We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Yearly Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Quay Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunters Quay Holiday Village
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Yearly Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been holidaying at Hunters Quay for over 20 years and always rent a Lodge. Over the years the Centre has upgraded the facilities and the Lodges in keeping with the changing needs of the holiday maker. It is a great base from which to visit Inverary, Oban and many points North. Despite the many years we have holidayed at Hunters Quay that first evening looking out over the breath taking Holy Loch we know that we will have a week when we can spend the days as we want to. The staff at the Centre are friendly, helpful and always on hand with advice. The supermarket on the site is more than adequate for day to day small items. The updated restaurant is good and the service friendly and efficient. The Centre caters for all ages. You can swim, have a jacuzzi, sauna or work out at the gym. all included in the price. We look forward to our yearly holiday and are preparing to book for 2013.

Room Tip: You can choose a variety of Lodges or a caravan to suit the holiday needs of couples, families and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fear-teagaisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello, thanks for your very kind review! It's brilliant to hear you have been visiting for over 20 years and keep coming back to see us, it shows us the commitment we have to ensuring we are constantly improving the services and facilities we offer our guests is working. We look forward to your visit again this year! Be sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook. It's a great way of keeping up to date on the news throughout the company and all of our latest special offers. Thanks again and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    97
    48
    14
    23
See reviews for
219
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the ideal place if you want a few days away from it all .theres a sauna,swimming pool ,bar , restaurant and games room for kids there is a lot of outdoor things to do .I come here at least 4/5 times a year well worth it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Gary, thanks for your review! That's brilliant that you had another great time staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook, that way you can keep up to date with all of our news and special offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Normally being Campervaners and Awning types on Holiday for a change we booked in Hunters Wharf Holiday Village. Last minute booking we got a lodge. On arrival they bent over backwards to change the lodge to one with a Loch View over Holy Loch. Not having stayed in a lodge before I have to say I was impressed. I did not expect the ritz or some plush fancy decorated home for a week. I actually got more than I expected. The lodge was clean, stocked with everything you needed for a stay, Linen, Crockery, Utensils etc even an iron and ironing board. It reminded me of moving into an army married quarter. Move in and start living straight away. The Restaurant/Bar was excellent, the staff friendly, the swimming pool, gym and sauna was there to be used.

Would I go back................ in the blink of an eye. We had a week away from the rat race, peace and quiet. we could eat in or eat out and the drives and scenery are brilliant.

Loved every second of it.

Room Tip: Book and ask for a Loch View if possible........If not, well get out and about in the car. But if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSadcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your very kind review! We're delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay with us! We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best possible service and we're glad you had such a great time. We do hope this means you'll be back to see us soon! In the meantime, make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook for all of our latest news, competitions and special offers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. From many rooms there are great views of Holy Loch. The house has great charm and many of the rooms are furnished with antiques. The owner was very friendly and willing to chat and answer questions about the area. the beds are comfy and the noise at night was minimal. I enjoyed a lovely breakfast in a spacious dining room with a view of the Loch right out the window.
Oh and in the evening you can sit in the bar area and have a drink and take in the view. So if you are in the area and looking for a nice place to stay I would say book a room at the Abbot's Brae Hotel and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my wif and young children, when we arrived there was no one at reception, (outside on her mobile). Got our keys after they found our booking.

Got to chalet and it was filthy, opened the chalet door and could of fekk backwards with the damp smell. Hadn't been cleaned since previous guests, shower full of hair. Manager-David- has a poker up his backside and couldn't of been any more rude, dismissing our claims of a filthy lodge.

We were suppose to stay a week and stayed that night and went home, after seeing fleas jumping about the kids room put me off. No refund, no security deposit and no help from the staff at all.

Would not recommend this even as a resting place for Hussein and Obama.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juicyboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We see you've already discussed your issues with the General Manager, but thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in the school October break. Stayed in a friends caravan so our accomodation was lovely with beautiful views over the Holy Loch. The Hunters Grill up at the reception area is fantastic, - we ate there a lot for breakfast, lunchand dinner. The staff were brilliant - very friendly and attentive. It was my 8 year old daughters birthday when we were there and they made such a fuss of her. The pool area is also great - really big and quiet everytime we were there. A sauna, jacuzzi and steam room for the adults too. The downsides are that you need a car just to get from your caravan to reception because it is so large its a long way away, - its also really dark and could get quite dangerous walking around at night, - take a torch so you don't trip up. The site is very poorly sign posted as well so it took us ages to find our caravan - the map is useless. The on site shop looks like its been stuck in a time warp in the 80's - very little stock and very expensive if you do find something yoindo u want to buy - and the nearest supermarket is Morrisons in Dunoon which is about a 15 min drive. Dunoon and the surrounding area is fine if you like the outdoors - beautiful scenery and walks but with a 70 year old and an 8 year old there wasn't much to do in the pouring rain. We went to Inverary Jail which is well worth a trip - so is the fab coffee shop in Inverary with huge cakes in the window to tempt you. Wouldn't rush back here unless I had a good idea of what activities to do before I went.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip overall, and delighted to see a fuss was made of your daughters birthday. We hope she had a great time! Thank you for the feedback regarding the lighting issues and finding your caravan. We appreciate all types of feedback and I will pass on your comments. We've just had new park maps designed and they're currently getting printed so this should help with locating accommodations. With lots of Go Active activities available throughout the year we do hope you'll come back and visit us soon. In the meantime, be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to keep up to date with the latest news, offers and competitions. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with colleagues in a Deercroft chalet. The chalet, sparsely furnished, 3 bedrooms,was a bit dated dated , particularly the kitchen. No dishwasher or washing machine which is generally standard now in self catering accommodation. There is a laundry on site- which is a long walk to reception.Kitchen not terribly well equipped and grill didnt work. Bedrooms fine. if you have no car with you, be prepared for along trek to the chalet- and if you go at night, take a torch, the lighting is extremely poor and it is very difficult to find your way around the park, even with the aid of the map given at reception if you ask for it. Our (large) party arrived in the dark, with no onsite transport ( having come off a coach) and some spent almost an hour traipsing up and down roads, with heavy cases and food bags, before finding their chalets. Perhaps the management should organise some on site transport if required.... Ate twice in the centre, once in the grill which was fine. Other time was a mass catered dinner which was poorly served, small in quantity and more like a school dinner than a dinner worth £15.....Staff were nice however.
Very nicely situated but unless I had transport, I wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review of your stay, your feedback is much appreciated. We're sorry to read of the issues you experienced, and I have passed on your comments to the relevant bodies. We do hope you'll come back and visit us again in the future, as we have a lot planned throughout 2013 for the whole of Argyll Holidays. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
13.6 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Holiday Village

Property: Hunters Quay Holiday Village
Address: Hunter's Quay | Dunoon, Dunoon PA23 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dunoon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Quay Holiday Park Hotel Dunoon
Hunters Quay Holiday Village Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing