We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
166
52
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
52
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downstairs room friendly welcome lovely guesthouse euro tunnel overnight stay long journey home from home one night lovely room early start the ground floor dover castle eurotunnel crossing excellent breakfast a great stay en route cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 226 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We recently spent a lovely overnight stop with Jim and Sarah at The Rob Roy Guest House. We were heading to the Channel Tunnel the following morning for a holiday to France.
We could not have picked better hosts. We were made very welcome and for us the big bonus was that the guest house is dog friendly, with their own lovable dog Sooty.
Our room was just right, a lovely hot shower and a very comfortable bed, followed by a breakfast of your choice in the morning, cooked by the very happy, smiling and willing Sarah.
Jim was very helpful in showing us the speedy route to the tunnel, which from the guest house was only a few minutes away, yet another bonus.
I would certainly recommend a visit here, we shall definitely be returning.
Thank you both to a couple that you can definitely tell enjoy the job they both do.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Thank you Christine for the glowing review. It was a pleasure to have such nice guests stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

We loved our two nights at the Rob Roy Guest House and felt very welcomed and comfortable. Sarah and Jim were great hosts and nothing was too much of a problem. A lovely bed and a wonderful breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pd0wnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Thank you for the kind review. It was lovely having you here and chatting about Australia, New Zealand and Jim's ever changing T shirts. Glad you had a good time with us and hope to see you again. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

We had to go back for our latest short venture into Kent. We were not disappointed. Sarah & Jim were fantastic hosts, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. We took our dog Murphy and he was in hogs heaven being able to run around freely in the secure back garden, with walks suggested by our hosts and he will never visit a better place.
Everything was superb, from the exceptional breakfast, through to the immaculate room. But above all the welcome from our hosts was second to none, it was like visiting close family, it was that good.
Will we go again, you betcha.
Thanks again Sarah & Jim you are truly Nos1

Room tip: Totally Pet Friendly, All rooms great.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nostrodamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Thank you so much for the glowing review. It was lovely to seeing you again especially as you bought Murphy along. Sooty and he had lots of fun playing in the garden. We hpe that we see you again soon. Best wishes Sarah, Jim and of course Sooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Friendly and helpful couple who made us very welcome. Having direct access to the garden was a real asset for our pets. The breakfast was well cooked with good quality ingredients. Being close to the seafront, takeaways and supermarkets all added up to a great place to break our journey on our way to and from France

Room tip: ground-floor bedroom particularly good if travelling with pets
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 69phil2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thanks for the positive review. Regards Sarah and Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017

The Rob Roy guest house was perfect accommodation. We were attending a wedding in Hythe. Excellent price, rooms great, clean, very good breakfast. Very accommodating on arrival times (we arrived late on) and also provided breakfast earlier on one of the mornings when I had to leave early to get ready for the wedding. Very friendly welcome, would definitely stay again if we returned to the area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank hannahmarie722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Thanks Hannah for the lovely review. We endeavor to help cater for every ones needs and an early breakfast is an easy one to achieve. Glad you both had a good time and hope the children did not miss you too much. Regards Sarah and Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews