We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok-ish”
Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok-ish”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here in the past week. Hotel was ok but the room i stayed in really needs redecorating as it's peeling and isn't nice to look at.
The dining room was absolutely freezing and that needs to be sorted as it made having breakfast a chore.
on the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful
i would stay here again but only if i had too

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    104
    133
    103
    292
See reviews for
184
259
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Im a coach driver and have just returned from this hotel after spending 3 nights there with 30 of our customers. The hotel is tired on the outside but when you enter you are greeted with very friendly staff who go above and beyond to help and that goes from managment all the way down every one is there to please. All the rooms we used were clean tidy and very warm. the food was just fantastic and i lost count of how many times i heard that was the BEST christmas dinner i ve ever had. The entertainment in the evenings is first class with ron and ash being really good thank you to you all at the carlton and cant wait to return

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed one night prior to getting a ferry from Dover. Unfortunately it was dark and lashing down with rain so we didn' see much of the area or come to that the exterior of the hotel. However, although there is a car park at the rear we managed to park right outside (a big plus that particular evening!) and were greete by a very pleasant and friendly man who dealt with us very efficiently and went to our room (no.7) which was more than adequate for our stay and pleasantly warm. We were too late for dinner so having showered (shower a bit 'iffy' but o.k.) we went out.
Had a good nights sleep and having abluted etc. went down to breakfast which was in a massive pleasant dining room. Now breakfast would have got full marks if it had been warmer but having said that the poached eggs were brilliant and hot having been freshly cooked (to order we assume). Brakfast was plentiful (except for the temperature) and the service excellent.
We would not have any problems staying there again.

Room Tip: Nothing constructive to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldodw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Went to see Squeeze and Paul Heaton play at the Lees Cliff Hall in Folkestone. I decided to book a room in a nearby (100 yards) hotel so we could have a drink. I only paid about £25 for a twin room which included breakfast! Now I wouldn't book this for a holiday or anything like that coz it really has passed it's sell by date. Having said that its perfic for a place to crash after a boozy gig.
The room we had was clean (except for the headboards on the beds which had greasy marks and fag burns on them - yuk). The bar is quite nice and the views are great, right across the Channel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

i stayed at the Carlton hotel Folkstone This weekend .
When i arrived it looked nothing like the photo on the web . iT WAS A RUN DOWN DIRTY BUILDING .
I went inside and the stench of damp was overpowering .
when i got to my room i was shocked , the floor was filthy ,the bath had pubic hair in it and the shower ,attached to the bath was broken . The windows were so dirty you could not see out of them .
No telephone to call reception either . i WENT TO RECEPTION AND ASKED FOR THE ROOM TO BE CLEANED AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOBODY IN TO CLEAN IT . In all the years i have stayed in hotels ,I have never experienced such a disgraceful filthy neglected hotel .
The only good that came from this was after i managed to hold the old window up to see the sea view .
The windows had rotted away and were falling apart .
Do not make a mistake in trying to book this place fpr a stay , i will also be calling in the health and safety to check it out as i believe it would be closed down without hesitation !

Room Tip: Do not waste your money or time with The Carlton Hotel . The owners of this place should be ashamed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Folkestone hotels

Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

OK, where do i start......First, I must say that the man on reception was very friendly, he also served at the bar. Secondly, the breakfast was nice.

In general the hotel was dirty, needs urgently updating and extensive maintenance work done to it.

Our friends 1st room was VERY damp and wallpaper peeling off the wall. They asked to be moved and without a fuss instantly given another room.

The other couple that was with us, well their room was simply awful. The headboard had big greasy marks on it where numerous people heads had rested while sitting on the bed, also the same horrid marks were on the wallpaper above the headboard.

Our room, Mmmmmm. the floor was filthy. i wouldn't take my shoes off. I went into the bathroom and first impressions were ok, until i lifted the loo seat..........HORROR!!!!!! It was a white plastic seat stained yellow, and with poo on the back of it. We went straight to the town where i went to shops and bought some slippers and some anti bacterial dettol wipes to clean the loo and other surfaces.

The room was smelly and we could not open a window due to them being all painted up.

Fortunately we were only staying the one night, and it will MOST certainly be the last time.

I could go on and on, but I think you get the picture.

Yes i know the room was cheap in comparison to other hotels in the area, but come on, general cleaning and hoovering is not too much to ask.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, glad I only booked 2 not longer. The good things: Nice view over the ocean, spacious room, breakfast included, free parking (if you can get it). The bad things, uncomfortable beds, the bed cover must be at least 20 years old, I just didnt want to touch it thinking that probably thousands of others have slept under it (ok sure it must get cleaned sometimes, but really these things need replacing once in a while), the bathroom was clean, but I had problems trying to get a good temp with the water and kept burning myself on the hot water. The toilet also looked about 50 years old. Thin walls, the curtains also looked at least 20 years old and were falling off the track and didnt even cover the window (=bright light first thing in the morning) cobwebs in the window, couldnt get the (old type) TV to work. Seriously, it needs alot of money spent on it, even if you are on a budget, go elsewhere and even pay a bit more and stay at a premier inn or something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candysparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#9 of 10 in Folkestone
3,598 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#7 of 10 in Folkestone
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Clifton Hotel
Best Western Clifton Hotel
#6 of 10 in Folkestone
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
View Hotel Folkestone
View Hotel Folkestone
#4 of 10 in Folkestone
111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 16 - 19 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Situated just 10 minutes drive from the Channel Tunnel Terminal, this traditional sea-facing hotel is situated on The Leas, Folkestone's cliff-top promenade. With free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout, it is a 15 minute drive from Dover's Port, and 30 min from Canterbury city center. The hotel is open 24/7 and daily housekeeping is provided. Some of bedrooms at The Carlton have good sea views overlooking France, and all are en suite and comfortable. All rooms feature a TV, heating and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can relax in the cosy surroundings of the Leas Lounge Bar, which overlooks the beautiful landscape of Folkestone and the English Channel. Carlton Hotel is about 200 yards from Leas Cliff Hall theatre, and about 500 yards from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing