We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Relaxing Hotel”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Relaxing Hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was initially a two night stay gifted to us for January, however circumstances meant we were unable to travel at that time. I contacted the hotel and requested a change of date, this was made with no fuss and a very understanding attitude. We eventually arrived as arranged on 4th March, we were welcomed warmly as was our german shepherd -Dana. We were given a lovely large room with the sofa offered to Dana as her bed. The room we were allocated - Room 3 was large and bright, the condition was a little tired, but the fact we had our dog with us we did not expect to be given a luxury room, in fact we were more relaxed with the facilities as it was evident this was a 'dog friendly' room. We dined both nights in the hotel, menu was acceptable and food was good. Breakfast was also presented and served well. We had a lovely time and enjoyed the very relaxed atmosphere, we would recommend to friends (with dogs) and if visiting Dunoon again would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
90
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just returned home after our wedding at the park hotel in dunoon and would like to say what a fantastic time everyone had, food was as always first class staff very friendly Beth your a star nothing was a problem to you rooms excellent a good nights sleep in the comfy beds even our three dogs loved being there and the fuss that was made of them hotel is home from home cant wait until we visit again

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel are first class comfy spacious and lovely showers baths in rooms also tea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of mates on bikes, the hotel made us feel really welcome and even arranged for us to park our bikes in next doors garden where they were very secure. We had a meal and drinks in the bar which was very nice, the beds were really comfy and I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a little smaller than I've had in other Scottish hotels, but was still nice. The Park was excellent value for money

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 2night break in the Park Hotel, well what can we say......Excellent. It was our first wee holiday as a family with oor new addition to our family.... "Dileas" our five month old Border Collie pup. Since we arrived we were all made very welcome and Dileas always looked forward to the fuss that (Beth) one of the lovely staff members showed our pup. To top it all up the weather was great. Can't wait till we return. Thanks to all the staff and a big thankyou to Beth

Jimmy, lesley @ Dileas

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyPeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw, scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights at this hotel and enjoyed all about it! We took our Scottie dog and were given a choice of bedroom. Room 6 was perfect - nice view and triple bed size meant there was space for two adults and dog to move around. Across from the coastline meant good areas to walk the boy. Staff particularly smiling and helpful. Breakfast good. Beautiful weather made it a really good break. Will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kayjbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

good value hotel in need of some attention, friendly staff, clean rooms,good food however let down a little by attention to details, in need of some decoration and care especially the shower facilities which for some reason only flowed water at certain times must be the water pressure or maybe a system waiting on more hot water to be produced, however dont be put off if you want good value cheap accomodation with good food and friendly staff
I hope they get things right as I realy want them to do well

Room Tip: take single beds as the doubles are a bit on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chryston186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed in room 26. lovely large clean room. large tv, comfortable bed, sofa and arm chair. plenty tea/coffee in room. iron & hairdryer provided .jacuzzi bath and shower,(bath takes a wee while to fill)friendly staff, nice walking distance to centre of dunoon. breakfast was fine juice,cereal, toast, full scottish breakfast. friendly welcoming staff. would definately stay again. great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblepopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 3 Glenmorag Avenue | The West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a scenic, tranquil location in Dunoon, The Park Hotel offers impressive sea views and stylish rooms. There is free parking and a traditional Scottish restaurant. The elegant rooms feature a TV, tea and coffee facilities and a large work space. All rooms have a modern en suite bathroom and some have views of the beautiful Firth of Clyde and Irish Sea. The popular Park Hotel restaurant serves a traditional Scottish menu, featuring local produce and freshly caught seafood. The bar offers a range of beverages, and generous breakfasts are available daily. The family-run Park Hotel is a 15-minute drive from Argyll Forest Park. The scenic hills and sandy beaches of Dunoon are a 2-minute walk away, and Gourock is a 20-minute ferry ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing