We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Quay Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the ideal place if you want a few days away from it all .theres a sauna,swimming pool ,bar , restaurant and games room for kids there is a lot of outdoor things to do .I come here at least 4/5 times a year well worth it

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi Gary, thanks for your review! That's brilliant that you had another great time staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook, that way you can keep up to date with all of our news and special offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 410 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Normally being Campervaners and Awning types on Holiday for a change we booked in Hunters Wharf Holiday Village. Last minute booking we got a lodge. On arrival they bent over backwards to change the lodge to one with a Loch View over Holy Loch. Not having stayed in a lodge before I have to say I was impressed. I did not expect the ritz or some plush fancy decorated home for a week. I actually got more than I expected. The lodge was clean, stocked with everything you needed for a stay, Linen, Crockery, Utensils etc even an iron and ironing board. It reminded me of moving into an army married quarter. Move in and start living straight away. The Restaurant/Bar was excellent, the staff friendly, the swimming pool, gym and sauna was there to be used.

Would I go back................ in the blink of an eye. We had a week away from the rat race, peace and quiet. we could eat in or eat out and the drives and scenery are brilliant.

Loved every second of it.

Room Tip: Book and ask for a Loch View if possible........If not, well get out and about in the car. But if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSadcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi there, thank you for your very kind review! We're delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay with us! We pride ourselves on giving our guests the best possible service and we're glad you had such a great time. We do hope this means you'll be back to see us soon! In the meantime, make sure and Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook for all of our latest news, competitions and special offers. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. From many rooms there are great views of Holy Loch. The house has great charm and many of the rooms are furnished with antiques. The owner was very friendly and willing to chat and answer questions about the area. the beds are comfy and the noise at night was minimal. I enjoyed a lovely breakfast in a spacious dining room with a view of the Loch right out the window.
Oh and in the evening you can sit in the bar area and have a drink and take in the view. So if you are in the area and looking for a nice place to stay I would say book a room at the Abbot's Brae Hotel and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with my wif and young children, when we arrived there was no one at reception, (outside on her mobile). Got our keys after they found our booking.

Got to chalet and it was filthy, opened the chalet door and could of fekk backwards with the damp smell. Hadn't been cleaned since previous guests, shower full of hair. Manager-David- has a poker up his backside and couldn't of been any more rude, dismissing our claims of a filthy lodge.

We were suppose to stay a week and stayed that night and went home, after seeing fleas jumping about the kids room put me off. No refund, no security deposit and no help from the staff at all.

Would not recommend this even as a resting place for Hussein and Obama.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicyboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We see you've already discussed your issues with the General Manager, but thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in the school October break. Stayed in a friends caravan so our accomodation was lovely with beautiful views over the Holy Loch. The Hunters Grill up at the reception area is fantastic, - we ate there a lot for breakfast, lunchand dinner. The staff were brilliant - very friendly and attentive. It was my 8 year old daughters birthday when we were there and they made such a fuss of her. The pool area is also great - really big and quiet everytime we were there. A sauna, jacuzzi and steam room for the adults too. The downsides are that you need a car just to get from your caravan to reception because it is so large its a long way away, - its also really dark and could get quite dangerous walking around at night, - take a torch so you don't trip up. The site is very poorly sign posted as well so it took us ages to find our caravan - the map is useless. The on site shop looks like its been stuck in a time warp in the 80's - very little stock and very expensive if you do find something yoindo u want to buy - and the nearest supermarket is Morrisons in Dunoon which is about a 15 min drive. Dunoon and the surrounding area is fine if you like the outdoors - beautiful scenery and walks but with a 70 year old and an 8 year old there wasn't much to do in the pouring rain. We went to Inverary Jail which is well worth a trip - so is the fab coffee shop in Inverary with huge cakes in the window to tempt you. Wouldn't rush back here unless I had a good idea of what activities to do before I went.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hi there! Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your trip overall, and delighted to see a fuss was made of your daughters birthday. We hope she had a great time! Thank you for the feedback regarding the lighting issues and finding your caravan. We appreciate all types of feedback and I will pass on your comments. We've just had new park maps designed and they're currently getting printed so this should help with locating accommodations. With lots of Go Active activities available throughout the year we do hope you'll come back and visit us soon. In the meantime, be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook to keep up to date with the latest news, offers and competitions. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with colleagues in a Deercroft chalet. The chalet, sparsely furnished, 3 bedrooms,was a bit dated dated , particularly the kitchen. No dishwasher or washing machine which is generally standard now in self catering accommodation. There is a laundry on site- which is a long walk to reception.Kitchen not terribly well equipped and grill didnt work. Bedrooms fine. if you have no car with you, be prepared for along trek to the chalet- and if you go at night, take a torch, the lighting is extremely poor and it is very difficult to find your way around the park, even with the aid of the map given at reception if you ask for it. Our (large) party arrived in the dark, with no onsite transport ( having come off a coach) and some spent almost an hour traipsing up and down roads, with heavy cases and food bags, before finding their chalets. Perhaps the management should organise some on site transport if required.... Ate twice in the centre, once in the grill which was fine. Other time was a mass catered dinner which was poorly served, small in quantity and more like a school dinner than a dinner worth £15.....Staff were nice however.
Very nicely situated but unless I had transport, I wouldnt go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Hi there, thank you for your review of your stay, your feedback is much appreciated. We're sorry to read of the issues you experienced, and I have passed on your comments to the relevant bodies. We do hope you'll come back and visit us again in the future, as we have a lot planned throughout 2013 for the whole of Argyll Holidays. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Hunters Quay for a four night break at the end of August. The site is located overlooking the loch and surrounded by greenery .The caravan was modern and well equiped . We had 3 bedrooms and heating in every room so it was very cosy. The bedrooms are not large but enough room if one person goes to bed before the other . There was a LCD tv with satelite and DVD if you stayed home in the evening. There is a club house with an decent restaurant / bar and entertainment at weekends .The pool area is good , two pools ( one for kids ) with jaccuzi and sauna . There is also a play area for kids . The site offers outdoors sports but we did not try any. Dunoon is a short drive away with some restaurants and shops , its not a big place . There is a large supermarket there so you can stock up for your caravan . All in all it is a good location to have a break and enjoy the Scottish countryside. While there we had a look at the new lodges with a hot tub on the deck , nice lounge area and kitchen they have 3 bedrooms with a tv in every room , tastefully furnished , might try that next time . We will be going back again.

Room Tip: Jura village is a good location not too close to the club area but not far to walk there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellyae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Hunters Quay Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hello! Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon! We're currently adding new hot tub lodges to Hunters Quay so be sure to come back and stay in one for a real slice of luxury! Be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook so you can keep up to date on our various offers, news and competitions! We look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
500 reviews
14.6 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Quay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Quay Holiday Village

Address: Hunter's Quay | Dunoon, Dunoon PA23 8HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dunoon
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Quay Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Hunter`s Quay Holiday Park Hotel Dunoon
Hunters Quay Holiday Village Dunoon, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing