We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old School Lodge

A warm welcome to the Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
A warm welcome to the Lodge
Sit and relax in the garden
Well equipped kitchen
To welcome you......x
Cosy and comfortable
Shower room
A birthday surprise
Book a surprise treat for someone special
We'll cater to your special occasion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Folkestone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
phil c
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We only stayed for one night (with our little dog) before departing the following morning on the Eurotunnel. The Lodge had ample off-road parking; was easy to find in a nice location, handy to Folkstone itself, Tesco store and only a few minutes to the Tunnel. Everything was neat, clean & tidy & even had milk, coffee & tea to hand. If a longer stay was required, then it was kitted out to a high standard with all amenities. The only minor negative was that the indoor aerial for the TV didn't seem really adequate and the screen kept 'freezing'. Would we stay there again - absolutely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey E
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, just perfect for onward travel”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely location, quiet, tranquil and well presented with all the finishing touches, makes such a difference, we stayed on route to France and again on our return. Fab, would recommend to anyone. Thank you!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita D
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing, peaceful part of Kent”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved the Old School House as soon as we drove in, it was just like the photos online.
Jamie, the owner was great he gave us directions which were easy to find. He also dropped in to welcome us. It was just perfect for us handy to see our friends in kent and to visit seaside places we had visited in our childhood.It is so close to the channel tunnel ideal to pop over to france which we will do before we leave. garden is lovely plenty of birds and Squirrels which I love
We would recomend this accomodation to all our friends. 5 Stars

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for one night on 6th July before commencing our holiday to France, via the channel tunnel, which is so convenient being only minutes away. The cottage is situated in a very peaceful area, and is well furnished with a well equipped kitchen and lovely shower room - complete with soft fluffy towels. The only negative comment was the strange aroma that lurked by the front door, possibly one of the local cats had sprayed after the owner had cleaned up, as the rest of the cottage was spotlessly clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coware
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Marvelous stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a marvelous stay at the Old School Lodge, the lodge was perfectly accomodated, the interior was very nice, the WIFI connection was very good. The lodge is in Newington, just next to Folkstone but you don't notice anything of the city, it's peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the lodge
Liked least: The bed was a little bit too short.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJT_13
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Old School Lodge is a charming getaway for two - private and cosy but with everything you need. Fresh flowers were on the table on our arrival, tea and biscuits were waiting.. A home from home but with all the peace and solitude needed for a real break. The only problem about giving an honest review is that it will be hard to book in future! Excellent value and service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth9090
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely warm welcome in perfect quiet location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Old School Lodge for a month whilst our new home was being refurbished. It was a pleasure to get back to this quiet little corner of Newington each day and away from the chaos and mess. Everything we needed was provided, including newly installed WiFi. We received a very warm welcome with flowers and wine, despite being hours late. We found Jane and Jamie very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely recommend the Lodge to our friends and family in future. The location would be perfect for the night before or after a channel crossing.
Buster also says "thanks for the welcome treats and I really enjoyed playing ball on the big lawn. The nearby country walks were great".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing