We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday but a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Quay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed in a Beech Premier 5 hot tube lodge for 2 weeks at the end of July with my husband and 2 kids, 2 and a half and 10 months. Having stayed in a hot tub lodge on another park previously we were very disappointed in the size of the lodge - it really was very small and very hard to fit the baby's cot in. The double bed was so small and uncomfortable that my husband and I slept in the twin room. Otherwise the lodge did have everything we needed, although a washing machine would be a very good idea. With 2 kids, we spent a fortune at the launderette! The hot tub was amazing and really made the holiday!

I am not disputing the charges were displayed on the website but I do think that for the 4 figure weekly sum we paid it was a bit rich to be charged £10 for a travel cot (with no mattress!!) and £10 each for 2 ikea high chairs. When I pay that price for accomodation I expect beds and chairs to be provided for each member of the family!

We couldn't do a lot of activities as the kids were too young but we managed archery, which was fab, and I had a facial - also fab. The kids loved the pool and soft play, but again I don't think charging for the soft play gives value for money. The restaurant was OK but avoid the mashed potatoes - absolutely disgusting! The terrace outside the bar is a great spot when the weather is nice, and everyone is very tolerant of kids, which is lovely.

Overall we had a great holiday, we just thought it wasn't great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Hi Gayle, thanks for the review of your stay at Hunters Quay. We are currently upgrading our older accommodation to bring it in line with our newer units, however washing machines are only available in the larger units that we offer. We will investigate your comments into the extra charges, and see how we can improve going forward. Glad you enjoyed the archery and quay treatments, both are fairly new to the site and have proved very popular. Hopefully see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 417 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Set in a beautiful location, with some great views , staff where very help full only problem is that having children with us 4 and 6 most of the activities for the children where already booked for a caravan site as big as hunters quay quite disappointed that only a certain amount of children can go on these activities , with not much else to do around Dunoon , can't always keep going to the swimming pool or the arcade/play area, the only activity in which we where able to go on was junior explorers which turned out really great the kids really enjoyed it and where looking around for bugs for the rest of the day and are still talking about it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matg6482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for the review of your stay at Hunters Quay, and glad you enjoyed your break overall. We offer a range of kids activities, but these are very popular and we encourage guests to book in advance, apologies if you weren't informed of this when you booked your holiday. Also, we limit the amount of participants in each Go Active activity to maximise enjoyment for each person taking part. Great they enjoyed Junior Explorers though, sure you'll agree that our Go Active staff are excellent with children. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself my husband and two children aged 5 and 7 have just returned from a weeks stay at Hunters Quay. Having stayed at larger parks such as Haven and Parkdean before we were really looking forward to our holiday here. Sadly I think we had set our expectations too high, whilst the caravan we stayed in was very comfortable and the views surrounding the park were stunning the park facilities and entertainment were a let down.
The park is divided into different zones or villages, our accommodation was set in a zone of roughly 300 other caravans, set in rows of about 30 caravans. The road/track that runs the length of each row was very close to the rear (bedroom end) of the caravan. We found this rather unsettling and were awoken each night by cars rumbling past late at night.
The caravan park is built into the hillside so don't expect there to be any flat green areas around the accommodation. Our kids had to make do with playing on the car track, not at all ideal and so we had to keep a vigilant eye on them at all times! For the size of the park there was a definite lack of childrens play areas, whilst the wooden 'fortress' at the main complex was great for the kids it was a 10-15 minute walk from the caravan, don't expect to sit at the tables provided with a refreshing drink whilst the kids play though - we had our drinks removed by the security man as it was a 'health & safety issue' we questioned why it would be a H&S risk and was told because of the glass so we asked for plastic cups but were told they didn't have any!
Our children signed in for a couple of the activities the 'Pirates paradise' which seemed to be a lot of fun and 'Dance mania' which was more like an exercise class there was a lot of stopping and starting and didn't involve very much dancing at all, the kids were quite disappointed with this one and so we decided not to book any other activities at £6 each it's just too expensive if the kids are not enjoying it!
Kids entertainment is not provided each evening we thought this was pretty poor given that we were staying during the school holidays.
We did use the swimming pool every day- sometimes twice a day. The pools seem to be a more recent addition, it's areal shame that there is no natural light in this building, it is lit by fluorescent strip lights, surely there could have been skylights added into the roof?? Of the two good size pools one is suitable for younger children & our kids loved it! My husband and I were both alarmed that there were no lifeguards around the pool, of all the times we were swimming we only ever saw someone patrol the pool once, instead there seems to be someone who sits at a desk with a cctv monitor for the pools, he had to also sign guests in and out, the times he was joined by another staff member they were clearly chatting and paying no attention to the monitor! On the upside the Jacuzzi & steam room were fab and the pools never felt crowded.
Overall we felt that this park was more suited for a weekend break or for the semi-retired and found there just wasn't enough to keep the kids entertained for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2babybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Hunters Quay. Although the park itself is on a hill, there are green areas throughout the site, though these are not beside every unit. We understand the comments about the children's play area and are looking to upgrade this as soon as the park is quieter. We are sorry for your problems regarding the pool, and we are investigating the ways in which we can improve service going forward. We are currently recruiting for an Entertainment Manager, which will see entertainment take a massive step forward across the park. Overall, we apologise that you felt let down by your stay and do hope that you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a Rowan Hot Tub lodge and it was amazing!! The lodge itself was really nice and the location is beautiful. Restaurant and bar were great as was the swimming pool. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kelly17687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi Kelly, thanks for the feedback on your stay at Hunters Quay. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

****VERY DISAPPOINTED HUNTER QUAY GO AVTIVE DUNOON***
We arrived at park to a luxury private let caravan on 15/7 caravan was fantastic. 6 weeks previously to going to Hunters Quay I phoned the Go Active kids desk and booked raft building 90min activity for my 10yr old niece and 7yr old son and paid £24 On arriving for this i was told that this activity was taking place pool side area(which they have done before with prev activities and only req them to remove shoes and socks) i asked the Go Active team member Paige should i take their shoes and socks she said no need i'll put them as side of pool, i was then advised by Go Active receptionist that activity finished at 1pm and to return to Go Active desk at this time to pick up kids. Myself and my husband went a walk around Hunters Quay park to pass the time.
On arriving back at Go Active desk at 12.40pm 1 was upset to see that my kids were the only kids in this activity with clothes and that the needed swimsuit/towel/locker money which i was not advised of at the time of booking/attending this activity or by Paige the Go Active team member when i enquired req shoes and socks !!!! therefore the kids had to go in the chlorinated pool with denim shorts and t-shirts on.
But wasn't until my 10yr old niece came out after the activity and notified me that her and her very niave 7yr old cousin were SENT AWAY FROM GO AVTIVE ACTIVITY where i had left them in care of of Go Active team let them walk 1/2 mile to caravan through strange park and behind strange peoples caravans to our caravan to retrieve swimming costumes. the caravan was empty as myself and my husband were walking around park in other area. My 7yr old son was very upset and stated crying at this point they then had to walk another 1/2 mile back to Go Active where they were told it was ok ???? They should never have been allowed to leave the complex unchaperoned I WAS DISCUSTED .NONE OF THE GO ACTIVE TEAM MENTIONED THIS TO ME !!!!!
I then had to walk my kids another 1/2 mile back to caravan in soaking wet clothes back to our caravan. i then received at phone call from Go Active mangeress Elizabeth Bell to apologise profusely and she said thios should never have happened as this is an child protection matter and offered me 1 free session at Go Active which the kids did not wish to attend as they did not feel safe!!!!IF THEY HAD MY PHONE NUMBER TO CALL AND APPOLOGISE WHY COULDN'T THEY CLL ME BEFORE ALLOWING MY KIDS TO WALK THROUGH STRANGE CARAVAN SITE AND PAST STRANGE PEOPLES CARAVANS WERE ANYTHING COULD HAVE HAPPEND.I THEN CALLED THE PARK DIRECTOR DAVID DAIN WHO WAS VERY RUDE AND ASSURED ME THAT 1 FREE SESSION AT GO ACTIVE WAS MORE THAN ADEQUATE COMPENSATATION FOR MY KIDS UPSET WHICH I STRONGLY DISAGREE !!!!!!!!!

IAM APPAULED THAT GO ACTIVE THINK THAT 1 FREE SESSION IS THE EQUIVLANT TO MY LIDS SAFTEY AND WOULD NEVER USE THIS FACILITY AGAIN I WOULD ADVISE OTHER PARENTS NOT TO DO SO!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingbriang321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Head of Marketing at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

It is the Argyll Holidays policy that children aged fifteen years and under may not be left alone without full adult supervision. Our services/facilities for children over five years old are not childcare facilities. Whilst every care is taken, children remain the responsibility of parents or guardians at all times.

We are sorry that Argyll Holidays did not meet your expectations. We hope that you have you have more satisfaction with an alternative holiday provider in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a glorious sunny week in Hunters Quay. We travelled as a family with ages ranging from 60's 40's 30's teenagers & a baby of 6 months. When we booked we hired a 'cot' for the baby & paid £10.00 for what we thought was a proper cot, but when we arrived we were dismayed to find it was a travel cot, which we already had one at home & could have just brought this with us. A baby's "cot" is a lot different from a "travel cot" & to make matters worse the travel cot was broken when we put it up, but on phoning reception they sent someone over straight away with a different one. Albeit not a very good make of cot, it had a big bulge in the middle!!! Only other criticism I had was that the bedroom my husband & I had did not have one drawer in it, no bedside drawers or any drawers to put anything in & we were there for a week with only a small wardrobe for ALL our bits & pieces.
Anyway, enough of the negatives.......we all had a wonderful holiday. The two teenage boys did archery, off site quad biking, body zorbs & loads of other activities. The baby loved the swimming pool it was lovely & warm for him & so child friendly. We ate in the Hunters Grill quite a lot. Breakfast was very reasonable & any meals we had we found to be very good & well priced. We stayed in a Beech Comfort Plus Lodge with three bedrooms........1 double room, 2 twin rooms, large lounge, fully fitted kitchen, family bathroom & small toilet. Plenty of room( although no drawers in our room!!) for us all. It was a wonderful holiday & we all enjoyed our experience of this type of holiday. Would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Day T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks for the review of your stay at Hunters Quay. We provide travel cots are they're smaller and easier to move & fit in the different sizes of accommodation that we have. Apologies about the quality of the cot though, we do try to make sure they are all of a high standard so will look into this. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your holiday though, Go Active has been a massive hit since we introduced it last year so its good to see that your children made the most of this. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks ago and had a lovely time. We stayed in a Jura Premier Caravan and it was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Swimming pool was big with a nice jacuzzi. Soft play was good but could do with a little upgrading, my 2year old loved it though. Outdoor area was good too. Lovely peaceful location, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi there, thanks for your review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hunters Quay. We are currently looking at upgrading our softplay for when the park quietens down. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
16.6 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
14.6 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
0.9 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Holiday Village

Address: Hunter's Quay | Dunoon, Dunoon PA23 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dunoon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Quay Holiday Park Hotel Dunoon
Hunters Quay Holiday Village Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing