We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch!!”
Review of The Taverners

The Taverners
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Godshill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I cant believe this is the first time my partner and I have eaten here,we stopped off for lunch and was pleasantly surprised,the menu is lovely and the food is all locally sourced and tastes great,we really liked the relaxed atmosphere here and will definitely be returning for a evening meal!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LitBumbles2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    228
    61
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Good atmosphere, good food, good beer, good wine, good value for money and good service. You can't really ask for more! Menu was a little limited but I prefer that to a massive choice which probably means that meals and ingredients are not fresh. This menu had lots of fresh local produce. I would happily return

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julesfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“delicious Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Crowd of us piled in for lunch. Staff very accommodating and welcoming. Place was buzzing with people, even on a ghastly day. Yummy starters and delicious roast beef main and it was great to see kale and red cabbage as supplied vegetables. They pride themselves on the local-ness of their supplies. Yummy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bossybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find on the island”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited the taverners whilst visiting friends on the island. They recommended this pub highly and we were not disappointed. What sets the taverners apart from your usual gastro pubs is the real pub feel you get on entering. The beers was really well kept and the food of the highest level, I only had steak, but it was the best steak I've had in many years. For me a great pint and a perfect well cooked steak that's tender and juicy is all I need. All our party of 6 had great food and we all vowed to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twyfordfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We called in The Taverners at Godshill on a wet and windy day in January. The rest of the I.O.W. was closed, but this place was busy and welcoming! They have an excellent menu of snacks and meals all cooked to order, and generous portions. We hope to return soon to sample more of their extensive home cooked food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taverners also viewed

Newchurch, Sandown
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
 
Godshill, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Taverners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing