We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in any weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Quay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It was a particularly wet and windy February weekend we stayed here with 2 young kids (6 and 4). The Premier (Jura 7) caravan was warmer and more comfortable than I had imagined it could be and it was nicely finished and maintained. The only fault we could find was that some of the dishes/ utensils were not entirely clean which, in fairness, was probably the responsibility of the previous occupants.

The swimming pool was great and the free access to this largely made our holiday. Rusty's Fun House (soft play) is not free, which is not mentioned anywhere on the website. It was a good play frame though and there were various arcade games around it as well as the activity area. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The Bar and Grill was nice, clean, quiet with lovely and efficient waiting staff and quite nice food.

I'm pretty sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Caravans are very close to the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Hunters Quay. Glad that you enjoyed your break! Our cleaners do usually ensure that dishes are cleaned for the next occupant arriving, but I am sorry that this hasn't been the case on this occasion. We do hope everything else was enjoyable though and we hope so see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 410 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my two sons from 7 feb till originally 10feb but extended till 12 feb on site

Our caravan was a three bedroom premier which was not as expected but more !

1 hour and half from Glasgow and ore booked my tickets with hunters quay for western ferries cost was £26 return for car and up to 5 passengers

Arrived at back of 4 as this was check in time and was given map to caravan we stayed in Jura 29 which I would highly recommend as close to Main building but still in quiet spot

Double bedroom with ensuite and two single rooms with twin beds with fully fitted kitchen and superb lounge with electric fire but the radiators were very warm in each room you also have a separate bathroom with shower which was quite powerful.

Activities can be arranged with oh active team for scan ole boys did pano soccer which was £10 a head I think ?

Sports room - fun house which costs £8 for 3 day pass , arcade games as well

Entertainment - bit of hit and miss quite cheesy like karaoke or some woman singing bingo cancelled on Monday for some reason so probably be better in high season

Grill restaurant - breakfast was great either sausages and eggs for £1.99 or full English £5.95 lunch was very much typical wetherspoons good and good portion sizes with kids menu and this was like the dinner

Pool- was great for kids separate children's and then bigger pool but kids pool seemed to be full of hair every time we went in so we preferred large pool

We did lots if walking Moira's fairy glen in Dunoon, cranlarach berry burn walk and holy loch where there is a play area.

We thought this was a fantastic place that we are looking to come back at Easter

Well done hunters quay x

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddybearger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi there, and thanks for the review of your stay at Hunters Quay. We ensure all caravans are of the utmost quality, and new within the last 3 years so that they remain so.... glad that this impressed you. Our Go Active team is expanding, and our activities increasing, as we are now Scotland's ONLY Go Active+ Park! We have also just employed an Entertainment Manager to bring our entertainment up to an even higher standard. We look forward to seeing you again over Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently, which is always a plus point. The caravan we were allocated was very basic with basic utensils etc but good enough. Basin too small to put the plates in, Minor point!

Staff in the restaurant were as always very pleasant with a special mention for Leanne, who always remembers us and makes us feel special.

Did not attend the Hogmanay bash due the steep prices! £40 adults and £20+ for the kids to have chicken nuggets with smiley faces.
Still only 1 Jacuzzi and 1 hairdryer working in the leisure pool since 2012! (not that I need the dryer!)

Go active team, are first class and very committed and deserve recognition for their hard work and always, always willing to help the kids and adults alike.

Thank you
Gary

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryT047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Gary, thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hunters Quay.

We will pass on your nice comments about Leanne & The Go Active Staff; glad that she impressed you. Our Hogmanay event is set accordingly with similar events, and sells out every year. We will investigate your comments regarding the leisure centre, and make sure that action is taken regarding this.

We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The first time we went didn't no what to expect but really enjoy every moment granddaughter loves going swimming getting her nails done enjoy the peace and quite been three time this year love getting away for long weekend booked again to go week before Christmas hoping Santa be there for my granddaughter and grandson but looking forward to it I would recommend to every one nice and relaxing.

Room Tip: Been caravan and lodges you'll enjoy either of them but for more space I would take lodge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemphisRilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Hunters Quay Holiday Village!

We charge extra for energy, which is standard among holiday parks and this is confirmed at time of booking. Delighted that you enjoyed getting about and seeing all that Argyll has to offer, and that you would be looking to return.

Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

As we drove to the ferry bit, the area looked run down and a little rough so my expectations weren't very high, but I was thrilled when we arrived at our 3 bedroom lodge to find it in a wonderful setting with glorious views.

It was really spacious, very clean & well furnished with a great veranda complete with a BBQ area. There were 6 of us plus two dogs and we all fitted in comfortably.

We got the ferry across (didn't realise we needed to do this until the day before when I was planning the route) - the park has concessionary tickets for the ferry so contact them first. We were also charged about £35 for gas and electric - I don't know why this isn't built into the price.

We did only use the park as a base because we wanted to get out and explore as much of the west coast as possible and I'm so glad we did as its such a beautiful place.

We went for a walk at Pucketts Glenn which is close by and breathtaking so well worth a visit but for the rest of the trips, it was a much longer trek (Loch Lomond, Mull, Fort William, Mallaig, Loch Goile).

There is a Morrisons and a coop close by so that's dead handy.

We didn't use the daytime facilities other than the pool once, which was a good size and open until quite late.

We went to the entertainment a couple of times - there was karaoke and a quiz on. It was very quiet and we didn't stay too long but had fun.

We arrived on the 17th August and was surprised it was so quiet but Scottish schools had already gone back as they finish earlier. So I'd defo recommend this time of year.

I though it was really good value and would stay there again.

Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpamboEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Hunters Quay, glad you enjoyed the break!

We welcome your comments, and agree with your statement about the plenty local attractions :)

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well that's us all booked up for summer 2014. This will be the 9th year we have holidayed at Hunters Quay.....the place is really second to none. The only drawback is the holiday seems to be over too too fast, if it was up to me id just stay. Park is always immaculate, shop has plenty of stock, caravans are always clean and tidy and any wee problem like bulb not working sorted within minutes. My daughter and her hubby use the swimming pool sauna etc. daily sometimes many times.
Anyone looking for a brilliant holiday in our beautiful Scotland .....book up right now for Hunters Quay, I love the place

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lainnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on Hunters Quay, glad you enjoy it so much that you have returned various times!

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the first time I have written a review and doing so purely as it was so good.
We were only Mon thru to Fri and stayed in lodge with hot tub, the lodge was first class all very nicely decorated (slight walk up hill to amenities but worth it)
We stayed off peak so it was quiet but staff were great, everyone willing to help and they were all excellent with my children who are 5 and 3. The facilities fir the kids were great, never before have j stayed somewhere that the kids pool was the same size as the adult pool (25m) the indoor play area was great had different sections fir different ages and the amusements are addictive!!
The bar and grill was good staff were very attentive, we had something different every day so enough on menu as well.
The best thing about the stay by far are the go active staff, Jackie, Paige and Andy are worth their weight in gold, the kids fell in love with them and they Said the best thing about their stay was them and I couldn't agree more!! My oldest has learnt circus skills, Robin hood games,pirates, archery and balance skills for bikes and Andy got my youngest on a pedal bike aswell as her having a go at the robin hood and pirates.
We will definitely be returning, there is no question of that at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyllholidays001, Marketing Assistant at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Hunters Quay, glad you enjoyed the break!

Our Go Active staff are fantastic and constantly receive well deserved praise; we will pass on your comments!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and if there is anything which you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact us at marketing@argyllholidays.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
500 reviews
14.6 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Holiday Village

Address: Hunter's Quay | Dunoon, Dunoon PA23 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dunoon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Quay Holiday Park Hotel Dunoon
Hunters Quay Holiday Village Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing