and were comfortable and tastefully furnished.

We were greeted upon our arrival with tea and cakes which was a very pleasant welcome.

The breakfasts were hearty; an ideal start for a day walking on the nearby hills.

I will certainly be returning to Duncreggan House!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The house is only 10 minutes drive from the ferry terminal and is located with stunning views of the firth of Clyde especially from the conservatory. We always have a lovely warm welcome on arrival from the proprietors Mick and Susanna and made to feel at home with tea and homecooked cakes. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and well equiped. Full cooked scottish breakfast to your own requirements is excellent. Our party normally take over the whole house and our children had fun exploring the local area with Mick's kids. Use of local leisure facility is also very good.

We would definitely recommend a stay and are now booked up for our third year.

Room Tip: Twin bedroom with en suite has lovely views
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We really were touched by the friendliness of Susanna an Mick in their cosy house. Everything is very charming and selected thoughtfully.
A perfect place to stay for more than just one night. Unfortunately we couldn't do it on our vacation trip through Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanbruehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed here with our 9 month old baby during the Cowal Highland Games. The location and views are spectacular. The hosts were very welcoming - home-made cakes and bread, breakfast and the tour of the house were the highlights. We also had a great dinner 'rustled' up at the last minute. Room was great, full of character with everything we needed. We were allocated a private bathroom to meet our needs of having a baby. Brilliant views from the conservatory. Benmore Botanic Gardens, Tighnabruiach, Colintraive, Lochs Eck and Fyne very close by. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank scotjls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I recently stayed at Duncreggan House‎ and was impressed with the hospitality, the quality of the food and the style and cleanliness of the accommodation.

Access to the goft course, leisure facilities and outdoor activities was great, all of them only a short distance and they arrangemented things.

I would reccommend Duncreggan House to everyone and shall be visiting again later in the year.‎

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
1.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncreggan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncreggan House

Address: Blairmoor | Argyllshire, Dunoon PA23 8TG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range: $103 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duncreggan House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duncreggan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duncreggan House Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing